Tags

Around the World in YA | Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Reg @ She Latitude – go and check out her blog, it’s beautiful! The tag was originally created by Becca @ Becca and Books, who also has a great blog.

The tag basically consists of naming a few countries and matching them with a book that takes place in that country.

 

Nigeria

book2--310x465

I could choose any of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s books, but I’m gonna go with Half of a Yellow Sun, because I think it’s the one that makes you really feel the country. It’s set in the 60s during the Biafran War and it’s such a wonderful read. (★★★★★)

 

Italy

books.03

For Italy I’m gonna go with Angels and Demons by Dan Brown. It’s definitely not a big favourite (I’m not much of a Dan Brown fan), but it’s fast-paced and fascinating. It’s all about the Illuminati and the Vatican. (★★★)

 

Switzerland

15984268

The Universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence is one of my favourite books in the whole world, and part of it is set in Switzerland. I’m not gonna go into any details because explaining the Switzerland part would be a huge spoiler, but this is a wonderful book in every way, and I cannot recommend it enough. It’s about the friendship between a young boy and an older man, what it means to be lonely when you’re old and how a single kindness can change someone’s life. PLEASE READ IT. (★★★★★)

 

Greece

11250317

Technically this is set in Ancient Greece, not the Greece we know now, but I’m choosing The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, simply because I love that book and it emotionally destroyed me. It’s a gay retelling of Achilles’ life and his friendship/relationship with Patroclus. (★★★★★)

 

England

1

I have a lot of books that are set in England – most of the books I own are British, I think. So I have a grand variety to choose from, but I’m going with Northern Lights by Philip Pullman, because I finished it just the other day and I thought it was quite wonderful. I even did a review if you wanna know my full thoughts. It’s the first book in a children’s fantasy trilogy set in an alternative, magical version of our world. (★★★★★)

 

France

21378592

For France I’m choosing Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell, because I freaking love this book. It starts off in England, but most of the story takes place in Paris. It’s a wonderful, sweet children’s book full of adventure and really fun characters. (★★★★★)

 

Spain

shadow_of_the_wind

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón is a wonderful mystery novel set in Barcelona after the Second World War, and it follows a young boy as he finds a novel by an author whose work is being systematically destroyed, and he slowly unravels this man’s peculiar life. I really, really like this book. (★★★★★)

 

United States

secret_history

The Secret History by Donna Tartt is possibly my favourite book of all time – it is wonderfully written, the ending destroyed me and left me in tears, and the setting is beautiful. The novel takes place in a university in the United States and follows a group of smart, rich and beautiful students as they do some very strange things in the name of Greek mythology. IT IS SUCH A WONDERFUL BOOK PLEASE READ IT. (★★★★★)

 

Around the world

1251161

To finish this tag I want to mention a book that is set all over the world: The Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell. This is a lovely non-fiction book that looks at beautiful and strange bookshops all over the world and includes conversations with authors on why bookshops are important. If you love bookshops, this is a must-read. (★★★★★)

 

I hope you guys liked my incredibly Eurocentric answers. I am apparently an uneducated piece of shit who pretty much only reads western literature. HOW WONDERFUL.

I’m gonna tag Amy @ Inkyspells, Fatima @ Noteable Pad, Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews, Beth @ Reading Every Night, Naz @ Read Diverse Books (this seems like the perfect tag for you!) and Emma @ The Bookish Underdog.

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

25 thoughts on “Around the World in YA | Book Tag

  1. Thanks for tagging me! I was thinking about doing the tag before but the “YA” label made me hesitate because I don’t read much YA. It doesn’t seem to matter, though. haha, I should be able to use whatever books I want, like you did 😛

    I love that you picked The Secret History for the U.S. It’s one of the best books to represent the country, tbh! We’re all crazy over here. x)

    The Shadow of the Wind must be a special book for you, partly because it’s set in your home country and also because it sounds incredible!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly completely ignored the YA part haha.
      The Secret History is just so incredible, I try to mention it as much as I can.
      Spain is not really my home country haha. I just moved here a few years ago, I was actually born in Germany. But it is an amazing book!

      Like

  2. This looks like such a cool tag! Thanks so much for tagging me 🙂

    I feel like I’m also going to totally ignore the YA part haha. I’m not sure that I’ve read enough to pick more than like, 2 countries for it.

    I’ve been meaning to buy The Bookshop Book for such a long time! It sounds amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this tag – even if it has made me realise how shamefully lacking in diversity the books I’ve read are, ahahaha 🙈. I definitely plan on changing that though! Ever since finishing The Hidden Oracle I’ve been wanting to read The Song of Achilles even more than I did before, it sounds amazing!

    When I do this I think I’m definitely going to have to choose a mix of books I’ve read and books on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, I kinda realised that too haha. Oh well.
      Oh, how come? Is there anything in The Hidden Oracle that reminds you of The Song of Achilles?
      I considered including my TBR, but then I thought I had enough books already and I didn’t wanna include books I couldn’t rate. But it’s a good idea! Have fun doing the tag. x

      Like

      1. I think you have a great selection 😊

        I don’t want to spoil anything because I’m not sure how much you know but there was a certain relationship mentioned that made me want to read it haha.

        Ah, yes that is true! I’ll definitely be scouring my Goodreads shelves haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This tag is actually such a great idea! Thank you for tagging me! 🙂
    I’m going to ignore the YA because that would limit the books I could pick.
    You’ve just reminded me to read The Bookshop Book and Half of a Yellow Sun, so thanks for that! Now that I think about it, we have a similar taste in books.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, by the way! Completely unrelated, but do you remember a while ago you commented on my post about my university decision? I’m going to write an in depth discussion post about it soon. I don’t know if it will be useful, but I’m doing it anyway 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much for the tag! I’ve seen this one around and I am so excited to be able to take part in it now, and I love travelling so this is a perfect one for me as well.
    I’m definitely going to have to think on a few countries though, a lot of the books I read are set somewhere in America (or they’re fantasy books set in countries that don’t really exist anywehre other than the imagination!) or England.
    But I loved your picks for this tag, I LOVE the Northern Lights and I need to pick up The Song of Achilles soon because it sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a great post. I will be completely honest with you, and say that I haven’t heard of ANY of the books listed, but, because you recommended it so much, I feel like I might read Northern Lights, The Song Achilles, and The Universe Versus Alex Woods.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

