Tags

Book Tag: Burn, rewrite, reread

Once again I was not tagged to do this, but I’ve seen it around a lot and I kept hoping someone would tag me (insert desperation) – when no one did and the tag kind of died down, I thought I might as well just do it! I have honestly no clue where this tag started.

Rules

  • Randomly choose 3 books (tip: use the “sort > random” option on your Goodreads read shelf).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread.
  • Repeat until you’ve completed three or five rounds.

 

Round 1

Burn: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. I just really didn’t like this book.

Re-write: The House of Bernarda Alba by Federico García Lorca. The topic is interesting and the story is not bad, so I think a retelling would be a lot of fun.

Re-read: Percy Jackson: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. I’ve re-read the Percy Jackson books a lot in the past, so this is not even a question.

 

Round 2

Burn: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I really liked this book at the time but I don’t think I’d enjoy it as much if I read it now.

Re-write: Monsters: A Bestiary of the Bizarre by Christopher Dell. The pictures in this non-fiction book are stunning but the writing is boring and dry, so I think some re-writing would do the book a lot of good.

Re-read: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling. I really think I should re-read the Harry Potter books soon.

 

Round 3

Burn: Looking for Alaska by John Green. One of the most disappointing books I’ve ever read.

Re-write: A little gay history by R. B. Parkinson. Once again, fun concept and good pictures but dry writing.

Re-read: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling. Same answer as in round 2.

 

Round 4

Burn: Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel García Márquez. I had to read this for school and thought it was really boring.

Re-write: Magnus Chase: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. I love this book, but I think compared to other Rick Riordan novels it’s a little weak.

Re-read: Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell. One of my favourite reads of last year. This book is fantastic!

 

Round 5

Burn: Weight by Jeanette Winterson. I was not a fan of this book – I expected something completely different.

Re-write: Gay life and culture: A world history by Robert Aldrich. Another dryly written history book that had a lot of potential.

Re-read: Forever Princess by Meg Cabot. I really want to re-read all the Princess Diaries books one day! I used to love them as a kid.

 

And that was the tag! I’m not gonna tag anyone because I feel like everyone has already done this, and I was mostly just looking for a bit of fun (haven’t seen a lot of tags around lately). But if anyone feels like doing this, consider yourselves tagged!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

9 thoughts on “Book Tag: Burn, rewrite, reread

    1. Yeah, it was disappointing. I also thought it was super weird how the mythology was explained – I don’t remember a single thing about it, and usually Rick’s books teach me a lot and I remember most of it. So that’s kinda sad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

