Tags

The Diverse Books Tag

This tag was originally created by the wonderful Naz @ Read Diverse Books, who also kindly tagged me!

Here is Naz’s description of the tag:

The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read.ย If you canโ€™t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.

Let’s get started!

 

Find a book starring a lesbian character.

Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown. I freaking love this book. It was first published in 1973 and it’s honestly amazing how unapologetic and open-minded it is for an older book.

165395.jpg

 

Find a book with a Muslim protagonist.

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. This is a series of graphic novels set during the Islamic Revolution in Tehran. It’s been on my wishlist for a while.

9780375714573_custom-b719e11083b7eb352aaed2d17bfb4841108932cd-s6-c10.jpg

 

Find a book set in Latin America.

Kiss of the Spider Woman by Manuel Puig. I actually had to look for a while before I found this. It’s set in Latin America and it’s also LGBT fiction. Apparently it’s about two men who spend time together in a prison in the 70s in Argentina – it definitely sounds interesting.

41zKfwI3lgL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

Find a book about a person with a disability.

The Universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence. This is one of my favourite books in the whole world, and the main character suffers from epilepsy. That counts as a disability, right?

15984268.jpg

 

Find a science-fiction or fantasy book with a POC protagonist.

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor. I have heard so many great things about this book. It’s a fantasy novel set in Nigeria, and since I’m kind of obsessed with Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s novels, I would love to read more books set in Nigeria by different authors – especially if fantasy is involved.

7507944.jpg

 

Find a book set in (or about) any country in Africa.

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. One of my favourite books of all time. It’s set during the Nigerian Civilย War in the 60s and it’s just such a wonderful novel.

book2--310x465.jpg

 

Find a book written by an Indigenous or Native author (use tribal names if possible).

Love at Gunpoint by nila northSun. This is a poetry collection, and it sounds amazing. It also only has 10 ratings on Goodreads, so even better – I love finding great books that no one knows about.

737847.jpg

 

Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, etc.).

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. This book is actually on my TBR shelf, and has been for a while. Something about it scares me so I keep putting it off. I’m sure I’ll love it once I get around to it though.

Kite_runner.jpg

 

Find a book with a biracial protagonist.

White Teeth by Zadie Smith. This sounds like a fun, interesting novel. I had heard about it before but for some reason I forgot about it until now. Definitely wanna read it.

3711.jpg

 

Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues.

Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out by Susan Kuklin. This was one of my favourite reads of last year, and it’s just one of the best non-fiction books I’ve ever read. It’s about a bunch of trans teenagers and their families, what their experiences have been like, and how their lives have changed over the years. It’s really fantastic.

18166920.jpg

 

Yay! This actually took longer than I expected. But I found some interesting books and had an excuse to look at a few Goodreads lists. Now, Naz said that anyone who chooses to participate should tag at least 5 people, so here we go!

Amy @ Inkyspells | Fatima @ Noteable Pad | Beth @ Reading Every Night | Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf | Emily @ Rose Read | Emma @ The Bookish Underdog |

 

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

20 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

  1. I love this tag!! I’m adding so many books to my wishlist. I’ve heard of Kiss of the Spider Woman before, it sounds so interesting! I read The Kite Runner years and years ago, but I really want to read it again now that I’m a bit older, because I think there was probably a lot of stuff that I missed the first time I read it.

    Thank you so much for tagging me! I’m going to have so much fun with this ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is so exciting! I really really recommend The Kite Runner! You should read it as soon as you can. I got to it a bit late, but I really regret that I didn’t read it sooner. It’s great ๐Ÿ™‚ (but also really sad, so get those tissues ready) Thanks for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whoops! I totally missed this post of yours.
    WordPress never sends me backlinks. D:

    You’d better get around to The Kite Runner this year >:] And you’re right, you will love it once you do get around to it. It’s a wonderful story, but it will make your heart hurt.

    I have never heard of Rubyfruit Jungle. It sounds fun and daring. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for tagging others and helping the tag spread. I appreciate you very much โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

