Hauls

AbeBooks Haul | April 2016

Before I start showing you guys the books I bought from AbeBooks, I need to share a little something. I’m on Bloglovin now! I wouldn’t announce it like this (it’s really not that big of a deal), but to verify my blog I need to share this silly little link. So whatever, here we go. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.

I bought a ridiculous amount of books (at least for my standards) this month: 23 in total. I already did two separate April hauls, one from a charity fair thing and one from Bookdepository. This is my final haul, which consists of 10 books I got from AbeBooks.

IMG_20160429_134005

 

The Shadow World trilogy by Jane Johnson

IMG_20160429_133416

This is a children’s trilogy about Eidolon, a world that exists next to ours and that is full of magic. I read these when I was 10 or 11 and adored them, so I decided to hunt them down and discovered that 1) they are not well known at all and 2) the few reviews they have are not very good. I think these may be out of print or something, because they were kind of hard to find (that’s also why the covers don’t match at all). I’ve read the first book already and I honestly really enjoyed it – it isn’t as wonderful as I remembered, but then again a lot of time has passed and I am not 11 anymore.

 

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling

IMG_20160429_134132

I think we all know what this is – one of the three Harry Potter companion books, alongside Quidditch through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I already read this and thought it was quite fantastic.

 

The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

IMG_20160429_134224

This is the second Sherlock Holmes novel. I didn’t like it as much as the first one, A Study in Scarlet, but it was still really good.

 

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

IMG_20160429_134304

For some reason there’s always one picture that looks like complete crap. Sorry, Rothfuss. This is the second novel in the epic fantasy Kingkiller trilogy, the first one being The Name of the Wind. I absolutely adored this and actually did a full review.

 

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

IMG_20160429_134409

I am so excited about this, you have no idea. I’ve read everything by Chimamanda except this novel and her short-story collection. I believe this is a YA set in postcolonial Nigeria – I’m not sure exactly what the plot is like, but I don’t really care anyway. I would read anything this woman writes.

 

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

IMG_20160429_134428

This is the sequel to The Cuckoo’s Calling, a mystery/crime novel by J. K. Rowling, published under the name Robert Galbraith. I liked the first book quite a lot, although I’m not a big crime and mystery fan. I’m looking forward to this.

 

Noir by Jenny-Mai Nuyen

IMG_20160429_134457

If you guys have seen my discussion post on how weird German spines are, you’ve seen this book already. It’s a paranormal contemporary I think, but once again the reason I bought this is the author – I love Jenny. I’m really looking forward to getting back into German writing – it’s probably gonna be strange at first, but I hope I haven’t become the slowest German reader ever.

 

An Utterly Impartial History of Britain by John O’Farrell

IMG_20160429_134523

This book had been on my wishlist for so long I don’t even rememeber finding it, so I’m super excited to finally have it. It’s non-fiction and supposedly a fun history of Great Britain. I’m moving to England this autumn, so I want to know as much as possible about the history. This seems like a great way to start. It’s also a very pretty hardback, which is amazing considering that I got it for really cheap.

 

Now, if you saw my last book haul, you may remember that I said I would show you guys 11 books in this post, and now I’ve only shown you 10. That is because one book apparently got lost somewhere in the universe. I have no idea where it is – whether it was shipped and never got to my house or wasn’t shipped at all – so I really don’t know how to handle the situation. I emailed the shop and asked about the book but I think I got the wrong email address because it’s been over a week and they haven’t replied. It’s the same shop where I got the third Shadow World book, which got here nice and early, so I’m not even mad, I’m just confused. I don’t mind waiting for it, I would just like to know where my book is.

In case you’re wondering, the book is The Thing Around Your Neck, the short-story collection by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie that I mentioned above. What bothers me is that it’s literally the last book by Chimamanda that I don’t own, so if it had gotten here my collection would be complete. Nggghhh.

 

Anyway, these are the books I got from AbeBooks this month! What have you guys bought so far in April?

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

11 thoughts on “AbeBooks Haul | April 2016

  1. I’m following you on Bloglovin’ 😀

    So many HUGE and BEAUTIFUL pictures hah.

    I cannot wait to read your review for Purple Hibuscus. It is the only one of her works that I haven’t read. The Thing Around Your Neck is my least favorite of her work, to be honest. Everything else has been brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I realised when I inserted the pictures that maybe they were a little too big. 😀 But I was too lazy to edit them haha.
      Oh, really? My least favourite of hers is We should all be Feminists. I was quite disappointed by it to be honest. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve no doubt you’ll love the Impartial History of Britain 🙂 I knew the author, and he’s such a witty, clever man! Anything he writes is gold.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 23 books! Awesome! lol I love knowing I’m not alone in my book buying habits lol I haven’t read Purple Hibiscus but that looks like a good read. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it because like you, I love Chimamanda’s work
    First time on your blog and will be back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

