Awards

Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

It’s been a long time since I was nominated for an award – I feel like awards and tags are kind of dying out a bit, at least on the blogs I follow. So thank you Sammie @ Bookshelves and Biros for nominating me! I really appreciate it. Once again, the creator of the award has disappeared into oblivion.

siblinghood-of-the-world-bloggers.jpg

Rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post.
  • Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.
  • Nominate ten other bloggers.
  • Create ten questions for your nominees.

 

Sammie’s questions

1. What’s your favourite thing to cook?

I hate cooking. There’s nothing that makes me as angry as the fact that humans need food to survive, and moreover have to make it themselves. So I usually make the quickest thing that comes to mind – instant cous cous or pasta. Those are really the only things I can cook, but that’s okay, because they are also pretty much the only things I like to eat.

 

2. Snog, marry, throw off a cliff: Will Herondale, Julian Blackthorn, Magnus Bane.

I have no idea who any of those people are, so I’m throwing all of them off the cliff.

 

3. Coffee or tea?

Neither. I don’t like warm drinks.

 

4. What’s the best quote you’ve recently come across in a book?

‘We’ve heard them all talk about Dust, and they’re so afraid of it, and you know what? We believed them, even though we could see that what they were doing was wicked and evil and wrong… We thought Dust must be bad too, because they were grown up and they said so. But what if it isn’t? What if it’s—’

She said breathlessly, ‘Yeah! What if it’s really good…’

That is a quote from Northern Lights, the first book in Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series. Dust is basically sin, so they are saying that all this time adults have told them that sin is bad and evil, but maybe they’re wrong and it’s not. I’ve personally always thought that the idea of sin is beyond ridiculous, so when I read this I laughed out loud – it literally made my day.

 

5. Name three things you couldn’t live without.

In an extreme situation that would be water, someone to talk to and a knife. In my current situation, which is the opposite of extreme, I’m gonna go with the internet, my dog and some writing supplies.

 

6. If you had to get rid of all but one of the apps on your phone, which one would you keep?

The play store, so I can download all the other apps again. Ha. No, seriously, I would probably keep WhatsApp, because it’s my only contact to other human beings.

 

7. Do you have any WordPress pet peeves/annoyances?

I already explained in another post how much it bothers me when bloggers call weekly posts memes. Memes are stupid pictures, not blog features!

CNC3OEDVEAAGAWO

I also can’t stand bad grammar, and I immediately leave a blog if I feel like the blogger doesn’t put any effort into their posts and doesn’t even proofread.

 

8. Describe your ideal Saturday morning.

Sleep.

 

9. Open the book closest to your laptop/computer/tablet to page 54: what does the first line say?

When she came back with the opened bottles her face and throat were pink.

From The Night Watch by Sarah Waters, which is on my TBR.

 

10. What’s your favourite cocktail?

I don’t drink and have never tried any cocktails, so no answer.

 

I have to say, those are some fantastic questions, Sammie! Very creative. I really enjoyed answering them. Now it’s my turn!

My questions

1. What was your favourite TV show as a child?
2. What is the first movie you ever saw at the cinema?
3. Do you play any video games? If yes, name your favourites.
4. If you had to leave your home forever and could only bring 3 books with you, which would you choose?
5. If you were a shape-shifter, what animal would you wanna become?
6. What’s your dream job?
7. What’s your favourite name you’ve ever found in a book?
8. If you were a demi-god, who do you think would be your godly parent?
9. What is/was your favourite subject in school? And your least favourite?
10. Describe the last book you’ve read in three words.

Nominations

Reg @ She Latitude | Hollie @ Hollieblog | Katherine @ Fabled Haven | Jamie and Caleb @ Watch Game Read |

 

I had forgotten how much fun awards are! I always love writing these posts.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

42 thoughts on “Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Congratulations on being nominated!
    I have to say number 7, my grammar is terrible. I proof read all my posts but my brain seems to just automatically add the extra bits in my head, then never transfer that message to my hands to actually type properly. It’s something I am definitely trying to work on myself, sorting my grammar out! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would throw them off a cliff, too. Haha! I only know Magnus from The Mortal Instruments movie. I haven’t read the books. I think Will is from one of those books. I’m not sure. Every girl seems to make a big deal about him like he’s a real person. I also don’t understand why weekly posts are called memes. When I’d first started blogging, I was so confused. I thought they were talking about pictures. It was a bit of a learning curve. My ideal Saturday would also be sleeping. I could sleep for a solid day straight no problem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha I loved reading your answers! When I started blogging, I really didn’t understand why weekly posts were called memes either, but I’m so used to it now I don’t even question it. My ideal Saturday morning would definitely be spent sleeping too! The Night Watch has also been on my TBR for some time – I’d be interested to hear what you think of it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha, I totally agree, I was surprised when I kept seeing the word “meme” floating around. I think everyone’s ideal Saturday would be to sleep. Scratch that, everyone’s ideal day would be to sleep :p (and read of course)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my god some of your answers really made me laugh, and sitting on the train right now that’s not normally a good idea if I want I look sane 😄
    Your ideal Saturday morning is the same as mine, and pretty much how I spend every Saturday anyway. Also I love cooking but I make a lot of pasta as well, just because I’m really lazy and don’t wanna waste time doing anything that’ll take longer! 😀
    Great answers, I really loved reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Exactly. And then sometimes restaurants don’t make their food the way I like it. I ordered pasta once and expected my typical simple pasta with some good sauce and instead it was really fancy and tasted weird. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I wanted – so I usually prefer eating at home, and more so if someone else is cooking. 😂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Or they get your order wrong. This has happened to me twice in the last two weeks and I only went out twice in the last two weeks! :/
            Yeah, someone else cooking for you is always what I prefer as well. When I get home from work I know my dinner is waiting for me in the oven ready to be eaten! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

  6. OMG! Thanks for the nomination! I’ll do it as soon as I can.

    Question 2! >_< I think they're Cassandra Clare characters? I read His Dark Materials when I was still a kid, a lot of the symbolism flew past my head until I thought about it again years later. Dust was one of them. Couldn't believe how I missed something so obvious.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hahahahaha, I laughed so hard at your answers! Especially #2 and #7. I’ve never understood why people call weekly posts memes either?! I always think about pictures when I hear meme too. I just guessed it was a book community thing that I didn’t understand yet?!

    Also LOVE that you chose a quote from His Dark Materials! The symbolism in the book is so blatant but it took me ages to understand it, so when I did I was like WOAH. Great books and great answers, I’m glad you liked the questions! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great answers! 🙂 Also really great to come across someone who hates cooking as much as I do. Seriously, I just want to eat my food. Cooking is boring and takes way too long and I don’t know what people find so great about it… Eating on the other hand is great – too bad one can’t exist without the other 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

