5 Reasons Why

Percy Jackson: 5 reasons why you should read it

This is the third post in my 5 Reasons Why series, which takes place every Monday. In my last two posts I talked about TV shows, but this is a book blog, so of course I had to include books!

Today I’m gonna share 5 reasons why you should definitely read the amazing Percy Jackson series. These books follow the main character, Percy, as he discovers that he is the son of a Greek god – and basically he and his friends have to save the world.

pj

 

1. The humour. I think this is the most important and most obvious reason. If you know anything about this series at all, you know that it’s hilarious. Rick Riordan is incredible at making the right jokes at the wrong time, whichΒ definitely adds to how funny the books are. Percy is falling offΒ a cliff? Perfect time to make a joke!

 

2. Lots of important lessons. This is especially a good reason if the reader is very young. These books talk about a lot of important things, but always in a way that’s still somewhat light-hearted and definitely appropriate. There’s poverty, family issues, bullying, and even abusive step-parents. The author makes sure that these issues are all addressed and dealt with in a very satisfying way. I’m sure young readers get a lot more out of these books than just a fun story.

 

3. The characters. This series is full of amazing characters who are all really different from each other. There’s Percy, who’s kind of a loser, there’s Annabeth, who’s incredibly smart and just awesome in every way, there’s Grover, who’s absolutely adorable and scared of everything … you name it. Also, because this series is about demi-gods, there are lots and lots of different kids surrounding the main characters. Children of every Greek god. So, of course, that makes for interesting personalities and powers.

 

4. Learn about Greek mythology. I didn’t know anything about Greek gods and all the ancient legends before I read these books. Rick Riordan manages to make it all sound incredibly fascinating and fun for young readers, and because you get context for what everyone is doing, it’s super easy to remember which god caused what disaster. For example, if I tell you that Poseidon is the god of the sea, you might forget that after a while. But if I tell you that Percy Jackson can breathe underwater because he is Poseidon’s son, and you actually read about it … you probably won’t forget who Poseidon is so easily.

 

5. A huge, fascinating world to explore. Rick Riordan didn’t stop after the Percy Jackson books. He wrote a spin-off series of five books called Heroes of Olympus (which is even better than the original); then he started a series about Norse mythology that is set in the same world and has characters from the original books pop up here and there; and finally he just started a series about the god Apollo, who somehow pisses off his dad, the Olympian boss Zeus, and is sentenced to be mortal and survive on Earth for a while. So, yeah. If you’re worried that you might love these books too much … there’s plenty more to cure your book hangover.

 

I hope if you haven’t read the Percy Jackson books that you will now. They are truly wonderful, and amazing reads for all ages.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

24 thoughts on “Percy Jackson: 5 reasons why you should read it

  1. I totally agree with your reasons! I’ve been following this series since I was in high school and I really love it. Haven’t read the first book of The Trials of Apollo yet, but planning to do so this month. Great post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yessssss at this entire post. I love this series and this entire world that Rick created SO much. The characters are all so incredibly important to me. Whenever I read anything from this series I honestly go to My Happy Place, haha. I feel so comforted. Camp Half-Blood honestly feels like my home. I also love that it totally made me fall in love with Greek mythology (and mythology in general). I love how much these books have taught me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. PERCY JACKSON IS SO AWESOME!

    I will forever have a special place in my heart for the Percy Jackson series, and Annabeth especially. Plus, this series just strengthened my love for Greek mythology. Wonderful series, so beautiful! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a brilliant post, and definitely great reasons to start the series as well. I am a huge fan of Greek mythology so if that had been the only reason and this was a ‘one reason to start the Percy Jackson series’ post I would have picked it up because of that alone πŸ˜€
    But I love books that make me laugh, even if I do look weird laughing to myself on the train reading on my Kindle πŸ™‚ and I love that there’s a huge world to explore as well, though its gonna take me a while to catch up to the latest book being released!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

