Miscellaneous

I started writing again!

On Wednesdays I usually post what I’m currently reading, but I haven’t really read anything in a few days. I also skipped blogging on both Monday and Tuesday, and now I wanna explain why my life has become such a disaster: I started writing again!

Now, I’m constantly writing something, be it blog posts or poetry, but before last week I hadn’t written any fiction in years. And all of a sudden I wrote 20+ pages in three days.

I’ve been planning a high fantasy novel for what feels like my entire life. It started out as the most ridiculous story ever, with elves and an evil queen and all of the tropes,Β thenΒ slowly morphed into something completely different: an idea I am extremely proud of. The main problem I had was that there were all these scenes in my head that I wanted to put into the story, but I had no idea how to connect them without completely ignoring the main plot. There are also two characters I knew were gonna end up together, but I never found a believable way to make them fall for each other without it being insta-love.

This weekend, all of that changed. I sat down and looked at all of the scenes I had written down, all the notes and small ideas, and then divided them by more or less when they would happen. This gave me a clear picture of the plot and the journey the characters were gonna go on, and I started putting it all in order, writing what day it would be next to each scene. After finishing up the plot for each day, I would go back to my notes and write down everything that was gonna happen the next day, and so on.

When I had the first few days figured out, I realised I could actually start writing, and something magical happened: I actually did it. I wrote. Three entire chapters in three days, over 14.000 words. I haven’t been this happy in years.

There were some problems, of course. For instance, I hadn’t written in an enternity, and it definitely showed. The first chapter started out with the worst sentences I’d ever written, descriptions that didn’t make any sense, way too much pointless info about the world thrown into a conversation – but it was something, at least. The next day I was already much better and re-wrote the beginning, and then changed it again on the third day, making it a little betterΒ each time. Another thing to keep in mind is that this is my first time writing fiction in English. When I was 12 I used to write lots of stories, but all of them were in German.

So, this post is sort of an apology for not having blogged in two days and a life update at the same time. Now I would love to hear from the writers out there. Has something like this ever happened to you? Did you stop writing and suddenly start again, completely out of the blue? And I would also love to know what your worst problems are when writing, and how you usually solve them.

 

I’m gonna go back to my story now, because I still have lots of world-building to do, and insta-love to avoid.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

34 thoughts on “I started writing again!

  1. Congratulations! This is very exciting news!!! I am inspired – I have been meaning to transition from non-fiction/academic writing to creative/fiction writing for so long (but the writer’s block is immense). Your creative process sounds fascinating (like you already have some ideas and bits of stories… I always tried to get an outline done first but that may be the entirely wrong way to approach this… haha that works maybe only for a school paper ;)) I look forward to whatever posts you may want to share about writing/your novel, and to your reviews and bookish posts as usual of course!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s great you’ve started writing again πŸ˜€ I used to write all the time when I was in uni, way too long ago now, but kind of got out of the habit a bit. Now the only time I usually write is during NaNoWriMo in November because my time seems to be largely taken up by blogging and general life and work stuff.
    I really need to get in the habit of writing again, I really miss it and I have loads of ideas floating around in my head. I’m constantly scribbling short scenes or character/plot ideas on scraps pieces of paper, I just haven’t managed to pull them all together into one story.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you come up with an idea on the go you need to write it down quickly before you forget it, or at least I do, then I just end up with loads of random sheets of paper with stuff written all over them!
        Yeah, I’ll be doing NaNoWriMo again this year, it’s always good fun!

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I like order, I just don’t seem to have it in my writing. I will literally write on any piece of paper I can find, even a few receipts, and then I shove them all in the front of my notebook.
            There’ll be a few, probably towards the end as I freak out over how close the deadline is coming up! πŸ˜€

            Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s so exciting. 14,000 words is a huge accomplishment, even if you don’t like half of it. I always write and then change everything later. The important part is that you wrote something. πŸ€— Plotting is by far one of the hardest parts of writing. I use a plot board after I’ve sketched the book out on paper first. This way I can see what works and doesn’t work. It took me a long time to really get into a groove.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I feel so happy that after such a long writer’s block I managed to write so much! 😊
      Yes, but I honestly love plotting more than actual writing. πŸ˜‚ And developing characters is my favourite part! World-building is also a lot of fun, especially because I usually have fantasy-ish ideas. πŸ˜ƒ
      Hmm, what exactly do you mean by plot board?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Writers block is the worst. Plot boards always help when I’m stuck. I love plotting but it’s even more fun when I know my whole story. A plot board is a corkboard and I tack colored index cards to the board to plot out each chapter and what characters are in each scene. I also do this when I’m having issues with a particular scene. When I was stuck on an ending for both of my completed novels, the plot board helped me figure out what I wanted to do. My first novel is YA fantasy. I agree. World building is so much fun. My book is part magical realism and the other part fantasy. It took me months to organize the ideas, and the story I originally wrote is not even close to what I have now. It’s so much fun though.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah, it’s a lot of fun. I put all the cards on the board and stand in front of them like RDJ in Ironman. Lol. I always think of that one scene every time I do that. That’s also a good idea. When I first started writing, I kept a binder with folders and pockets and printed each chapter out. I was so afraid I’d lose my work, which actually happened one time. πŸ˜‚

            Liked by 1 person

  4. What wonderful news! I wish you all the best of luck and inspiration πŸ™‚ I think the best ideas come from being dormant for a while. That why they are able to blossom and mature into something amazing. I’m so happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s awesome! Great to know that you’ve started to write, especially after our conversation (does a short comment thread count as conversation?) almost a week ago, haha. I tend to ignore sentences and the like until after I finish the novel, otherwise I get caught in a trap of an inescapable loop of editing. That’s one of the largest problem I faced. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m just so excited that I actually wrote haha. After so many years it almost feels like a miracle. πŸ˜‚
      Thank you for sharing! I just can’t ignore sentences that sound terrible, it’s impossible. I always rewrite stuff I don’t like when I’m finished with a chapter. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This must be the best feeling in the world!
    I don’t consider myself a writer by any means, but I’ve had so many story ideas throughout my life and I always write a couple of pages and then abandon them. Just yesterday though I came up with an idea that I think could be really interesting if I actually stick with it and put some time into it. I really want to at least try to write this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It honestly is! And all the kind and encouraging comments I got are making it even better! 😊
      Oh I hope you do write it, there really is nothing quite like seeing an idea of yours come to life, even if it’s just in a writing programme on your computer. πŸ˜› That’s what I missed the most all these years, seeing my own world and characters actually do the things I thought about!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s so great that you’ve started writing again! I’ve fallen out of the habit, but recently I’ve been desperate to get back into it again, I miss it.
    It’s so amazing that you wrote 14,000 words in such a short space of time! I find that I do most of my writing during NaNoWriMo and I love immersing myself in writing for such an extended period of time. I find that I write quite impulsively more often than not, and then go back and plot things out once I’ve got a better handle on what it is I want to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, I think NaNoWriMo always happens in the wrong time of the year for me. I don’t think I’ve ever been inspired in November. πŸ˜‚
      I tend to get more into writing in the summer for some reason, which explains why I suddenly wrote so much!
      I hope you find some time and inspiration to write, now that I’m doing it again I honestly can’t recommend it highly enough – there’s nothing quite like making a story come to life. πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This is such great news! I’m so excited for you! This happens to me too. I can do days/weeks without writing, and start binge-writing. It definitely shows when you don’t write for a long time, so I try to write every day. I’d say planning is most important (especially if you don’t want to stop writing half way). πŸ™‚ Keep writing, and edit later.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I am so happy for you!

    I am also in the same boat. I haven’t written anything for years (due to university), but I sat down earlier in the week and managed to write 11,500 words. It was a wonderful experience and made me realise how much I really missed writing. I love being able to create worlds and develop characters, and I have realised that I’ve really missed doing that. This story isn’t very serious, I have an idea that I’ve been wanting to write for a while, but I wanted to write something in the meantime. And I’m loving it.

    I wish you all the best with your writing, definitely keep us updated. I’m planning on writing a few blog posts about my writing as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I really appreciate the kind words! πŸ’•
      I know, I’ve been seeing your tweets about writing – I actually think that might have played a part in why I started, believe it or not. πŸ˜€ I know exactly what you mean, I really missed writing as well.
      I love blog posts about writing, so I’m looking forward to them! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

