Wrap-ups

May reading wrap-up

It’s June! Holy shit. I can’t really wrap my head around the fact that we’re already half-way through 2016. This is kind of my gap year and it ends in September – I told myself last summer I was gonna do lots of fun, exciting things (like write a novel and learn French), and instead I ended up watching TV shows and reading. Now I only have around 4 months left, and 2 of them I will be on vacation with friends. So my gap year is pretty much over. Oh well.

I read 7 books this month, which is not much, but the last week or so I was in a reading slump (I blame Gossip Girl and my need for binge-watching), so I guess it’s not too bad. Let’s get started!

 

Dragon’s Fire by Jane Johnson (Shadow World #3)

jane-johnson-dragons-fire.jpg

This is the third book in the Shadow World trilogy and it was honestly quite disappointing. I used to love these books as a kid and decided to re-read them – they are definitely not as good as I remembered. This trilogy follows young Ben, who discovers that animals can talk and that he is basically the lost prince of a magical world that exists alongside ours. He has to rescue this world from an evil man and help his family at the same time. As you can probably tell, it’s very much like a traditional fairy tale, with a magical world, a hero, a family, a kingdom, an evil man, monsters, etc. It’s not a bad story, but I’m not the biggest fan of clichés. The writing was also weird for a children’s story, and it seemed way too violent and kind of inappropriate at times for young readers. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me. I ended up giving it three stars, because it brought back lots of good childhood memories.

Rating: ★★★

 

All my Friends are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman

51rOkxPHn2L._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I wrote a full review of this book, which you can check out here. It’s about a man who lives in a world where everyone has super powers except for him, and on his wedding day he suddenly turns invisible; he is now on a plane with his wife and has to convince her that he exists before the plane lands. The whole story is basically a huge metaphor – I enjoyed reading it, but I’m not a big fan of magical realism, so I couldn’t quite give it five stars.

Rating: ★★★★

 

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

126381.jpg

If you know my reading taste at all, you know that I’m in love with Chimamanda’s work. This is her first novel, and while I didn’t like it as much as her later two, it was still a fantastic read. It’s about family, abuse and religion, and I absolutely loved it. You can read my full review here.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707.png

This is the sequel to Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods. They’re books about the Greek myths, told in a funny way by Percy Jackson. These books are under the fiction category, but I would say they’re non-fiction – these are not novels, they are informational books about Greek mythology, even if the myths are told like fun short stories. I always love Rick’s work, so I had no doubt about my rating.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials #1)

710ArJt90IL.jpg

This is another book I did a full review of, which you can read here. I think everyone knows this trilogy – it’s a fantasy story set in an alternative world very similar to ours. There’s magic, there are daemons (animals who are part of a person’s soul), there are multiple worlds, etc. I’ve only read this first book in the trilogy so far, but it was fantastic, and I’m definitely looking forward to reading the others.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

We are all completely beside ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

122-We-are-all-.jpg

I didn’t like this book. The characters were annoying, the story was boring and I didn’t like the twist. But it does deal with some important issues and the author is a talented writer, so I ended up giving it three stars. It’s about a woman and her sister, who disappeared when she was five years old, and basically about how messed up parents can be. You can read my full review here.

Rating: ★★★

 

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (The Trials of Apollo #1)

1812.jpg

This is a fantastic way to end this post. I already said that I love Rick Riordan, but this book reminded me of how my love for his books started in the first place. It’s about the Greek god Apollo, who is cast out of Olympus after he angers his father Zeus. He turns into a mortal teenager and has to complete some trials to gain back his position as a god. This book was absolutely wonderful, and I also wrote a full review, which you can check out here.

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Those are all the books I read in May! Have you guys read any of these? Do you plan to? Let me know!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

12 thoughts on “May reading wrap-up

  1. Seven books is still really good, but I know what you mean I was in a bit of a mini-slump this month as well, I still managed to make it through nine books but three of them were really short novellas so I don’t think they count! 😀
    Also I literally have plans to start the Percy Jackson series next week! I am so excited because I’ve been seeing this series everywhere recently and I just want to see what all the fuss is about. There’s so much I have to catch up on but given your high ratings on the two you read this month I think I’m gonna love the series! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

