Wrap-ups

April reading wrap-up

I just read like 50 different wrap-ups. Does everyone post wrap-ups on the same day? Like damn.

I read an incredible amount of books this month: 13 books in total! Lots of bloggers read more, but considering that a lot of my books weren’t that short I’m pretty proud of myself. I read a total of 4071 pages!

This year started off a little slow, and I quickly fell behind on my reading challenge – I want to read 75 books this year and last month I was 11 books behind schedule. Now I’ve managed to catch up, and I’m only 3 books behind. Yay for me!

IMG_20160501_133235

 

What I read

 

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

SongAchilles-pb-c

This is a really gay retelling of Achilles’ life. I love Greek mythology and I love gay romance, and the ending broke my heart. If you wanna read my full review, you can do that here.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

the-help-stockett

A historical fiction novel set in Mississippi in the 1960s. It’s about Miss Skeeter, a white woman who was raised by a black maid and who decided she wants to change the way maids and black people in general are treated. I expected this to be just another book about black people by a white person, but I actually ended up really loving it. Check out my full review here.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Hold your Own by Kate Tempest

41N7ImMUD1L._SX342_BO1,204,203,200_

A wonderful poetry collection that I’m sure will make it into my favourite reads of the year. Kate Tempest is absolutely fantastic and has a unique way with words. I did a full review of this book as well.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

The Secret Country and The Shadow World by Jane Johnson

The first two books in the Shadow World trilogy. These were re-reads for me – I read them when I was 10 or 11 and absolutely adored them, but now that I’ve re-read them I realise that they’re sadly not as good as I remembered. The story follows Ben, a young boy who finds out that another world exists, one full of magic, called Eidolon, and that his family will play an important role in saving said world.

These books are kind of weird, because the world and plot are really cool (which is why I loved them as a child), but the language is strangely difficult for a 10 year old. These books are also surprisingly violent and have some weird themes that could be considered a little inappropriate. I don’t remember thinking any of this 7 years ago, I just loved the story. So I really don’t know what to think. The trilogy reminds me a bit of old fairy tales, what with the violence and magic and strange language. If you like that sort of thing, maybe check these out? I don’t even know. We’ll see what I think when I finish the last book.

Rating: ★★★★ and ★★★

 

The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

9780755334490

I’m really glad that I’ve found a series of classics that I enjoy. This is the second Sherlock Holmes novel, after A Study in Scarlet, and even though I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first one it was definitely a great read. A lot of people seem to consider this their favourite Sherlock Holmes book, so I highly recommend checking it out.

Rating: ★★★★

 

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen

12394068

This is one of the cutest books I’ve ever read. It’s so sweet and endearing and just UGH. I love it so much! It’s a memoir following James, a recovering drug addict, as he finds a wounded cat next to his apartment and decides to nurse him back to health. The two form an amazing friendship (really, it’s almost as good as Harry and Ron’s) and go on lots of adventures. PLEASE READ THIS BOOK IT’S GREAT. I also did a full review over here.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling

200px-Tales_of_Beedle_the_Bard

The last Harry Potter companion book that I hadn’t read. This tells a few short stories from the world of Harry Potter and also includes some of Dumbledore’s commentary, which I found quite interesting. The stories are creative and resemble classic fairy tales with a twist. I really enjoyed it.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

The_Wise_Man's_Fear_UK_cover

Oh, what a book! 994 pages of epic fantasy! This is the second book in the Kingkiller trilogy, the first one being The Name of the Wind, and I loved it so, so much. It was even better than the first one, which I thought would be impossible to top. I’m honestly amazed that I managed to read this in just 8 days – I guess it shows how much I truly enjoyed it. There were some things that bothered me though, which I explained in my review.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Percy Jackson 3, 4 and 5 by Rick Riordan

I finally finished re-reading the Percy Jackson books, and I had so much fun! I still remembered most of the plot from the third book, because that’s the one I’ve re-read the most (probably like a hundred times), and the fourth one also wasn’t very surprising. But the fifth one! I don’t think I had ever re-read that one, which seems weird to me, but I definitely didn’t remember all the awesome stuff that happens. I finished the three books in a very short time, and they left me in a middle-grade mood, which is unusual.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

A Little Gay History by R. B. Parkinson

51+MBBkQAvL

This is a non-fiction book about LGBT history, and I did a full review of it just yesterday. It was enjoyable as a whole and a good place to start if you don’t know much about the topic, but for my personal taste it was too short and didn’t include enough information.

Rating: ★★★★

 

Currently reading

 

Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

percy (2)

This is a non-fiction book about Greek heroes, told through Percy, which makes it hilarious. Also it’s HUGE. I’m on page 109 of 534.

 

Dragon’s Fire by Jane Johnson

jane-johnson-dragons-fire

The third and final book in the Shadow World trilogy. This was my favourite one as a child, so I have high expectations. I’m on page 44 of 309 and should be able to finish it quickly.

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

 

 

11 thoughts on “April reading wrap-up

  1. Great reading month!!! 13 books is awesome!!! I really want to read The Song of Achilles. I’m all for books that involve Greek mythology and heartbreak haha. I also need to read Greek Heroes. I’m hoping to do that this month sometime. Yay for PJO rereads. I definitely need to do that again myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have the Wise Man’s Fear on my shelf. I read and like the first book, but still haven’t gotten around to reading the sequel. I think part of me is worried that I won’t get to read the third book for a long, long while yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really REALLY want to read The Song of Achilles, I enjoy anything even remotely inspired by Greek Mytholgoy so this sounds like something I’d really love, I have to add it to my to-read list now 😀 I’m glad you really enjoyed this book, just makes me want to read it even more 😀
    I’m hoping to get started on the Percy Jackson series this month as well, everyone seems to love this series so it seems impossible for me not to enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

