Tags

Tag: Anonymous Bookaholics

Since I finally finished reading The Wise Man’s Fear I feel like now I can post tags again. I’m gonna be reading a bunch of shorter books that I can review in-between, so I will be able to change it up a bit. I was tagged by the lovely BlackCatKai, but I can’t seem to find out where this tag started. Apparently it’s a group thing? If you know, please tell me.

This tag is a bunch of questions about what it’s like to be a book lover.

 

1. What do you like about buying new books?

To be completely honest, I like the idea of buying books more than I actually like buying them. I look at my wishlist and think how great it would be to own all those books – but as soon as I’ve bought them I feel a little less excited. It’s kind of like Christmas; I like waiting for my presents much more than I like opening them. Am I alone in this?

That being said, I love browsing books, whether it’s online or in a real bookshop. I still get more excited about looking at the books and thinking about buying them than I get when I actually own them though.

https%3A%2F%2F38.media.tumblr.com%2Ftumblr_ma1zxhqWi01qcm0jmo2_500

 

2. How often do you buy new books?

It changes. I only buy books when my TBR is rather small (around 5 books), so if I buy 20 books in a month I probably won’t buy anything for a while. So I either buy a lot of books in one month and then stop, or I continuously buy little amounts.

 

3. Bookstore or online book shopping – which do you prefer?

I like a mix of both. Buying online is great if you already know what you’re looking for, but bookshops are the best thing ever if you just want to find books. It really depends on my mood.

 

4. Do you have a favorite bookshop?

I live on Lanzarote, which is a crappy little touristy island in the middle of nowhere. There are barely any bookshops here, and the few that we have are Spanish. There is one single place that is like a piece of heaven: The Bookswop. If you ever come here and are looking for English books, go there. It’s fantastic and full of second-hand treasures. I have truly found some amazing things there, and the people who work at the shop are always incredibly kind.

 

5. Do you preorder books?

Not usually. I have pre-ordered one book in my life, and that is Savannah Brown’s poetry collection Graffiti (and other poems), which I did a full review of here.

 

6. Do you have a monthly book buying limit?

Yeah, as I mentioned in my answer to question number 2, I only buy books if my TBR is small. I don’t really see the point of buying more books if you already have a lot to read. It confuses me.

https%3A%2F%2F33.media.tumblr.com%2F6ce61591fa133e6d340d6df6030283b5%2Ftumblr_nturciypBj1uevyklo2_400

 

7. Book buying bans – Are they something for you?

I usually manage to stick to my limit fairly well, so I’ve never tried having a ‘buying ban’.

 

8. How big is your wishlist?

Excessively big. As a very organised person I have all the books I want written down in three separate notes on my computer. One is for fiction and contains 219 books, one is for non-fiction and contains 233 books, and the last one is for other genres (like poetry and graphic novels), and contains 52 books. So a grand total of 504 books!

If you think that sounds extreme, it’s really not that big of a deal. The books I want the most are marked green, and the ones I want as soon as possible (like, the next time I buy something) are red. So it’s not a mess, it’s really accessible and makes it easy for me to decide what I want to order. The books are also divided in categories in each note, so the fiction books are divided in adult, YA, children’s, classics, etc. (This is really just an excuse to show off my awesome organisation skills.)

https%3A%2F%2F38.media.tumblr.com%2F1b044701c5602afb285faf774b70ebf5%2Ftumblr_n6xjvlS5Rk1ql5yr7o2_500

 

9. Which three books from your wishlist do you wish to own NOW?

I’m pretty happy with the books I own at the moment, but I’m really looking forward to buying The Slow Regard of Silent Things (a novella by Patrick Rothfuss set in the world of The Name of the Wind), Kissing the Witch (a short story collection by Emma Donoghue), Bad Feminist (essays by Roxane Gay), Wonderbook (a stunning hardback about writing and creativity), and Citizen (a poetry collection that deals with race and racism).

 

10. Tagging?

I’m gonna tag WonderlessReviews, RoseRead and ReadingEveryNight, because they’re great, and NoteablePad, because she seemed so happy when I encouraged her to try out a tag.

Of course, if anyone else feels like doing this, feel free. 🙂

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

 

21 thoughts on “Tag: Anonymous Bookaholics

  1. I know what you mean about being more excited about purchasing a book than actually having bought the book, haha. I always get so excited to buy a book (like, I have to get ready really quickly and basically run to the bookstore), but the excitement suddenly wears off once I have it. Oh dear, haha.
    And I believe that you will LOVE Wonderbook. I got the book for Christmas last year and I just love it. It gave me so many new ideas when it came to writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay, thanks for the tag 😀

    I am one of those people who buy books even though their TBR is huge 🙈 I don’t even know why. I’m just so addicted. I’m blaming the books. It’s their fault.

    And the organisation for your wishlist sounds amazing. I just have a huge mess of goodreads shelves lmao.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the tag! 😀 I think you’re my favourite person in the world right now.

    Also, your organisation skills are AMAZING. How do you do that? I’m so unorganised- I change my mind about which books I want to read all the time. I have a whole new level of respect for you! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was my plan! Just kidding, I’m glad I made you happy. 🙂
      I revise my wishlist all the time. Every couple weeks I go over the books and think about which ones I still want and which ones I can take off the list. It’s a lot of work but it’s worth it, and since I love organising it’s actually a lot of fun. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think my constant buying of books stems from my anxiety. It’s very comforting & I have issues with self-control. Hahaaa!!!

    For me the opposite is true with online & real life shopping for books, but only when it comes to horror novels. Like, I have a hard time finding the specific type of horror I like in a real book shop, but online it’s a much easier for me to find recommendations with the aspects I’m actually looking for!

    Bookstores here need separate horror sections, damn it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh this is definitely the tag for me. If you go by my spending habits I am definitely a bookaholic, not sure about the anonymous part though 😀 Thanks for tagging me!
    Honestly I definitely admire the fact that you can stick to a budget and a goal for each month. I have a budget for my book spending each month but so far I’ve never stuck to it. I’m always buying something 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

