5 Reasons Why

Parks and Recreation: 5 reasons why you should watch it

Parks and Recreation is a hilarious political-comedy show shot in a mockumentary style, which follows a group of characters who work for the US government.

pr1.jpeg

 

1. It’s hilarious. This show has some of the funniest scenes and best quotes in the world. I remember laughing out loud so many times when I watched it, and every now and then I still do when I find a random gif or video.

 

2. The characters. All of them are completely unique and funny in their own way.

There’s Leslie, who loves the government like it’s her child, and who believes in hard work. She’s kind, dedicated and bossy. I love her.

tumblr_n8oke0tuhO1tow9q8o1_500.gif

There’s Andy, who’s goofy and kind and never loses his optimism. He never knows what’s going on.

tumblr_nhvg9iAuIx1tq4of6o1_500.gif

There’s April, my personal favourite. She hates people and loves animals. She’s kind of a bit creepy but ultimately loves everyone around her, even though she would never admit it.

Talking-People-About-Things.gif

There’s Ron, who’s the boss of the whole department but actually hates the government. He doesn’t likeΒ emotions and loves being alone in the woods. He also loves food.

giphy (10).gif

There’s Tom, who loves technology and money and gets super excited about new, shiny things. He’s like the perfect fuckboy, but incredibly adorable at the same time. He also thinks he’s the best thing to ever happen to the world.

Treating-Yo-Self-Key.gif

There’s Donna, the bad-ass lady who’s good friends with Tom. She’s classy in her own way and knows exactly how to get what she wants.

DO-Live-tweet-btch.gif

There’s Jerry, the loser of the department. No one likes him and everyone makes fun of him, which is incredibly mean but also a little funny at times. He doesn’t really care what anyone thinks, he just likes to do his job the best he can.

When-He-Champions-Comic-Sans.gif

There’s Ann, the sweet, innocent soul. She’s incredibly kind and patient, and everyone loves her.

1436213457-ann-and-leslie-i-love-you-gif.gif

And lastly there are Ben and Chris, but they’re later additions to the show, so I’m not gonna talk about them much. Just know that Ben is one of my favourite charactersΒ in the whole world.

anigif_enhanced-29741-1412015247-8.gif

And that Chris is freaking hilarious and weird.

8hmS0D0.gif

 

3. It makes you happy. Even just hearing the opening theme makes me smile – the show practically radiates positivity and happiness and there’s nothing more wonderful on a bad day.

 

4. Fantastic political parody. Just look at the current election in the US – I mean, Donald Trump actually has a real chance. There are politicians in this show who are supposed to be exaggerated and stereotypical, but they’re just like the people we see every day on TV, talking nonsense. So I think it’s safe to say that this show does a fantastic job of turning politics into comedy.

 

5. It deals with actual, real issues. The show deals a lot with the way women in power are treated and perceived. Leslie, as an ambitious woman, deals with a lot of criticism and often feels powerless because she can’t stop it. So it’s not just a fun, happy show, but an important one as well.

 

Those are my 5 mainΒ reasons why you should definitely check out this wonderful show. If you’re a fan I’d love to talk about it in the comments below, and if you haven’t watched it yet, I hope I’ve convinced you to check it out.

‘Till next time and happy watching!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

26 thoughts on “Parks and Recreation: 5 reasons why you should watch it

  1. THIS SHOW IS LIFE!

    Leslie is the best thing to happen to television. Not only is she hilarious, but she’s actually very relatable… Well, to a total geek like me, anyway, haha. Also, I will forever love, Andy. I think that my favourite quote from him is “Leslie, I typed your symptoms into the thing up here, and it says you could have ‘network connectivity problems'”. Plus, the fact that that was totally improvised makes it ten times better!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THIS SHOW IS MY ENTIRE WORLD. You’re so right about the theme song. Just seeing you talk about it I heard it in my head and I instantly smiled. All the characters are so amazing, it’s so hard to choose a favourite but I definitely connect the most to April. We’re so alike it’s kind of scary πŸ˜‚ I honestly love everything about it and it helped me through a hard time in my life and just omg it makes me so happy! I love it so so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That theme song just makes me think of golden retrievers and all kinds of happy things.
      Everyone seems to find it hard to choose a favourite character! For me it’s definitely Ben because I can identify with him a lot. πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

  3. This is one of my ALL TIME favourite shows! I love it so so much and I am constantly re-watching old episodes because, no matter how many times I’ve seen it, I always laugh at the jokes! πŸ˜€
    I pretty much shipped April and Andy and Leslie and Ben from the very beginning, and I completely agree with you because Ben is one of my favourite characters in the world as well!
    This post has really made me want to go back and re-watch some of the episodes now! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes. I love watching the outtakes on YouTube; I think my favourite is the one where Chris Pratt throws the briefcase and it breaks the light, and Leslie and Chris just start laughing! I watch that over and over because it’s just so hilarious!
        I would suggest picking one or two favourite episodes and starting with those, it’s what I plan to do very soon! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is definitely one of my favourite shows ever! It was hilarious, it had heart and the characters were all just amazing. I’m still not over the fact that it ended and somehow I still hope that it will come back (not the Kim K kind though, if you’ve seen the bloopers you’ll know πŸ˜‚).
    As you said, even thinking about the theme song puts a smile on my face and makes me want to re-watch the entire series. Thanks for reminding me haha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had no clue what this show was about until my friends made me watch some episode. I had no clue what was going on because it was…I don’t even know what season. But Leslie is fantastic and I loved her. She makes the show! Oh and Ben. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

