Awards

The Blogger Recognition Award

I was actually tagged twice to do this, which is just lovely! Thank you so much The Bookish Underdog and Bookshelves and Biros, you guys are great.

 

Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

 

blogger-recognition-award

 

How my blog started

I used to have lots of other blogs; one was for random thoughts, one for poetry, one I shared with my best friend … my blogging journey is not a recent one. But I gave up on all my previous blogs (because, let’s be real here, they were terrible), and I thought maybe blogging wasn’t for me. Then one day I woke up and thought, holy shit, I wanna talk about books.

After I first came up with that thought it still took me weeks to get around to creating my blog. I wasn’t sure about the name or the theme or even what I would post. I didn’t wanna have another failed project, so I put a lot of thought into everything. I finally settled on Ravenclaw Book Club, because it makes perfectly clear what you can expect from this place: love for Harry Potter and books! I came up with lots of other names, but ultimately I think this was the right choice.

 

Advice for new bloggers

1. Interact with people, but don’t be fake about it. If you’re only leaving comments to get people to notice you, it’ll be pretty obvious. Don’t just follow random blogs and leave pointless comments – look for people with similar interests and actually read their posts. When I first started this blog I wanted to be a part of the community. Not just because I wanted people to read what I wrote (although that was obviously a reason as well), but because reading other people’s posts is actually a lot of fun, and it’s great to find someone you can share your love for a book with. So I thought, how do I find book bloggers who read the same things I do? Well, it’s actually really easy. Just google WordPress and then your favourite book and add the word review. I looked for people who had reviewed books such as Americanah, Only Ever Yours and The Name of the Wind. When I read reviews of Americanah, for example, I thought: do I agree with this person? Are their thoughts interesting? The great thing about reviews of books like the first two is that they are a bit controversial, so you’ll easily find out if the reviewer agrees with you on topics such a race and gender. There’s nothing worse than following a blogger and getting to know them just to find out they’re actually a piece of shit.

2. Be yourself. Having a book blog doesn’t mean that you have to be all fancy. When I started up this blog I thought I needed a pretty theme and elegant font and whatever. But that’s not me. I hate vintage patterns and curly fonts. I think they look silly and when I use them I feel really pretentious. Your blog doesn’t have to look like a fancy bookshop window. If your blogging style is more fun than serious, make your blog look fun too! Or don’t! Who cares! People care more about your content and how genuine it sounds than they care about the font in your header. Just think about what kind of person you are and what you want people to get from your blog. That will make the rest come naturally.

3. I know I’m only supposed to share two pieces of advice, but I feel like while I’m at it I need to say this: stick to your content. When I was younger I blogged about everything. And I think that’s the main reason all of my blogs failed. If you enjoy different things that’s cool, but if someone follows your blog because you talk about books, and then you spend a month talking just about clothes, people are gonna leave.  By all means, talk about other stuff you like every once in a while! Make a couple posts about TV shows or make-up or whatever. But don’t forget what your blog is mainly about.

 

Tags

This is the reason I put off doing this for so long. I mean, 15 people! I’m not even gonna pretend I checked who has and hasn’t done this. If you’ve already done this, there’s a good chance I even read your post and left a comment. I just have really bad memory when it comes to this kind of stuff. So basically if you’ve already done this consider yourself loved instead of tagged.

Meltotheany

Inkyspells

Noteable Pad

Wonderless Reviews

Black Cat Kai

Reading Every Night

The SFF Bookshelf

Bibliobeth

Rose Read

Read Diverse Books

Bookidote

Adventures of a Bibliophile

If you can read this

Bitter Bibliophile

Rant and Rave about Books

I’m not even sure if everyone on this list follows me. 15 people is too much for me. I am already tired and it’s just 1 pm.

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

28 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Such great advice! I completely agree with all of those points… blogging is so enjoyable when you actually interact with people. I remember when I got my first comment on a post, and I just felt so happy because someone actually read my post. And everyone’s so lovely! I don’t think my blog was very personal during the first month, but then I realised I wasn’t ‘being myself’ – and suddenly I noticed a big difference.
    Thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂 it means so much to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such great advice! When I first started my blog I was fully prepared for like, no comments and stuff like that, and it’s been so much more fun now that I actually interact with people.
    Thanks so much for the nomination! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for the tag! I always love reading how people started their blogs because everyone always seems to have a different reason but in the end we all came here for the same reason, to blog and fangirl over books!
    And it’s great advice as well! Something that I think definitely applies to all bloggers, no matter how long they’ve been on WordPress, not just the newbies!
    Thanks again for the tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw, thank you for the nomination! I struggle tagging one person so I think I’m gonna break the rules there, but good effort getting the whole 15!

    Great advice too 😀 Especially the one about interacting! When I first started leaving comments I made sure to be as personal as I could – even if I wasn’t familiar with the books I’d go look up the Goodreads summary or whatever so I had something more than “Great post!” to add, haha.

    Being yourself is super important too and fortunately everyone here has been so lovely that I feel comfortable enough to do so!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know exactly what you mean when you say “stick to your content”. When I was much younger and beginning my own blogs I wrote a number of them that didn’t stick to my content. I find that my blog appears so much more focused now that I write one primarily about books. Plus, because I am more focused, I found it easier to find a blogging community that I can interact with and get to know 🙂

    And thank-you so much for the nomination 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so sorry I missed this with my pingbacks not working. Thank you for nominating me. I love the name of your blog. You’re right. I knew exactly what to expect with the name. I completely agree with your advice. The people who leave links to their posts but never interact with me or any of my followers are obviously looking for attention and it shows. It’s a shame because you would think as a blogger they actually want to talk to people with similar interests. And content is so important. I mentioned that in my post. I’m going to amend my award post now to give you a shout out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

