Lists and favourites

Best books of 2016

2016 kind of happened in two parts: the first half I was reading so much I could hardly believe it, and the second half I barely read anything at all. But I still had a lot of favourites, so I thought I would share my best reads of the year! (These are not necessarily books that were released in 2016, just ones I happen to have read during the year.)

 

The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

I hadn’t read anything truly epic in a while, so these books shocked me with how amazing they were. The story follows Kvothe, a lonely and mysterious innkeeper in a small town who gets a visit from a historian by the name of Chronicler. Chronicler knows that Kvothe is famous, a legend, and that he is hiding for some reason, pretending to never have existed. He wants to write down the man’s story, and while Kvothe tells it we get to hear it in all its epic glory. If you love Skyrim and want a book series with that same feel and atmosphere, these are must-reads! (Full review of The Wise Man’s Fear can be found here.)

 

Room by Emma Donoghue

7937843

This book is emotional, beautiful, clever, and just all-around perfect. It’s about a woman who was kidnapped by an older guy and now lives in this small room with her son. The best thing is the narrator: the story is told from the son’s point of view, and he is a child who has never seen anything outside the room they are trapped in. It was gripping and incredibly fascinating, and while a lot of people get bored with the second half, I liked it even better than the first one.

 

Graffiti (and other poems) by Savannah Brown

28871313

This is the first book I reviewed on my blog, and that fact makes me very happy because it is still my favourite poetry collection. Savannah Brown is a famous (ish) Youtuber who talks about all kinds of interesting things, from writing to philosophy to just surviving your daily life. I started watching her videos when she had just started making them and had long, blonde hair – now her hair is short and black and she’s unapologetically herself. She sometimes reads her poetry on her channel, so I recommend checking out her videos. You can also read my full review of the collection here.

 

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

songachilles-pb-c

This is, hands down, my favourite read of the year. This book broke me. It’s a retelling of the Iliad, and in this version Patroclus is the narrator, and he and Achilles are explicitly lovers (whoooop gay retellings!). The writing is incredible, the story is beautiful and epic, the characters are wonderful and just. Read it. Seriously. Just read it. (You can check out my full review here for more feels.)

 

Hold your Own by Kate Tempest

41n7immud1l-_sx342_bo1204203200_

Another poetry collection, because I freaking love poetry. Kate Tempest is an amazing writer with a lot of opinions, and she also does rap music apparently? All I can say for sure is that this is a wonderful collection with a beautiful cover, and that everyone should read it. (Full review here.)

 

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen

12394068

I think this deserves especially high praise considering it’s the only non-fiction book on this list. It’s the memoir of a recovering drug addict who finds a cat sitting in front of his apartment, and it develops into the cutest friendship you will ever read about. James Bowen is an incredibly intelligent and caring guy, the way he talks about his life (and the cat) is heartwarming and sweet, and the book offers some surprisingly intense moments. If you’re looking for a light read that’s not too light, I would definitely recommend this. (My full review and more pictures of Bob can be found here.)

 

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

126381

This is not my favourite book by Adichie, but it still definitely deserves a place on this list. She’s an amazing writer, her characters come to live through her stories and her descriptions of Nigeria make you feel like you’re actually there. This book in particular follows Kambili, a teenager with an extremely religious family. (You can check out my full review here.)

 

Life as we knew it by Susan Beth Pfeffer

lifeasweknewit

This novel is a different take on the dystopian genre. Instead of the oppressive government and conspiracies, we get a natural disaster that leaves one family trying to survive by sticking together. It’s both heartbreaking and -warming and feels incredibly real, and it’s the last truly amazing book I read in 2016. (My full review can be found here.)

 

And those are my favourite reads of the year! On a completely unrelated note, you guys might have noticed that I completely redesigned my blog; it’s now truly Ravenclaw themed and I’m super excited about it! If you’re curious about any of the pictures and/or fonts I used, I put all the info on my about page, so feel free to have a look. I hope you guys like the new spacey aesthetic!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62lh871rvwcdj

 

19 thoughts on “Best books of 2016

  1. This is an awesome list. I just bought a copy of Room (finally!) and I’m super excited to read it because the movie blew me away. I’ve heard nothing but great things about the Name of the Wind, and it is also pretty high on my TBR list. I’ll have to check out those poetry collections and your reviews as well; I’ve never been much for poetry, but I am open for stepping out of my comfort zone, especially if the poems are that engaging. I hope 2017 has just as many great reads for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of these yet but a few of them are definitely on my TBR. I really want to read Room. It has such an interesting premise (plus I want to watch the movie, haha). I also really want to read at least one of Adichie’s books this year. I haven’t read anything by her yet, but I hear nothing but great things about her writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mean I obviously recommend all of them! 😝
      Adichie is one of my favourite authors, so I hope you love her books when you get around to them! I’d recommend starting with either Americanah or Half of a Yellow Sun, the latter being my favourite of hers! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I don’t usually read these types of books, but you’ve encouraged me to read some of these. I love the Illiad, so I have GOT to get my hand on the Song of Achilles. I’ve heard so many great things about it 😀 I’m glad you liked it! And I really want to read Room, even though I know it’s going to break me haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, you can order Graffiti from Savannah Brown’s store! That’s where I got my copy. The physical book is sold out, but you can still get the e-book for £4. 😊 It’s a bigcartel site, just type in ‘Savannah Brown store’, you should be able to find it. x

      Like

  4. Awesome list! I feel like I’ve seen The Song of Achilles practically everywhere as one of the best books of 2016 and I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet, haha. I’m glad to hear that it became one of your faves and I just hope that when I get to it, I enjoy it as much as you have. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a great list! I finally read The Name of the Wind this year and absolutely loved it, so I’m really hoping to read The Wise Man’s Fear soon. Room was also one of my favourites, and I really hope to read one of Adichie’s books this year, I can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to her books yet! Every time I see someone talking about The Song of Achilles I want to drop everything and reread it. I love that book so much haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

