Hauls

April Charity Book Haul

Yesterday I went to our local market, which is not the usual kind: this market is for tourists mainly, so instead of food there’s clothes, fake handbags, over-priced jewellery – and books! The books are sold by the only animal shelter on the island (I live on the Canary Islands if you didn’t know), so all the money they make goes into maintaining it and helping the animals. I don’t know about the other islands, but on Lanzarote, which is where I live, we have a huge problem with abandoned animals. It’s full of hungry cats and dogs, and the animal shelter is actually not government-funded, so they need all the donations they can get.

Most of the books they sell are in English thankfully, because they’re mainly donated by British tourists. Since they’re sold as a sort of charity-thing they’re all super cheap as well – one book is 2€, two books is 5€ and five books is 10€. I bought six, so I spent a total of 12€. Honestly, for six books that’s nothing. I’ve also always been really lucky with this shelter in the past. All the books I’ve bought there I’ve loved.

IMG_20160411_113157

 

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen

12394068

This is the story of a man and his cat. The cat is named Bob. I don’t need to know more, I’m SOLD. This book had been on my wishlist for some time but it was always kind of expensive and just didn’t seem worth it – so when I found it on the market I just had to buy it.

Genre: biography, non-fiction

 

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

15 northernlights

This is the first book in the His Dark Materials series, which I’ve wanted to read for a really long time. Jen Campbell, my favourite Booktuber, absolutely adores these books and can’t stop talking about them.

Fun fact: when I picked this up at the market, an English girl walked up to me and asked if I had seen any other Philip Pullman books – she owned the first and third and needed the second one in the trilogy. I don’t know why but that made me really happy.

Genre: fantasy

 

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

137

This is the first book in a kind of dark fantasy/paranormal/supernatural series. It says on the back that Twilight lovers would really like it, and I LOVE the Twilight books (leave me alone okay). A friend of mine back in high school (or the equivalent of that in Spain) read these books and talked about them all the time – and then they apparently turned them into movies or something and she freaked out. So yeah, consider this a tribute to that friendship.

Genre: dark fantasy

 

The Resurrectionist by James Bradley

3532485

When I was browsing the books on the market, something about this one grabbed my attention and I read the synopsis. It’s supposed to be a modern Gothic novel set in London in 1826. I love books set in London and I love nineteenth-century England. So this sounded like it would be right up my street. Unfortunately I just looked it up on Goodreads and it has TERRIBLE reviews. The average rating 2.80, which is the lowest I’ve ever seen. I don’t know why I find this so funny. I will definitely still read it, and who knows, maybe I end up liking it.

Genre: historical fiction, gothic

 

The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue

SEALED-LETTER-UK-HB

After I read Room and absolutely loved it I decided that I want to read everything by Emma Donoghue. So when I saw this on the market, of course I had to pick it up. It’s apparently lesbian themed historical fiction (that’s all I need to know to be honest) based on a divorce court case from 1864. It sounds really fascinating, and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

Genre: historical fiction, LGBT

 

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

41e8pMbOF-L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

I’m a prospective English Literature student, so I will probably have to read this at some point. Might as well do that now. To be completely honest with you, I am terrified of this. It’s not only a classic, but it’s romance. Or at least that’s what Goodreads says. I can’t stand romance novels, and I think classics are always kind of hit-or-miss. Have any of you guys read this? If yes, please tell me I won’t die reading it.

Genre: classic, romance

 

Have you guys read any of these books? Let me know!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

 

2 thoughts on “April Charity Book Haul

  1. Love charity book fairs! So hard to find good books, there’s a local one here that happens annually but most of the books are those generic romance books but when you find good books it’s like the best feeling in the world especially when they’re like a euro 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the books can be quite tacky there. Most of the ones I found while looking around were, in fact, romance novels. But I think I’m really lucky that I live on a “touristy” island when it comes to that, because all the British visitors leave lots of great books behind! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

