Wrap-ups

What I read this Week

I’ve had a really, really good reading week, so I thought I’d share it with you guys. I won’t talk about all the books in too much depth though, as I’m saving that for my monthly wrap-up. (This post is mostly a pathetic excuse to get away from all the tags I’ve been doing lately. I like to have a bit of diversity on my blog, so a week of just tags seems too much.)

 

What I read

The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

9780755334490

This is the second Sherlock Holmes novel. I absolutely adored the first novel, but I was just a little disappointed by this one. It was still a great read, just not as great as A Study in Scarlet.

Rating: ★★★★

 

A Street Cat named Bob by James Bowen

12394068

I did a full review of this marvellous memoir, which you can check out here. I haven’t read a lot of biographies, but I suspect this will be a favourite for a long time. It’s about a recovering drug addict who finds a lovely street cat, and together they turn their lives around and form an amazing friendship.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling

200px-Tales_of_Beedle_the_Bard

I can’t find an acceptably sized picture of this book and it’s driving me crazy, so I’m just gonna stop. I LOVED this. The short stories were all very creative and fun. If you don’t know, this is one of the three companion books J. K Rowling wrote about the Harry Potter world.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Currently reading

The_Wise_Man's_Fear_UK_cover

I’m about halfway through The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss. It’s the second novel in the Kingkiller Chronicles, the first one being The Name of the Wind, and it’s 994 pages long. I’m on page 474 and the text is quite small, so you can see why I haven’t finished anything else. But I am loving this book even more than the first one. I’m most likely going to finish it next week, so I’ll share more of my thoughts in my wrap-up at the end of the month (and possibly in a full review).

 

(I just discovered how to change the size of the font and that you can underline text and do all manner of interesting things with it. Ha!)

So, that was my week. I started out this year with quite a reading slump, so my progress this month has made me really happy. What have you guys been reading? Let me know!

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

 

19 thoughts on “What I read this Week

  1. I still haven’t read The Tales of Beedle the Bard, can I even call myself a Harry Potter fan if I haven’t. Honestly I haven’t even thought about reading it but I really need to add it to my to-read list soon.
    Also I’ve heard so many great things about Patrick Rothfuss, I haven’t read any of his books (I think the length of them is scaring me off a little) but maybe one day I’ll get around to them. I’m glad your liking the book so far so I’m excited to see your review for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha of course you’re a real fan! You should read it though, it’s really short and quick to get through (I think it took me maybe half an hour), and the short stories are a lot of fun. 🙂
      The length of the books scared me at first as well, but I think with books that are so big the best thing you can do is to just sit down and read them, without thinking about it too much. Before you know it you’re done. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I’ve spent enough on the books, movies, merchandise I should really be 😀 but yeah I definitely need to pick up this book sometimes, honestly I kind of forgot all about it until you posted it now!
        I don’t mind really long novels, I’ve read four out of five of the Game of Thrones novels currently released, I think it’s just a little intimidating, plus it’ll probably still take me ages to actually get through it!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha it’s easy to forget about all the things that exist in the HP world when you’re always in the middle of it!
          Oh, did you like them? I’ve heard mixed things about the Game of Thrones novels. Some people really like them, some people don’t get along with the writing style … so what did you think? 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I could read that many, I have a load of big tests coming up (I’ve just finished my orals) but once summer kicks in there’s no more tests and I’m gonna read so much! I still haven’t finished the song of Achilles (because of said orals and intense studying) but not that they’re over I should be able to read it way more, it’s really enjoyable so far I’ve missed reading it 😭

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

