Miscellaneous

Authors whose work I wanna complete

To be completely honest, I don’t feel very creative right now, which is why I’m going with something simple today: authors whose work I wanna complete! These are all authors that I’ve read at least once, and that have published a couple books.

 

J. K. Rowling

JK Rowling

I’ve read all the Harry Potter novels, as well as the three companion books (Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them, Quidditch through the Ages and The Tales of Beedle the Bard). So what I still have left to read is The Casual Vacancy, Very Good Lives, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and (under the name Robert Galbraith) The Silkworm – which fortunately is on my TBR – and Career of Evil.

 

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

This woman has become one of my favourite people in the whole world. I’ve read Americanah, Half of a Yellow Sun and We should all be Feminists, so I still need to read Purple Hibiscus (already on my TBR) and her short-story collection The Thing around your Neck.

 

Jenny-Mai Nuyen

Jenny-Mai Nuyen / Schriftstellerin

Jenny was my favourite author when I was 10-12 years old, and I still love her books. She’s a German author and used to write high fantasy, which is why I fell in love with her books. Now she writes strange novels that are, I think, mostly contemporary with some paranormal elements. I’ve read all her high fantasy novels, which are Nijura, Nocturna, Rabenmond, Das Drachentor, Feenlicht and Magierlicht. I recently bought Noir, her first paranormal novel, and after I read that I will only have left Nacht ohne Namen, and perhaps the novel she is currently working on, if the publishing process is quick.

 

Katherine Rundell

Katherine Rundell

Now, I’ve only read one of her books, Rooftoppers, but I loved it so much that I’ve already decided that she’s one of my favourite authors. She only has two more books published, both of which sound amazing, so I wanna read them as well: The Girl Savage, also known as Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms, and The Wolf Wilder.

 

Rick Riordan

Rick-Riordan--007

I’ve mentioned Rick in so many of my posts I feel like it’s become a running gag. I’ve read all the Percy Jackson novels, the Heroes of Olympus ones, the first book in the Magnus Chase series, the two short Percy companion books (The Demigod Files and The Demigod Diaries), and the bigger companion book Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods. I still have a lot left: another big Percy companion books called Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes, which is fortunately already on my TBR, the Kane Chronicles trilogy, all the other books in the Magnus Chase series (which have not been released yet), his new series called The Trials of Apollo (the first book is coming out next month!), and a short-story collection called Demigods and Magicians which I can’t read yet because it’s a Percy/Kane Chronicles cross-over so I want to read the Kane Chronicles first. He also has two other series, one called Tres Navarre, which is a sort of adult mystery, and one called 39 Clues which sounds hella weird. I’m not sure I want to read either, but since it will probably take me years to finish all of the other books, I might find myself interested after all.

 

Kai Meyer

290708_Meyer_Kai

Another German fantasy author. This guy is OBSESSED with trilogies. All of his books are freaking trilogies, it’s ridiculous. I’ve only read one of them, the Wave Walkers, and I absolutely loved it. The great thing is that some of his books are actually available in English! So I definitely recommend all of them. What I’ve got left to read is Dark Reflections and Arcadia, both available in English, and – only available in German – Die Seiten der Welt, Wolkenvolk, Sturmkönige, and a stand-alone called Asche und Phönix. He has about a thousand other books in all kinds of genres, but I’m not gonna annoy you by naming them all. Those above are the ones that have been on my wishlist the longest.

 

Jen Campbell

0

Another person I’ve talked about a little too much. She’s a Booktuber and a wonderful author. The works I’ve read are volume 1 and 2 of Weird Things Customers say in Bookshops and The Bookshop Book. What I’ve got left to read is her poetry collection, The Hungry Ghost Festival.

 

Emma Donoghue

Emma-Donoghue-006

After I read Room I decided I was going to read everything by this fantastic lady. I’ve already bought The Sealed Letter and next on my wishlist is Kissing the Witch, a collection of short stories. She has written an amazing amount of books – novels, short stories and even non-fiction – so I’m not gonna name all of them. Most of her books are about lesbians in one way or another, so that’s definitely a plus.

 

Donna Tartt

donna-tartt-portra_2699574b

I think Donna Tartt might be the love of my life. The Secret History broke my heart. I’m still sad and it’s been months. She hasn’t published that many books, which is kind of a relief because all of them are massive. I definitely wanna read her other two novels, The Goldfinch and The Little Friend. If they’re even half as good as The Secret History I’m dead.

 

Patrick Rothfuss

sp1006889_0

I recently finished The Wise Man’s Fear, the second book in the Kingkiller Chronicles. Now I’ve only got to read his novella set in the same world, called The Slow Regard of Silent Things, and the third and last book in the trilogy, The Doors of Stone, when it finally comes out.

 

There you go! My completely useless overview of authors whose books I wanna read. If you guys feel like wasting your time with lists like this one, feel free! I would love to check them out.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

12 thoughts on “Authors whose work I wanna complete

  1. Same on the Adichie! There’s so many awesome books by her now. I’m all caught up on Tartt but she gives readers lots of time with the ten year breaks ;D
    Happy reading getting all caught up! I think I’ll try Rowling’s Beasts adaptation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

