Miscellaneous

I’m going to Germany! | Summer TBR

I’m flying to Germany, which is exciting – I’ve been waiting for this vacation for months. Unfortunately, this means that my blog is going to be a mess. I don’t know how much or when I’m going to be able to blog. I’m going to Germany to visit my friends, so I wanna spend time with them, not hide in a room and blog all day.

My Queer Movie Friday series will definitely be interrupted, because I have no way of watching all the movies I wanna review when I’m in Germany.

Now, I’m taking a bunch of books with me, which makes my luggage quite heavy but I’m sure will be worth it. I’ve been in a massive reading slump for a little over a week, haven’t read a single word, and I hope I’ll be able to rectify that during the summer.

So here are the books I’m taking with me!

 

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Kite_runner.jpg

This has been on my TBR forever. I think almost a year. I’m not usually this lazy with the books I own, but this kind of intimidates me. I hope to get around to it fairly soon though!

It’s set in Afghanistan in the 1970s and is supposedly about friendship and family.

 

The Night Watch by Sarah Waters

night_watch_318x500.jpg

I’m really looking forward to this one! Lesbian fiction set during World War II? Sign me up.

 

The Little Old Lady who Broke all the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg

19135360.jpg

This book has some very mixed reviews, but it sounds like a lot of fun. It’s about a group of elders who break out of their retirement home and cause all sorts of trouble. I hope I’ll love this, because I’m seriously scared it’s gonna let me down.

 

The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue

1503626.jpg

More lesbian fiction! This time set during a trial based on a real scandal that happened in England in 1864. The synopsis says “courtroom accusations of adultery, counter-accusations of cruelty and attempted rape, and the appearance of a mysterious ‘sealed letter’ that could destroy more than one life …” Hell yeah!

 

Oranges are not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson

5149lW5U2QL.jpg

I’m taking a bit of a risk with this one. I read Weight by the same author last year and didn’t like it, but I really wanna give this book a shot, because it sounds so interesting. It’s a fictionalised version of the author’s life I believe, and it’s all about how the main character grows up in an extremely religious environment and then discovers she’s gay. SO MORE LESBIANS WOOO. What a summer amirite? Also, look at that cover! So weird.

 

Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

11125.jpg

No summer is a real summer without a trashy thriller. So of course I had to bring some Dan Brown along! His stories are usually extremely interesting and very well researched, but his characters are SO BAD. Seriously, he writes the worst, most forgettable people.

I don’t even know what this book is about. His novels are all about some kind of weird object that is discovered and unravels a mystery. Cue action scenes, running away from the authorities and dangerous deadlines! You’ve got a Dan Brown novel. I’m sure I’ll be in the mood for something quick and easy soon, and this will be just perfect.

 

White Teeth by Zadie Smith

3711.jpg

I am SO excited about this one. It’s about two North London families, the two fathers best friends, and their lives apparently completely different. One man is an ordinary working-class guy called Archie, while the other is a Muslim butcher shop owner called Samad, and their families sound extremely interesting; Samad’s children are described as one a pot-smoking punk-cum-militant Muslim and the other an insufferable science nerd. If that isn’t a promising description I don’t know what is.

 

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

american-gods-book-cover-image.jpg

This has such a weird premise. I mostly picked it up because I had heard so many amazing things, I didn’t even know what it was about, and honestly I’m still not quite sure. Apparently a guy gets out of prison and meets a strange man who offers him a job as his driver, bodyguard and errand boy, and this leads to a road trip and lots of mysterious stuff happening. And there’s also a mythological war going on? I don’t even know.

 

Those are all the books I’m taking to Germany! I don’t know how many I will actually get around to, because as I said, I mostly want to spend time with my friends.

What are you guys reading this summer? Do you like any of these books? I’d love to know.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

28 thoughts on “I’m going to Germany! | Summer TBR

  1. I hope you have an amazing time in Germany, Izzi!!! I’ll miss your posts ♥

    Super interesting TBR! I have American Gods too but I don’t know when I’ll be reading it, haha. I mostly picked it up because I heard it was being made into a TV show. I know Neil Gaiman is really well-loved though so hopefully it’ll be good! The Sealed Letter sounds really interesting too, I’ll definitely be adding that to my TBR. The Little Old lady seems like it could be hilarious if it’s done right. Hope you enjoy all of these!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t worry about blogging and just go out and enjoy yourself! We’ll still be here when you come back. Haha.

    Digital Fortress is definitely Dan Brown’s signature plot to a T, but that doesn’t make it any less thrilling. I actually tried reading American Gods once, but it didn’t really sink its hook into me and had a fairly slow start. But I’ll definitely be trying it again though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that’s my plan. 😊
      Hahaha that’s good to know! I think it would be interesting to see him write something different tho. 😛
      Hmmm yeah a lot of people don’t like Neil Gaiman that much. I think he’s a love-or-hate kind of writer. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Inferno veers off the path slightly. SLIGHTLY. But it wasn’t as well received, I think.
        Hmmm… I didn’t know a lot of people don’t like Gaiman, I thought he was universally loved. Haha. Good Omens was pretty good. So I’ll give American Gods another shot.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Have so much fun in Germany! I hope you have safe travels, and a wonderful stay. What a great selection, though I must admit I’ve only read The Kite Runner. Please read!! You won’t regret it. What a beautiful and well written book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hope you have an amazing time in Germany!! 🙂
    This is such a great TBR! The Sealed Letter sounds really interesting, I’ve been wanting to read more Emma Donoghue since reading Room. I’ve only read The Passion by Jeanette Winterson and I really couldn’t get into it, but it was assigned reading for school so I’m hoping that’s why? I really want to try something else by her. It’s been years since I read American Gods but I loved it when I read it. I’ve been following the casting and stuff for the TV show and it looks so good so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you have a great time in Germany! I’ll really miss your posts though!
    I hope you like The Kite Runner as much as I did 🙂 Great TBR! I started White Teeth like 2 years ago but somehow didn’t manage to finish it. I can’t remember why.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hope you have an amazing time in Germany!
    I haven’t read any of the books you’re taking with you, so excited to see what you think. Especially about The Kite Runner which I would like to read one day. I plan on trying to tackle my TBR this summer, so Lady Midnight, ACOTAR, Throne of Glass etc IM COMING FOR YOU! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yay have a wonderful time over here!! 🙂 Sorry our summer sucks and it’s raining all the time. But you have some amazing books to read, I adore The Night Watch, my fave Waters, and Winterson is always so good. Happy vacation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Have an awesome time! And what great list of books. I”m glad you’re finally going to read the Kite Runner and let me know how American Gods is. I’ve had my eye on that for a little while. Haven’t read any Gaiman in over a year! D:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

