Miscellaneous

Authors I wanna start reading

I did a post a while ago where I talked about the authors whose work I would like to complete. Today I wanna make a sort of part 2, and talk about the authors who I wanna start reading. These are all people whose work I haven’t started on yet, and who have written more than one book that I want to read.

 

Brandon Sanderson

71dsJtQHmpL._UX250_

The author of the Mistborn books! That is probably the series I look forward to the most. I can’t wait to finally pick it up.

 

Kirsty Logan

Kirsty_Logan_slider-290x290.jpg

She’s written The Gracekeepers, which sounds fantastic, and The Portable Shelter, which I need to buy as soon as possible because it just seems like the kind of short-story collection I would love.

 

Cassandra Clare

CassandraClare_glamour_28may14_Kelly_Campbell_b

I think everyone knows who this is – the author of The Mortal Instruments and about a million other books that all take place in the same universe. I’ve heard very mixed things about her work, so I’m still unsure about it, but she’s on my to-read list nonetheless.

 

Alexandre Dumas

alexandre-dumas-3

He’s written The Count of Monte Cristo, The Three Musketeers and lots of other books that sound super fascinating.

 

Laura Bates

112632079__404242c

She’s mostly known for writing Everyday Sexism, which I’ve wanted to read for years, but she also recently released a new book called Girl Up, which sounds amazing.

 

Trudi Canavan

Trudi_Canavan_new_1_cropped

One of my best friends absolutely adores her books. They’re all fantasy and follow magicians and witches and honestly, they sound fantastic. I can’t wait to finally read some of herย novels. The first series on my list is the Black Magician trilogy.

 

Noelle Stevenson

la-et-hc-noelle-stevenson-talks-lumberjanes-nimona-20150520

She’s the author of the graphic novels Nimona and Lumberjanes. Both look absolutely fantastic and I’ve heard nothing but great things about them!

 

Derek Landy

Fame_222163k

This guy wrote the Skulduggery Pleasant books, which seem like exactly my kind of thing. They’re supposed to be funny and a little dark – perfect, basically. He also recently started the Demon Road series, which sounds like total Supernatural trash. I need it in my life.

 

Sarah Waters

The-writer-Sarah-Waters-014

I actually have her book The Night Watch on my shelf and it’s waiting to be read (I’ll get to that soon), but I also wanna read all of her other novels, because they sound fantastic.

 

Maggie Stiefvater

712FuQ3ll9L._UX250_

I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about The Raven Cycle, so I’m super excited to one day finally get to it.

 

Roald Dahl

RoaldDahl

Do I even need to say who he is? He wrote Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, and lots of other really weird children’s books.

 

C. S. Pacat

CS Pacat.JPG

She’s the author of the Captive Prince trilogy, which sounds too good to be true. I can’t wait to finally read those books!

 

Virginia Woolf

George_Charles_Beresford_-_Virginia_Woolf_in_1902

Another author I think everyone knows. I want to read pretty much everything she’s written; Mrs. Dalloway, To the Lighthouse, A Room of One’s Own, Orlando, etc.

 

V. E. Schwab

7168230

Her books sound SO GOOD. There’s Vicious and then there’s A Darker Shade of Magic, and I honestly don’t know which one I want to read first because they ย both sound so fantastic.

 

Agatha Christie

MTE5NDg0MDU0OTI0MDY4MzY3

I’m not a big fan of mystery novels, but her books sound amazing, so I wanna give them a shot. Especially And then there were none – it sounds really fascinating.

 

Patrick Ness

Patrick Ness

I’ve heard fantastic things about the Chaos Walking trilogy, and his novel A Monster Calls also sounds great.

 

Jane Austen

28_jane_austen_0

I have Sense and Sensibility on my shelf, waiting to be read, and I think out of all the writers of her timeย she’s the one that sounds the most interesting and accessible.

 

Have you guys read anything by these authors? Or do you plan to? I’d love to know.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj.gif

29 thoughts on “Authors I wanna start reading

  1. I just bought ADSOM. It’s what started my Hype or Like group, but I still haven’t read it. Cassandra Clare is another author I’ve been meaning to read. I started The Mortal Instruments series probably 6 months ago, but only made it 10% into the book before I forgot about it. It wasn’t anything to do with the writing. I think I own way too many books, and I lose interest fast. It’s on my list to make an effort to finish for my Goodreads reading challenge this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great list of authors, and some of them are my favourites too! V.E. Schwab is brilliant and I am definitely one of the people raving about her books, I have Vicious on my to-read list too but I’m sure I’ll love it because I’ve yet to read a book by Schwab I haven’t loved. Same goes for Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series, it’s one of my favourites now.
    I really hope you love discovering all these new authors!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have so many great authors on this list! I really want to start reading Brandon Sanderson’s stuff too. I have the Mistborn trilogy, I just need to get around to reading it!

    I read The Night Watch by Sarah Waters last year and really, really liked it. I keep meaning to pick up another one of her books, they all sound so good. I’ve also read Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf and thought the writing was beautiful, though it is hard to get used to her style, I’d love to read more by her.

    And you should definitely read Patrick Ness โ€” I recommend his books to anyone that will listen to me haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I need to start reading some Brandon Sanderson too! Everyone raves about his books and as a fantasy fan, I feel like I need to join in. Victoria Schwab has become one of my favourite authors, and I’m slowly making my way through her books. I’ve read the A Darker Shade Of Magic series and Vicious, and loved all those. I’m planning on getting her next release (This Savage Song) when it’s out soon, and I just need her duology to complete my collection ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooh, great idea for a post ๐Ÿ˜€ I really want to read V.E. Schwab’s books. They sound so interesting and I’ve heard endless good things. I definitely recommend Noelle Stevenson’s graphic novels and at least The Raven Cycle from Maggie Stiefvater! I struggled with the first Mortal Instruments book, but I think I’m going to eventually give the series another go.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone keeps recommending V. E. Schwab and Sanderson. I know how much you love The Raven Cycle and Noelle Stevenson, so that’s kind of an extra reason why I wanna read them.
      Also yep, I know you couldn’t get through The Mortal Instruments, and lots of people have said the same, so I don’t know about that.

      Like

      1. I kind of want to read Sanderson but I don’t do to tell with high fantasy and so many of his books are so huge haha.

        Haha, yeah, I’m definitely not low key about my love for them ๐Ÿ˜…

        My sister finished TMI today and she said the books do get better so that’s some inventive haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I just jumped on the Brandon Sanderson bandwagon recently and I’m so glad I did! I’ve only read Mistborn and one other, but that just means there’s so much more waiting for me! I hope you get around to him soon, too!

    Oh and Alexandre Dumas! I love his works so much! I started The Three Musketeers again recently so I can go through the whole series. I stopped last time because I couldn’t find a specific translation of the last book, but I guess I have to settle for a different one at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

