Lists and favourites

Favourite Covers | Beautiful Books

Today I am, once again, very uncreative. I can’t seem to come up with anything interesting to post and I still have about 300 pages left of The Wise Man’s Fear. (I am DYING to review it! Aaaaah!) So I thought I would show you guys some of the most beautiful books I have on my shelves, cover-wise.

IMG_20160419_135525

 

Hold Your Own by Kate Tempest

IMG_20160419_132958

The tabs ruin the picture a little bit, but I think you can still very much appreciate how beautiful the cover is. This is a wonderful poetry collection, which I also did a full review of here.

The detail of the drawing is truly amazing.

IMG_20160419_134628

 

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling

IMG_20160419_133145

I LOVE this cover. I think this is one of those books that you don’t really notice the beauty of until you look closely. It’s one of the three Harry Potter companion books, the other two being Quidditch through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. The illustration is stunning.

IMG_20160419_134006

 

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

IMG_20160419_133439

I remember seeing this in my local bookshop and just thinking THAT IS VERY PRETTY WHAT IS IT. It’s a really, really beautiful story and a very quick read. One of my cover buys that was definitely worth it.

IMG_20160419_134209

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

IMG_20160419_133352

I am so glad that I own this edition. The more famous one is green and, in my opinion, quite ugly. This one makes me so happy, it reflects the atmosphere in the book perfectly. Whenever I take this book out of my shelf I can’t stop staring at it.

IMG_20160419_134507

 

Monsters: A Bestiary of the Bizarre by Christopher Dell

IMG_20160419_133247

This is a stunning non-fiction hardback about all kinds of monsters. There are lots of wonderful pictures inside and text about each. The information isn’t as great as I had hoped it would be (I don’t remember anything that I read, which is a pretty sure sign that it was boring) but the photos made up for it.

IMG_20160419_133831

 

Nijura by Jenny-Mai Nuyen

IMG_20160419_133711

This is more of an honorary mention. The cover itself isn’t that special (especially not in that picture – the light was being stupid), but this is the first high fantasy book I ever read. I found it on my own, not based on a recommendation but just while browsing the library. So I’m quite fond of it. It’s a German novel and I don’t think it was translated into English (although I think it’s available in Spanish).

I’ve had this copy for quite some time, so the embossed part is a little ruined. I think that adds even more to the beauty of the cover, as it gives it a kind of vintage look. Maybe I’m just being a proud mom though.

IMG_20160419_133638

 

What are your most beautiful books? Let me know!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

8 thoughts on “Favourite Covers | Beautiful Books

Leave a Reply

