Currently reading

Currently reading | 01-06-2016

I’ve decided that on Wednesdays I’m going to share what I’m currently reading! This week it’s The Thing around your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and An Utterly Impartial History of Britain by John O’Farrell.

I have to admit that I’m in a bit of a reading slump. I think it’s mostly due to the fact that I’m binge-watching Gossip Girl, and TV shows always make me lose interest in the books I’m reading (not a good habit, I know). But nonetheless, I am getting a bit of reading done (almost) every day.

 

The Thing around your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

thethingaroundyourneck.jpg

This is a short-story collection and the only book my Chimamanda that I have yet to finish. I’m enjoying it so far (although I think short stories may not be my favourite thing in the world), and I will definitely post a full review once I’m finished. I’m on page 142 of 218 (65% done).

 

An Utterly Impartial History of Britain by John O’Farrell

1935045.jpg

I’m having more problems with this book than with the former. It’s very good so far and quite funny, but I think I’m just not in a non-fiction mood. Also, the kind of history I enjoy is either Modern or about Ancient Greece; I’m still at the beginning of the book, so until now it’s been all about the Iron Age and such – not my kind of thing. I’m on page 28 of 498 (5% done).

 

I’m almost done with Gossip Girl, and when I do finish it I’m going to leave Netflix alone for a while and focus on reading. I believe I can finish An Utterly Impartial History of Britain this month, and I also want to start reading a novel (probably The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith). I’m definitely finishing The Thing around your Neck in the next few days, so I hope you guys are looking forward to my review!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

3 thoughts on “Currently reading | 01-06-2016

  1. It looks like a fun and educational reading week 🙂 – hehe I so get you on the reading slump (I went through that last month when I discovered “How to Get Away with Murder” on Netflix ;)). Looking forward to your reviews, and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

