Tags

The ‘I messed up’ book tag

It’s time for another tag! I feel like I haven’t done one in ages. Thank you so much Beth @ Reading Every Night for tagging me, I really appreciate it!

 

A character appearance that you misread or imagined differently.

I’m gonna go with Fern from We are all completely beside ourselves. Misreading this character is the whole point of the book, and it really bothered me, which is why I disliked the novel. (You can read my full review here if you feel like it.)

 

A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong.

There are lots of monsters and creatures from Greek mythology in the Percy Jackson books, and I have no idea how to pronounce any of them. I studied Greek mythology when I was still living in Germany, so I only know how to pronounce those names in German, which is unfortunate and kind of completely useless.

 

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure.

Definitely the ‘asshole with tragic childhood’ trope. I love those characters, the ones who aren’t interested in being nice, and who aren’t mean to just a specific group of people but to literally everyone (otherwise we’re getting into discrimination, which I’m not a fan of). Good examples of this type of character are Murphy from The 100 and Brian Kinney from Queer as Folk (two of my all-time favourite characters).

 

A cliché character type that you like better on screen than reading about.

I guess the same as above. I love reading about the ‘asshole with tragic childhood’ characters, but I like them much better in TV shows.

 

A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book.

This is actually a very good question for me specifically, because I kind of learned English through books. I grew up in Germany with Italian parents, so the only English I ever learned was at school (and the vocabulary there didn’t go beyond vegetables and the weather). When I started reading in English I learned so much. I remember reading the Harry Potter books and looking up so many words. I’ve forgotten most of the words I didn’t know, but two I remember looking up are shrug and frown. You only realise how much they’re used in books when you have no idea what they mean.

 

Have you ever not read or completed a required-reading book for school?

Oh, of course. In Germany we never had required reading (no idea why), but when I moved to Spain my teachers wanted me to read lots of books I wasn’t remotely interested in, so I just never read them. To get a better understanding of that you should know that I used to not really care about my grades, until I turned 16 and decided I wanted to study English literature – then I became the biggest study-freak and got amazing grades everywhere. I started reading the required books at that point, but still didn’t finish most of them (I hate reading in Spanish).

 

Have you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?

I never skip anything in books, simply because I love reading them cover-to-cover, but when I read The Picture of Dorian Gray I was seriously considering it. The book is amazing, but there is this really long chapter that consists of nothing but descriptions of a beautiful house. Like, I get it, you bought expensive curtains and can’t stop staring at them. I DON’T CARE.

 

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

Where I live I don’t really have friends, which sounds sad but is actually kind of alright. My only friend from here is now at university and I only get to see her a couple times a year when she’s home for a vacation, and the rest of my friends all live in Germany, where I go every summer. So I don’t actually have any social plans except when my friends are around, and because I get to see them so little I completely give up on reading and spend time with them when they are – anything else would be dumb.

 

Tagging

Melanie @ Meltotheany | Kai @ Black Cat Kai | The Orang-utan Librarian | Carrianne @ Cuppa ‘n Critiques |

I tried to pick people I’ve never tagged before or haven’t tagged in a while. If any of you have already done this, feel free to ignore me.

 

On a completely unrelated note, I drove on a highway for the first time today! It wasn’t even a proper highway, but I only got my licence a few days ago and I’m still terrified of leaving my street, so I’ve been driving up and down. But today I decided to be brave (ha) and drive on a real road. I shifted into the wrong gear at one point and thought I was going to die (that was fun) but it wasn’t so bad over-all. I’d love to hear some terrible driving stories from you guys, so I don’t feel like the only loser who’s scared of cars.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

36 thoughts on “The ‘I messed up’ book tag

  1. I’m still trying to think of answers for this tag. It’s not going well. I’m stuck on the first question. 😂 I loved reading about how you learned English. I would’ve thought it was your primary language you write so well. I have a funny car story for you. I must’ve had a blonde moment or something because for 3 days I kept looking at the gas gauge, thinking it said full and it was empty. This was my first year of college, and I went to a good school in a very dangerous neighborhood in Philadelphia. Well, I ended up breaking down on one of the worst streets you could imagine, gang bangers and all, and my dad had to leave work to bring me gas. He will never let me live that one down. 😂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love getting to know more about you through your answers for this one. This one looks like a lot of fun, so I’ll definitely be getting to it ASAP. Thanks for the tag!

    P.S. Your English is really good! I never would’ve guessed it was your second language, but that just proves how awesome reading is. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As for driving stories, I had bad run of luck with my first two cars. Long story(ies) short, I had two cars totaled within six months of each other because the other driver wasn’t paying attention. One turned into the front end of my car (coming out of a gas/petrol station), and the other’s brakes went out (instead of veering into the nice wide open field next to me, he used the back end of my car to stop).

      Congrats on going on the highway! I definitely remember how scary it is.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Yay! That’s awesome. I’m terrified of driving in the city as well and have yet to do it. I usually make public transportation work for me (even if it means taking a couple different trains, haha.)

          Liked by 1 person

  3. I study English Literature at university and sometimes I don’t read the required reading now. If i’m not using it for any assignments and I know I won’t like it then I just ignore it. oops.
    I really struggle to get into classics though, so when they expect us to read 4 books a week, one for each unit, it can be a real struggle! Whereas I could read a YA Book in less than a day

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s good, I’m actually going to be doing my final year in September. It’s a-lot of work especially when they want you to read secondary reading around the book as well. The tutors seem to forget that we have more than their unit so they pile work on. Just a case of organisation 😀

        Liked by 1 person

              1. Of course 🙂 Every university is different so for my first year we didn’t get to choose so the units for the year were: Approaches to Poetry, Critical Dialogues, Approaches to Drama and Approaches to Narrative. Then for my second year I got to choose my options of which 4 I wanted to study so I chose: Enlightenment and Romanticism, Film, Genre and Mode, American Spaces and Postwar to Present. So I had a real mixture. I chose to study Film, Genre and Mode because I have an interest in film. I’m not sure if every university offers the opportunity to do a film unit but it was great. Basically I ended up studying a mixture of era’s and I got to study poetry, classics, modern texts, plays. Next year I have chosen to do Cinema and Nation (continuing with a film option), Shakespeare and Reading and Writing Children’s Literature. Sorry for the long comment, if you have any questions I’ll be happy to answer them 🙂 Will you be studying in England or?

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. Ah that is exciting! I hope you enjoy your move and you will be surrounded by everybody who loves books just as much as you 🙂 In answer to your other question, yes I did enjoy those units. They were all very different from one another so for example in my American Spaces I studied American Literature such as Jack Kerouac’s ‘On The Road’ whilst in my Postwar to Present I studied a mixture of authors from Christopher Isherwood to British Authors which I had never heard of myself. It definitely introduces you to a bunch of different books. I might actually do a post on tips for studying English Literature at university; but my main tip would be just try to be organised 🙂

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. I’ll start thinking of ideas for one then! 🙂 At first I did find university quite stressful but that was because I hadn’t found the right balance between university and my part time job. I then spoke to my job and had my hours cut down so I could also get in a bit of relaxing time so my brain could take a rest essentially. The best thing about university is your surrounded by people in the same boat, every first year is in the same situation – their trying to handle the change of going to uni. The support system is great, you will easily make friends and you’ll have a personal tutor as well as your topic tutors you can go to. Not to mention the counselors and array of societies you could join. You’re never alone 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

  4. There’s no required reading in Germany? That sounds like heaven haha. I’ve had nothing but required reading! Great answers 🙂 I’m really impressed that you learnt English through reading! That’s incredible. I thought you must have learnt it at a young age because you write so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is in later school years, but I moved when I was 12. In Spain there’s required reading from very early on.
      Haha I learned English at school, but definitely not well enough to read novels. I still look up words all the time. 😃 But thank you! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

