5 Reasons Why

The Name of the Wind: 5 reasons why you should read it

I didn’t do my ‘5 reasons why’ post last week, so now I feel like I don’t even know how this works anymore.

Today I wanna share 5 reasons why you should read the amazing high-fantasy novel The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, which is the first book in the Kingkiller series, followed by The Wise Man’s Fear.

name-of-the-wind.jpg

 

1. The world-building is fantastic. The most difficult part about building a fantasy world is spreading out the information nicely; you can’tΒ say too much or too little, you have to make it just right. And Rothfuss is incredibly talented when it comes to that. He introduces us to an interesting world very slowly, with just enough information to keep us interested, and then we jump into it a bit more, learning about a ‘magic’ university, about the way people live in the city and in smaller towns, about different cultures – there is so much to the universe he has created, and I never felt overwhelmed with information while reading the book.

 

2. The writing is mind-blowing. Seriously, this man is a writing god. His books are somehow funny yet beautiful, which is hard to achieve. Usually funny dialogue requires less poetic writing, but he somehow blends the two masterfully, and the result is a stunning reading experience. The prologue alone is so atmospheric, giving the reader a wonderful feeling of the setting.

 

3. The main character is the best. Kvothe is a genius, he’s smart and talented and funny, but he’s also very kind, and I love all of that. Some people might say that he’s too perfect, but I think he’s definitely flawed as well. I get annoyed easily when characters make stupid decisions all the time, so having a main character who knows what he’s doing and thinks before he acts, getting himself out of tricky situations, is refreshing.

 

4. It’s quite unique for a fantasy novel. High fantasy tends to follow a very typical pattern: something dramatic happens and theΒ hero has to go on a journey to solve the problem, meeting friends along the way. Then there’s an epic final battle. I’m not saying this a bad premise, if you bring in some original ideas it can definitely work – but there’s something wonderful about a fantasy novel that breaks the rules. Instead of following the typical structure, this book reads more like a biography of the main character. He tells us his story, starting from his childhood as a traveling performer, and then we spend years at the university, learning about magic and following his daily life. Nothing truly dramatic happens, there’s no Huge Problemβ„’, and I was surprised to find that I really enjoyed that.

 

5. It sets a wonderful example for writers. If you want to write fantasy, there’s a lot you can learn from Rothfuss’s books. The world-building and character development, the writing, the premise … obviously, I’m not saying you should copy what he’s done, but if you’re looking for inspiration, for someone you can look up to, I think this man is the right choice.

 

And those are my 5 main reasons why you should definitely pick up The Name of the Wind! If you guys have already read it, I would love to know if you agree or disagree with anything I’ve said.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

31 thoughts on “The Name of the Wind: 5 reasons why you should read it

  1. I’ve had The Name of the Wind on my to-read list for a while now but I still haven’t gotten around to it, I think I’m a little intimidated by the amount of pages I’d have to read, but the fact that the world-building is fantastic is a major draw for me. Maybe I’ll have to get started on this book soon! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This has been on my TBR pile forever. I haven’t even purchased a copy yet but someone recommended it to me back in college. It’s something that I really do want to read (or listen to) after I clear one or more shelves.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Omg, OK OK OK!
    I have been wanting to read this book for ages, but I can’t seem to find the time to read it. πŸ˜₯
    It’s been especially difficult since I started blogging. Most of my reading time is devoted to reading for my blog, which means I don’t read a lot of books by white authors anymore. Usually it’s one a month, which is a good balance, I think, since I can barely read like 5-7 books a month lol.
    Anyway, I do want to read The Name of the Wind this year, and I will make my most earnest effort because high fantasy is my absolute favorite thing in the world and I must read this.
    Thanks for reminding me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it shows dedication that you read for your blog and push back books that don’t fit, but I think if there’s a book you really wanna read you should make time for it. Don’t stress yourself too much. πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

  4. The Name of the Wind is fantastic! I still haven’t read the Wise Man’s Fear yet, just to put a barrier between me and the unreleased third book. There’s a lot to learn from Rothfuss as a writer, but one thing I would recommend not picking up from him is the time he takes to write books. Though I’ve heard that he’s quite a meticulous writer, working over every single sentence to find the best words and I think it does show in his writing, but I need Doors of Stone already. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankfully I’m really good at waiting for unreleased books haha, I’m quite patient. πŸ˜€
      Honestly I think it’s good that he takes so much time. He’s constantly working on his books when he’s not publishing, and I think it definitely shows. I’d rather wait 4 years for a fantastic book than 1 year for an average one. πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

