Currently reading

Currently reading | 08-06-2016

It’s Wednesday again, which means it’s time to talk about the books I’m currently reading!

 

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (Cormoran Strike #2)

e5149fb628823b9f307f464b7ebce184.jpg

I’m really enjoying this so far. I think by writing a series of detective novels, J. K. Rowling really proved how talented she is, and how she can write across different genres. The story in this is more violent and a bit more sexual than in the first book, but nothing so extreme as to put me off (at least so far). I love the characters and the plot, and of course the setting (how could I not like a book set in London?).

The series follows Cormoran Strike, a middle-aged detective who is basically the real-life version of Mad-Eye Moody from the Harry Potter books. In this novel, Cormoran has to find a missing author, and while at first the case seems simple and actually kind of pathetic, it all turns into a gruesome murder investigation. I’m on page 298 of 580 (51% done).

 

An utterly impartial History of Britain by John O’Farrell

51m7FSws-KL._SX1200_SY1200__6.jpg

This was already in my last currently-reading post, but I’m taking my time with it. I think the worst you can do when reading non-fiction books that are long and full of facts is to rush it and desperately try to finish them quickly.

This book is about the history of Great Britain, told in an entertaining and slightly ironic way. I’m really enjoying it so far, but as I said before, I wanna take my time with it. I’m on page 49 of 498 (9% done).

 

Those are the books I’m currently reading! Have you guys read any of these? Are they on your TBR? I’d love to know.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

4 thoughts on “Currently reading | 08-06-2016

  1. I need to pick up The Silkworm, cuckoo’s calling was so good. JK Rowling really threw me through the loop with that book, I was fully surprised. I have both the next two books on my shelf waiting for me to hurry up, I heard the 3rd book is rather gruesome. However I saw that on Twitter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

