Awards

The Sunshine Blogger Award

I was nominated by the lovely ReadingEveryNight for this award. Go check out her blog, she’s amazing!

 

Rules:

  • Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.
  • Nominate some wonderful bloggers and write 11 questions for them to answer.

 

the-sunshine-blogger-award

 

Beth’s questions

1. What book would you recommend to everyone, because it’s so amazing?

The Universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence. Not enough people have read this and it was my favourite read of 2015!

 

2. If you could pick one book to read again as if for the first time what would it be?

Honestly, I know that a lot of people get really excited about this, but the thought alone makes me cringe. I am obsessed with the things that I know. I can’t stand the idea of losing the knowledge I have of a certain book. I know it sounds ridiculous, but it feels like someone is asking me what part of my brain I would like to lose the most.

tumblr_inline_n7f4i50KW51qioxci

 

3. Favourite comfort food?

I don’t really have “comfort” food. I love blueberries though. Probably sounds kinda random, but have you ever tried blueberries? They’re the best thing ever. They’re in season for only like a day, then they get hard to find and are suddenly super expensive. I LOVE TO MAKE MY LIFE COMPLICATED OKAY.

 

4. Favourite quote?

I have a notebook with all my favourite quotes and most of them are really beautiful and deep, but honestly my favourite one is from Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

“Everyone in our school has afterschool activities. Mine is going home.”

I don’t even like that book, but I remember reading that and laughing out loud because it’s just so perfect. (#same)

 

5. Best and worst book-to-film adaptations you’ve seen?

Best would probably be all the Harry Potter movies, but because that’s such a standard answer I’m gonna go with The Spiderwick Chronicles. The only movie adaptation that is actually 100% better than the books. I also think the Twilight movies did an excellent job – judge me all you want, I could re-watch them every single day and would still adore them.

For the worst I’m gonna say Percy Jackson. Don’t even ask. I’m still angry.

https%3A%2F%2F38.media.tumblr.com%2F10a1e9ce9677204ab1456fd382948f5f%2Ftumblr_njxkdueBsN1qcm3fwo1_500

 

6. What’s your favourite book so far that you’ve read in 2016?

What a good question! I’m gonna have to say The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. I’ve read pretty much only wonderful books so far this year, but that one literally broke me. I did a full review, which you can check out here.

 

7. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?

I’m moving to England this autumn to study English Literature at an actual English university. That has been my dream for years, so honestly that’s where I would live if I could live aynwhere. I’m so excited you have no idea.

 

8. What is your favourite thing to do with your spare time, other than reading?

I watch TV shows a lot. I also love blogging (obviously) and I spend a lot of time watching Youtube videos or reblogging stuff on Tumblr. I don’t really have an interesting life, and I don’t go outside much.

https%3A%2F%2F33.media.tumblr.com%2Ftumblr_m2vzkrfVyw1qimdmqo2_500

 

9. If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

NOTHING. I’ve said this before, but I am TERRIFIED of the butterfly effect. If I actually had the ability to travel back in time, I wouldn’t use it. I would probably develop time-travel phobia or something. I love reading about time-travel, but keep that shit away from me.

 

10. Has blogging been different to, or exactly as you pictured it being?

I had already blogged a lot before creating this little book thing here, so the blogging part itself is as I imagined it. What is different this time is the community. I don’t know if it’s the WordPress community in general or if I was just lucky, but everyone here is amazing. People actually like my posts and leave comments, which is definitely new.

 

11. What has been the most positive thing that’s happened to you this week?

I’m gonna go with something that happened at the end of last week, because it’s Tuesday and my life is boring. I passed my written driver’s ed exam! You know, the part where you answer questions. Now I only have the practical, actual-driving-and-hopefully-not-dying part left. No idea when that’s going to be, but probably soon. Wish me luck!

 

My questions

1. What is the earliest memory you have?
2. If you could travel the world with someone, who would that someone be?
3. If you could have any pet in the world(s), which one would you choose?
4. What superpower/magical ability would you like to have?
5. What is your spirit animal song? The song that basically describes your soul?
6. Do you have a favourite number? If yes, why is it special?
7. What are the three most basic traits in a person that make you go “nope, I’m outta here”?
8. If you had one wish, what would you wish for?
9. If your home was on fire, and you could save one inanimate object, what would you save?
10. If you could create any law in the world, what would that be?
11. What does your ideal future look like?

Those are some lame questions. BUT OH WELL I TRIED.

I’m gonna tag Bina @ IfYouCanReadThis and Melanie @ Meltotheany. I hope you guys haven’t done this tag yet!

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

 

26 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. I remember being so nervous about driving. I thought I would crash and destroy all the thing recklessly, but driving well is actually very easy. You’ll do great!

    You and I both to #8. I appreciate when bloggers are honest! My life is pretty boring too lol, but hey, I’m happy 🙂

    What’s your Tumblr like? Is it the same as your WordPress blog content or do you venture into different territory there? Tumblr is such a strange place… I haven’t unlocked it’s secrets yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely gonna check that book out because I haven’t heard of it before! I love your take on number 2, I’m one of those people who would love to experience certain books for the first time but I also totally get what you’re saying! It would be kinda scary to think about how you might not like it :/

    That’s so cool about studying in England! That would be amazing! I totally feel you with #8, that GIF is perfect.

    And ooh, good luck with your driving test! I’m sure you’ll be great ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s great news about your written driver’s ed exam, good luck for the actual practical test! ‘m sure you’ll do great. Also that’s great about you studying in England, what university are you going to if you don’t mind me asking? I’m sure you’ll love it over here, ther are so amny amazing things to see an do in England, no matter what part you’re in!
    See I haven’t read the Percy Jackson books but I’ve seen the movie, everyone has told me not the judge the books based on the movie, but I’m thinking I’ll probably like the books a lot more 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you. ❤
      I'm going to UEA (University of East Anglia). It's in Norwich and I'm super excited because apparently the Literature and Creative Writing department is really good! Yes I can't wait to travel around England in my free time! x
      I saw the first Percy movie before reading the books too, so don't worry about that. The books are so much better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, I’ve been to Norwich on holiday a few times when I was younger. It’s a great city so I’m sure you’ll love it there, and hopefully you enjoy your course as well 😀 and have time free to travel around more of England!
        I think that’s the case with nearly everything’s isn’t it. The books are always so much better than the films!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. If it makes you feel better, there’s no way to change the past while time traveling. It’s already made up for it! It’ll all happen the same way. You’d just have new knowledge about how your time traveling self was involved. I know that info makes me feel better. So content.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I could I would send you Michigan blueberries! We grow the best in the world, I’m not kidding. They’re big & juicy & wonderful. My husband used to pick them as a kid every year with his family, & we get tons of them every time they’re in season.

      You would love them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What do you mean the past doesn’t change when you travel through time? Of course it does. If I travel back to when my mom was younger and I kill her and then come back, I wouldn’t exist because she died, so I wasn’t born. You know what I mean?

        Oh my God I’m so jealous! Please give me some blueberries haha! x

        Like

        1. See that’s what I hate about time travel movies. That’s called a time paradox. On reality, if you went back in time, and went to kill your mother to keep you from being born or whatever, something would happen to prevent you from doing just that. Because sense you WERE born & DID grow up to go back in time, it immediately proves that you were NOT successful, in your time travel to the past, to kill your mother.

          If time travel really did exist in the real world today, everything done in the past (including things time travellers had done) would have already happened and been accounted for. In reality, there wouldn’t be any changing of the past. Because no matter what, it’s already happened.

          The movies I’ve found that have done it right, are 13 Monkeys, and….well, Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban. When they use the time Turner to save Sirius? Ya know the moment Hermione realises the reason she was hit in the head with a pebble or whatever it was? It was because her future self had thrown it at her.

          LIKE THAT!! I’ve… .spent a lot of time talking about all this with my husband. Time paradoxes drive me crazy. And very few time travel films or books or games do it how it’d really happen. You can’t change the past. It’s already been accounted for. Or, at least, that’s how it would happen irl. If it were even possible.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Omg that’s a novel XDD I am so sorry. This topic man…..it does things to me.

            I just finished a time travel game recently, called Quantum Break, that was also time paradox free. It…..made me very happy XD

            Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on the English Lit bit. I did Literature for my undergrad, can imagine how exciting it would be to have done it in England 🙂 Loved your answer on other interests, the GIF on air is so perfect. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

