Lists and favourites

Monthly favourites | July 2016

If you’ve read my last post, you know that I didn’t read anything this entire month – I am one hell of an example for all prospective literature students. I do have other favourites to share though, mainly lots of music and some TV shows, so let’s get started!

 

TV shows

Between (season 2)

netflix-original-between

Between isn’t the most popular show in the world; it’s really not well-known at all, despite being on Netflix. I absolutely love it however, and when I found out season 2 had been uploaded I got really excited and watched it all in one night.

The show follows a small town where suddenly all people over 21 start dying, and in the end only teenagers and children are left, trying to survive and find out what the hell is going on. It’s really intense and the acting is amazing. There are lots of characters who do terrible things and are morally ambiguous, which are my favourite kind. Also EVERYONE IS REALLY HOT.

 

Orange is the new Black (season 4)

Orange-Is-the-New-Black.png

I know, I’m late to the party. Everyone has watched this and is already over it. Personally, I really like the show, but I’m not as obsessed as everyone else, so I didn’t feel compelled to watch it the day it was uploaded. I have to say though, I was positively surprised – I liked this season much better than the first three; I really, really loved it. Piper finally showed some (good) character development, and of course the ending was heart-breaking.

 

Skins

Skins-2.jpg

This month I didn’t just watch new seasons of shows I already liked, but also started an entirely new series: Skins. This is a British show that follows teenagers in sixth form as they struggle with every-day-life problems and try to handle growing up.

Now, my issue with this show is that they change the characters every two seasons. So basically, seasons 1 and 2 follow a group of teens, then seasons 3 and 4 another group, and so on. I LOVED the first group. Seasons 1 and 2 are absolutely wonderful, with some of the characters becoming new all-time favourites of mine.

The main character, Tony, is an absolute douche bag who is insanely good-looking (I was in love with Nicholas Hoult long before watching the show, that guy is incredible), and while he is not very likable, I have a thing for handsome assholes, those always being my favourite characters. My other two favourites from the group are Maxxie, a really sweet gay guy who loves dancing and is just a puppy who could never hurt anyone, and Chris, a party-addict who starts out as kind of an unlikable junkie but ends up being just really endearing and lovely.

Now, I would usually not even watch a show with such a boring premise, but there is this gif that I saw on Tumblr for years and that always made me think I NEED TO WATCH THIS SHOW.

Tumblr_lzoj8qJvOw1rq25m5o1_500.gif

Yep, that one. Call me gay trash.

Seasons 3 and 4 were a bit disappointing but still enjoyable. I kept missing the old characters though, so it was difficult to grow fond of the new generation. The ending of season 4 was also terrible. I watched the first episode of season 5 but thought it was really boring and too over-the-top, so I’m taking a break from the show – I’ll watch the other seasons some other time.

 

Podcasts

WX-WordpressBanner-WDTrophy2016.jpg

I started listening to the Writing Excuses podcast a while ago and I’m really liking it so far. It’s all about writing, and was created by Brandon Sanderson, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Dan Wells. There are A LOT of episodes, so it takes time to listen to all of it, and I’m not even half-way through, but it’s really interesting, entertaining and informative. Definitely recommended for writers.

 

Videos

This is not really a new favourite of mine, but I’ve never mentioned it before, so I thought I might as well do that now. If you’re German, or at least speak the language, you may know the Youtuber Coldmirror. She’s a comedian who makes the trashiest, most hilarious videos. Her sense of humour is really, really stupid I’ve been watching her videos since I was about 12.

5minutenharry.jpg

She started a new video series a while ago called 5 Minuten Harry Podcast, and it’s beyond amazing. She basically divides the first Harry Potter movie into five-minute long parts and analyses each part in a separate video. Half an hour talking about the silliest details of FIVE MINUTES of a movie. It’s an insane idea, really, but it’s very entertaining. If you understand German and love Harry Potter, you absolutely have to check it out.

 

Music

I don’t know why, but I bought a lot of physical albums in Germany. It’s like I’m back in 2012 or something. The albums are all fantastic though.

Light Me Up by The Pretty Reckless

The_Pretty_Reckless_-_Light_Me_Up.png

The Pretty Reckless is one of my absolute favourite bands, and this is an amazing album. I already knew all of the songs, but I just really wanted to own it. My favourites are Make Me Wanna Die, My Medicine and Just Tonight.

 

Sempiternal, That’s the Spirit and There Is a Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is a Heaven, Let’s Keep It a Secret by Bring Me the Horizon

Can you tell I love this band? I bought three of their albums in one month. Not at the same time, but still. They were all very cheap and I love them, so whatever I guess. Sempiternal used to be my favourite album, I thought nothing could top it, but I think That’s the Spirit is my favourite now. It’s absolutely fantastic. My favourite songs from Sempiternal are Sleepwalking and Hospital for Souls, from That’s the Spirit they’re Doomed, Happy Song, Blasphemy and Drown (actually pretty much everything), and from the last one with the ridiculously long title my favourites are It Never Ends and Don’t Go.

 

The Poison, Scream Aim Fire and Fever by Bullet for my Valentine

Before you say anything, I didn’t buy these three separately, they came in a set of three for a really, really good price. If three albums by a great band cost like one, why not, right? I haven’t properly listened to Fever yet, but The Poison and Scream Aim Fire have some amazing songs. My favourites from The Poison are Tears Don’t Fall and All These Things I Hate, while my favourites from Scream Aim Fire are Scream Aim Fire (ha) and Waking The Demon.

 

The Black by Asking Alexandria

asking-alexandria-the-black-recensione.jpg

This has been a favourite band of mine for a very long time, and they recently changed their singer. Danny Worsnop left the band to do some other musical stuff, and the new guy, Denis Stoff, is both cute and talented. I absolutely love the song The Black, and while I didn’t know anything else on the album I really wanted to have it (partly because it looks stunning). Turns out it’s a really good album all around!

 

Four by One Direction

One_Direction_-_Four.png

I love One Direction and there’s nothing you can do about it. I already bought their newest album, Made in the A.M., this winter, and Four is my second favourite, so I just had to have it. FIGHT ME. My favourites are Night Changes, Spaces, 18, Girl Almighty and Fool’s Gold.

 

The Best of Papa Roach: To Be Loved by Papa Roach

To_Be_Loved_the_Best_of_Papa_Roach.jpg

Papa Roach is one of those bands whose songs range from amazing to really, really bad. This album also has a bit of both, but my absolute favourite song by them, Last Resort, is on it, and it was only about 5€, so I thought whatever.

 

With Ears to See, and Eyes to Hear by Sleeping With Sirens

With_Ears_to_See_and_Eyes_to_Hear.jpg

THIS IS SUCH A GOOD ALBUM. I wanted it mainly because I really love the songs If I’m James Dean, You’re Audrey Hepburn and With Ears to See, and Eyes to Hear, but there are so many other great songs on it. I especially fell in love with Don’t Fall Asleep at the Helm, which is about sirens and how their songs can enchant you and pull you under-water. The lyrics are stunning and the music is so, so beautiful. I’m so glad I bought this album.

I think we all agree that I bought too much music this summer.

 

Video games

FIFA

screenshot-fifa-15-ultimate-team-app-game.jpg

I’m not a soccer fan at all, so I always assumed I would be bored to death by these games, but they’re actually so much fun! A good friend of mine is a big soccer fan and plays this all the time, and two other friends also like it, so when the four of us met up and they decided to play, I thought I’d give it a go as well. I guess it taught me to have an open mind about things, even if you’re pretty sure you’re not going to like them. (If you’re a fan of FIFA, I’m sorry, but I have no idea which edition we played. Probably 15 or 14.)

 

Minecraft

minecraft-listing-thumb-01-ps4-ps3-psv-us-15aug14.png

I know, I know, everyone is so over this. I used to play Minecraft on my computer a while back and then got bored, but this summer I discovered how much fun playing with friends can be! The same friend who loves FIFA also has Minecraft for the PS3, and we decided to start a new world together. IT WAS SO MUCH FUN. The screen gets a bit small when you have to share it, but otherwise it’s so much better than playing alone. Also, I think it’s much better on the console than on a computer.

 

Bloggers

I already talked about her in my last post, but her blog really made my day (and my whole month, really), so I just had to mention her again. Anne-Sophie is an English Literature student at the University of East Anglia, which is where I’ll be studying that same course soon. She’s from France, which makes her a fellow EU student. Her blog is entertaining and full of interesting uni advice. I feel kind of silly for shouting her out twice, but what can I do?

 

And we’re done! This post is ridiculously long, but I haven’t properly talked to you guys in a while, so I think a bit of over-sharing is necessary. Do you like any of the things mentioned above? What were your favourites this month? Let me know.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

12 thoughts on “Monthly favourites | July 2016

  1. I feel ya, this last month was a terrible reading month for me as well, but it seems as if you were busy with other things! I loveeee One Direction as well… Still not over their breakup for sure. Totally want to start watching Orange is the New Black soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha this is probably gonna sound super weird but I’m kind of happy they broke up. 😅 I’m mostly a Harry and Louis fan, I don’t like Liam and Niall that much, so I’m really looking forward to their solo stuff.
      I hope you do, it’s a great show! x

      Like

  2. I just tried Minecraft for the first time a few days ago. It was okay, but I don’t think it’s something I’ll play for long. My eyes are already hooked on RimWorld. FIFA is fun 🙂 I play it a lot, usually with a podcast like Writing Excuses playing in the background.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a top down view, sandbox game where a few colonists are stranded on a foreign planet and need to build a colony and survive what the planet throws at them. Basically gather resources, cook food, build base and defend.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m freaking out over all the music!! SOO GOOD 😍😍 Bring Me The Horizon is one of my all time favourite bands! Their Sempiternal album is my favourite. I also love AA’s new album and BMFV and Papa Roach are great too. I have a love/hate relationship with Sleeping With Sirens 😂 I love their first album, hated their third and then love their most recent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh yay! So happy you like so much of the same music. Then again, we’re both emo trash, so it’s not surprising. 😂
      That’s interesting! I know how much you love Pierce the Veil, and I feel like usually their fans love Sleeping with Sirens as well. I just looked up their third album and I don’t know a single song on there, so no idea if it’s any good. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

