Miscellaneous

I’m back! | Summer, university and some other updates

I started going through some of my “old” posts the other day and realised that I really miss you guys!

If you’re new here, my blog went on hiatus a while ago because I was going to Germany for the summer and wanted to focus on spending time with my friends. I’m still in Germany, but I’m currently staying at my dad’s, and he works all day, so I have a lot of spare time.

There’s been a lot of fun university-stuff going on around me; I’m finally moving to England this autumn to start my English Literature course, and I’ve been getting lots of e-mails from my university about accommodation and stuff. I was really nervous last month because I had applied for a room in halls and knew I would get either my number-one choice or a different room entirely; it was finally confirmed a while back (I got the room I wanted!), and I did the whole registration process while at the airport, waiting for my flight, which was strangely fun.

Another exciting uni-related thing that happened is that I found this lovely blog. It’s written by a girl called Anne-Sophie, who (you might want to sit down for this) goes to my university, studies my course and is also an EU student. THAT’S SO WILD. She’s really kind and talks about all sorts of helpful uni things. I found so much interesting information on her blog and got so excited I left her way too many comments. If you’re interested in the University of East Anglia in particular, I would highly recommend checking out her blog!

Now, I have a confession to make: this summer I haven’t done anything productive. I literally haven’t read a single word in, like, over a month, which I think is hilarious considering I’m starting my English Literature course this year. I spent the first two weeks of July with my friends in northern Germany, and I had a blast; we all have a licence now and two of my friends have a car, so we drove around a lot and visisted some really fun places and events. Of course, we also spent a lot of time doing absolutely nothing, which I think is part of every good friendship. I discovered that I love crocheting, which probably sounds ridiculous, and also that I love playing FIFA, which is pretty much the complete opposite. I’m not a football/soccer fan at all, so I thought I would be really bored by it, but it’s actually a lot of fun – and it turns out I’m pretty damn good at it too!

I’ve got some really fun posts coming up for you guys these next few weeks, lots of tags I need to catch up on and some stuff about my writing progress. There are lots of planned posts from before I went away, and also new things I came up with while on vacation. So I hope you’re looking forward to that!

I’ve also been thinking about doing a university guide specifically for EU students, like a series of posts full of advice and things to keep in mind. As a Spanish student, a lot of the things I had to do to apply to university in England were very confusing, and it was quite hard to find the kind of specific information I was looking for, so I think it might be helpful for future students. I don’t expect you guys to be interested in that, as most of you are already studying, have finished university or simply aren’t from the EU, but I really want to give it a try anyway. Of course, I haven’t started my course yet, so there are a lot of things I don’t know, but I think it would be interesting to just talk about the application process for the time being and maybe update the series in the future, once I actually start studying.

 

I really hope I’ll get the motivation to start reading again soon, especially since I have so many amazing books here with me and want to be able to review something again! What about you guys? What have you been up to this summer? What are your plans for the rest of the year? I’d love to catch up.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

25 thoughts on “I’m back! | Summer, university and some other updates

  1. yay your back! Hope your having an amazing time in Germany, its also sort of good that you haven’t read in a month because once you start your English Literature Course or if you start any reading for that in advance then you will be going in with a fresh mind again. Less chances of those dreaded reading slumps 😉

    Congratulations also on getting the accommodation you wanted!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a lot for sharing my blog, it means a lot! Btw, if you like crocheting there’s a knitting society at UEA 😛 Finally, I haven’t said yet but congratulations on getting an offer from UEA!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back, Izzi! Hope you’re enjoying Germany, and that you’ll love England when you move there.

    Anddd I actually studied at UEA too for a bit as an exhange student! I hope you’ll enjoy it — the campus was HUGE, and I loved their library. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am definitely enjoying myself, and I’m really looking forward to uni! 😃
      Oh my God, that’s so cool! I visited the campus with my dad in February and loved it! Did you enjoy your time there? x

      Like

  4. YAYYYY!!! I’m so happy your back ♥♥♥

    Sometimes doing nothing is the best 😂 and it sounds like you’ll have some busy months ahead with uni so it’s probably good to just have some time being really unproductive haha.

    I’ve said this before, but it’s so cool that you’ll be studying in London. I’m suuper jealous. I hope everything goes smoothly for you and I can’t wait to hear about all the new adventures that you’ll end up having!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, this is probably my last chance to be really lazy. 😂
      I’m not studying in London haha, my university is in the east of England. 😂😂😂 But I’m glad you’re so excited about it, I sure am!!

      Like

  5. Hi! This is so weird I follow your blog and I am an English Literature student at Uni of East Anglia as well! Are you about to start your first year? It really is amazing here, I enjoy the course and uni lots!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

