Tags

Book Scavenger Hunt Tag

I saw this over at NeverTrustABookNerd‘s and thought it looked like a lot of fun, so I’m doing this now! I have, unfortunately, no idea who started this. I’m really sorry! I thought at first that I wouldn’t be able to find anything, but even though I only own 119 books (much less than most book bloggers I think), I managed to track down everything.

Basically, you have to find books on your shelves with specific traits. You’ll see what I mean in a second. (I’ve decided to inclue my rating for each book, so this can serve as a sort of recommendation list as well.)

IMG_20160416_132337

 

Find a book with the letter ‘Z’ in its title or the author’s name.

IMG_20160416_132516

The first book in the Spiderwick series by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black. (★★★)

Find me a classic.

IMG_20160416_132651

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. (★★★★)

Find the oldest book on your shelves.

IMG_20160416_132457

A German edition of Ronia the Robber’s Daughter by Astrid Lindgren (originall written in Swedish). I’ve owned this for eight years. (★★★★★)

Find a book with a key on its cover.

IMG_20160416_132437

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. I’m not a huge Dan Brown fan, but his books are EVERYWHERE in second-hand shops, so I own almost all of them. (★★★)

Find something on your shelves that isn’t a book.

IMG_20160416_132448

This is Peter. I’m not trying to be quirky here, I named him Peter when I first bought him a couple months ago. He is the silent guard of my fantasy shelf. You’re supposed to put money in his head, but I think it would give him a headache. (★★★★★)

Find a book with an animal on the cover.

IMG_20160416_132422

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. (★★★★★)

Find a book with a girl on its cover.

IMG_20160416_132701

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira. This was good enough, but I found it way too similar to The Perks of Being a Wallflower. If I had read this without knowing the latter, I probably would have enjoyed it more. (★★★★)

Find a non-YA book.

IMG_20160416_132405

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I ADORE this book. (★★★★★)

Find a book with stars on its cover.

IMG_20160416_132356

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell. This book is so sweet! (★★★★★)

Find a book with golden letters.

IMG_20160416_132525

Rabenmond by Jenny-Mai Nuyen. A German fantasy novel. I love everything by this author, but unfortunately most of her books haven’t been translated. (★★★★★)

 

I’m going to tag a bunch of people today, because I feel like it. I follow a lot of blogs and I’ve only been here for a very short time, so I get confused over all the names a lot – I am often not sure if that is the person I’ve talked to or if it was someone else. So if I tag you and you have no idea who I am, feel free to ignore me. I’m just an honest egg. Also, if I tag you and you’ve already done this tag, forgive my poor memory.

Kourtnireads, Adventuresofabibliophile, Bookshelvesandbiros, ReadDiverseBooks, RoseRead, Jemimathebookaholic, The SFF Bookshelf, Readingeverynight, Blackcatkai, Wonderlessreviews, Meltotheany, Inkyspells, and Someorganisedchaos.

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

 

27 thoughts on “Book Scavenger Hunt Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag, this one seems like so so much fun (I love scavenger hunts) and honestly it’s kinda an excuse for me to sort through everything on my bookshelves!
    I love that you named your skull Peter as well, and that he guards your fantasy shelf, great use for a skull! I have so many things that aren’t books on my bookshelves; Funkop POP figures, picture frames, so many fluffy owls, jars. Honestly the challenge will be picking just one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like the tag! 🙂
      Haha you seem to own lots of small things that fit well on bookshelves. I don’t own much of that kind of stuff so the few little things I own I try to put to use. Peter seemed perfect for that, and I’m happy you agree! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Honestly I love all the tags really 😀
        But yeah, I have just as much non-books stuff on my bookshelves as I do actual books. I tend to collect loads of little things and need somewhere to keep them all 🙂
        I thinks it nice you only have books on your shelves, well except for Peter!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh haha no, Peter is not the ONLY thing on my shelf. The rest is just a little meh. I have two candles that I got for Christmas a few years ago (I’m terrified of fire so the only use I have for them is as book-ends), a skull-shaped perfume bottle (long story, but I also don’t like perfume), a strange collection of sticks held together by a piece of string (it sounds weird but they smell amazing so it adds that smell to the shelves), a cheap dragon statue (my mom got that as a prank present from a friend and even though it looks kinda ugly it fits my shelves really well), and lastly a really heavy, small iron chest where I keep my bookmarks.
          I don’t even think you want to know all of this but yeah, now you do. 😀 Peter seemed like the best thing to show off in my post. x

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Nah I don’t mind, it makes me feel better about all the non-book stuff I have on my shelves, which is mainly my collection of fluffy owl teddies (owls are my favourite animal so I have a lot of them!) and a few other odds and ends. I’m not sure what to pick when I do this tag! Maybe some of my owls 🙂 or my Litographs poster which I love!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. You could just show off everything haha. Take a picture of all your little things together. 🙂
              I’m always so jealous of people who have little figures and just cute little things to put on their shelves. I have to use perfume and sticks! 😀

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

