Tags

If you like this, try that | Book Tag

I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do this, but I saw it around on Booktube and thought it looked pretty cool, so here I am! Also, can I just say that I had the weirdest morning? I had a driving lesson and halfway through the lesson the car broke, so my driving teacher and I had to walk to her parents’ home and she drove me back to my house with her father’s car. Because now the car is broken we had to cancel my driving exam and I’ll have to wait even longer to do it.

I feel like most people would be kind of annoyed at the whole situation but I just thought it was so funny? I mean, my driving teacher drove me home in her dad’s car. That’s so strange.

Anyway, here’s the tag! I’m gonna include books, TV shows, movies and even some music and video games. But each separate recommendation includes at least one book – this is a book blog after all!

 

If you like How to get away with Murder (TV show), you should try …

  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt (book)
  • Dead Poets Society (movie)

All of these follow brilliant students who do weird shit in the name of their great professors. They also share this kind of dark, elegant, tragic vibe that I absolutely love.

 

If you like The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (book), you should try …

  • Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira (book)
  • The Breakfast Club (movie)
  • Galaxie 500 (band)

Unbenannt2.JPG

Love Letters to the Dead is pretty much a copy of the former book with a female lead. I personally don’t really like it because it’s so similar, but I know a lot of people do enjoy both books. The Breakfast Club reminds me of The Perks of being a Wallflower because it’s full of strange characters who all have their own issues and don’t really fit in, just like the book. And lastly, Galaxie 500 is a wonderful band that makes this very calm, dreamy and slightly weird music. I think it really fits the vibe of the book, and a song by them is even on the movie soundtrack.

 

If you like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (book), you should try …

  • The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer (book)

I read these two more or less back-to-back, and I thought they had quite similar themes. Both deal with mental illness and family, although in different ways. They’re lovely reads and very interesting stories.

 

If you like The 100 (TV show), you should try …

  • Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion (book)
  • The Day after Tomorrow (movie)

These are all dystopian stories. The 100 and Warm Bodies are set in the future, when the world is already destroyed, while The Day after Tomorrow is set during a series of natural disasters which threaten to end everything. I’m usually not a fan of natural-catastrophe movies, but The Day after Tomorrow is absolutely wonderful, with fantastic characters – I’ve literally watched it so many times I’ve lost count. It’s an all-time favourite of mine. What I think these three stories have in common, apart from the dystopian theme, is that they all follow relatable, wonderful characters.

 

If you like Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan (book), you should try …

  • The Curiosity of Chance (movie)

I think what most people love about the book is its fun, colourful vibe. Tiny Cooper is a character full of energy and who loves musicals and theatre. I’m personally not a big fan of the book, but I think if you love it, you’re also gonna love The Curiosity of Chance. The movie, just like the book, follows a fun, loud characters who is super gay and loves performing. The book is about musicals and theatre, while the movie is all about bands and drag queens, but you get the idea. The only thing I don’t like about the movie is that there is quite a bit of fat-shaming, which is very unfortunate, because otherwise it’s fantastic.

 

If you like Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba (manga series), you should try …

  • Chronicle (movie)

I don’t know exactly why these two have a connection, but they do. They both have a similar vibe (how often in a single post can I say vibe?) and they follow these messed up characters with strange, dangerous powers. Death Note is about a young man who finds a notebook and discovers that when he writes someone’s name in it, that person dies. Chronicle on the other hand follows a group of guys who accidentally get super powers, and while two of them just want to have fun, one of the guys has some issues and starts hurting people. I freaking love this movie, so even if you couldn’t care less about Death Note, PLEASE WATCH IT.

 

If you like The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss (book series), you should try …

  • Skyrim (video game)

I think this one is pretty self-explanatory. The Kingkiller books (only The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear are out so far) are set in this epic high-fantasy world, and so is Skyrim. There are a lot of things in the books that reminded me of the Skyrim world when I first read them, and I think it’s just a wonderful video game for any lover of amazing fantasy worlds.

 

If you like Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (book series), you should try …

  • Professor Layton (video game series)

Yeah, I know, this is kind of ridiculous. But I think the video games have a lot in common with the books, even if they’re mainly for children and younger people. The main character of the game series, Professor Layton, reminds me a bit of Sherlock –  even though he is very polite and not a sociopath at all, he somehow still has this amazing-at-my-job-and-really-smart feel. If you don’t know, the video games are point-and-click adventures where you have to solve puzzles and follow a bunch of curious story-lines.

 

If you like Cormoran Strike by Robert Galbraith (book series), you should try …

  • Hotel Dusk: Room 215 (video game)

This is mainly because of the main character – Cormoran Strike is a lot like Kyle Hyde, the detective in the Hotel Dusk game. They are both grumpy and distant and getting old. The video game is another point-and-click adventure, this time set in a mysterious hotel where something strange is happening. Honestly, I loved playing it and the story is absolutely amazing. The characters are also fantastic and I remember being very fond of them.

 

Tagging

Even though I wasn’t tagged to do this, I still want to tag some people, because I had a lot of fun putting this post together, and I would love to see other bloggers do it.

Melanie @ Meltotheany

Fatima @ Noteable Pad

Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews

Emily @ Rose Read

Reg @ She Latitude

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

21 thoughts on “If you like this, try that | Book Tag

  1. This was so fun to read! I’ve heard of a lot of these books/movies/games, but I haven’t read/watched/played all of them. When I got to Death Note, I don’t know why but I had to laugh. It just reminded me I have my own Death Note notebook at home. A friend of mine thought it would be funny to give it to me as a birthday gift, and I’ve never used it. Chronicle sounds really similar, so I’ll add it to my movie list. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel like everyone’s watched it, even if they’re not fans of anime/manga. My brother doesn’t watch anime at all, and he was hooked on Death Note.

        I’ll be sure to watch it soon 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great idea for a tag! And I loved your answers as well.
    I haven’t watched The 100 but I have read Warm Bodies and watched The Day After Tomorrow so I think I should start watching that series soon! Same with Chronicle, I love that movie so I need to check out Death Note now (it sounds like a brilliant premise as well.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m glad you like it!
      Haha, the recommendations work both ways obviously, so if you like Warm Bodies and The Day after Tomorrow, I think you’ll love The 100. 😊
      Chronicle is fantastic! And it doesn’t have a lot of fans, so knowing someone else loves it is great.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah that’s what I thought too, and I’ve been meaning to watch The 100 for a while now so this post have given me the motivation to do just that! 🙂
        I loved Chronicle, I wanted to see it when it was first released but didn’t get around to it until a while after that but it was such a brilliant film. I’m kinda feeling to need to watch it again now 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tag, and great answers! I’m intrigued by Chronicle but tbh I’m such a scaredy cat, I tend to read things instead so they don’t come alive in my head at night, haha. Is it more thriller/horror/action, would you say?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem. 😊
      Oh, Chronicle isn’t scary! Really, I avoid horror movies because they terrify me, so I know what you mean. Chronicle is more of an action movie with some thriller and sci-fi mixed in.

      Like

  4. Ooh this is so interesting! I really love the concept. Love Letters to the Dead is on my TBR, but I didn’t know it was similar to Perks so that might have to be bumped up haha. I’ll definitely have to check out Galaxie 500 too because they look rad and I loved the Perks soundtrack. Warm Bodies is sooo good!!

    Thanks for the tag 😀 I’ll definitely have to do some thinking for this one, haha. I’m excited!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dead Poet’s Society! Oh, my heart! I adore that movie on so many levels and more people need to know about it.
    I really liked this post and will definitely be adding some of these titles to my TBR piles. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this idea! Algorithms always turn up the most random titles when I am trying to find a book like another book, so I much prefer when humans recommend things! I do love Sherlock Holmes and I was looking for another mystery video game (I like playing the Nancy Drew ones), so I might have to look into Professor Layton!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

