Lists and favourites

Mini reviews: movies and shows

I kind of ignored the fact that I have a blog for the last few days, but today I thought I should finally get around to writing this. I mentioned in one of my posts that I discovered a lot of exciting things at uni, and I already published a post with my new favourite music, so today I’m going to finally share the movies and shows that I have watched recently!

 

movies

One of my flatmates and I started doing movie nights when we met, and then it kind of became a daily thing. We mostly watched shows and mini series, but we also did some movies, so here they are!

  • Clueless. We watched a lot of romantic comedies, and this one was particularly entertaining. It was much better than I expected, and definitely the kind of light movie we were looking for.
  • Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging. I didn’t like this one quite as much as Clueless (the characters were too annoying), but it was still a very fun movie to watch.
  • Labyrinth. Very different from the other two, but we wanted something a bit weird and this was a guaranteed success on the weird scale. Seeing David Bowie was a bit sad, but it was such an absurd movie that we were laughing through most of it. There’s also a very catchy song that he sings with a bunch of goblins, so that’s something. Would definitely recommend this one if you want to be a bit confused and see ancient special effects.
  • The Princess Bride. THIS!!! I loved this movie so much. Definitely my favourite one on this list. It’s fun and a bit silly (but not stupid!), the characters are interesting and likable, and the story is wonderful. I really want to read the book now as well!
  • A Knight’s Tale. This was also medieval-ish, like The Princess Bride, but I didn’t like it quite as much. It was very entertaining and had some really sweet moments though, so I still recommend watching it.
  • 10 Things I Hate About You. We watched this just a few days ago, so it’s still fresh in my mind, and I must say it really impressed me. I expected to dislike it for some reason, but I really enjoyed watching it (and Heath Ledger is such a babe in it!). It’s very funny and has nice character development as well. Definitely a rom-com I recommend!

 

shows

Like I mentioned above, my flatmate and I mostly watched shows and mini-series, so there’s quite a few on this list!

  • A Very Potter Musical. I think most people know about this, but if you don’t, GO WATCH IT RIGHT NOW. It’s the Harry Potter story told as a hilarious musical, and you can find it on YouTube (the quality isn’t great, but if you watch it with subtitles it’s fine). The musical makes fun of the world and the characters while still being absolutely lovely and showing how wonderful the books are. Malfoy and Voldemort are definitely my favourite characters in this, as well as Dumbledore, and Harry and Ron are human disasters. Basically it’s perfect!
  • Edgar Allan Poe’s Murder Mystery Dinner Party. This is a very short mini-series on Youtube starring some of the most famous literary figures, including (of course) Edgar Allan Poe. The premise is that Poe throws a dinner party for his literary friends and suddenly people start dying – the whole ‘and then there were none’ concept. It’s not absolutely mind-blowing, but it’s short and sweet, and probably very entertaining for people who know the authors and actually get all the references!
  • Stranger Things. Of course we watched Stranger Things in 2016 – I think everyone did. It’s so much more than I expected, and I love that it shows both the children and the parents as flawed but ultimately good people. It happens so often in shows and movies that parents are portrayed as villains, and I find that sad. So this was both wonderful character-wise, and just beautiful as a sci-fi story. I can’t wait for season two.
  • North & South. So this is where my flatmate and I started watching lots and lots of period dramas, and North & South is without a doubt my favourite one. The characters are incredibly likable and interesting, and considering how short it is I got way too invested! Mr. Thornton is also a very attractive man, and sometimes I still think about him and get sad that the show is over.
  • Pride and Prejudice (1995). This was such an amazing adaptation, and it made me love Jane Austen! I haven’t read any of her novels yet, but I definitely want to. The characters are great and very fun to follow, and the snarky comments make it even better. Definitely recommend!
  • The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. Oh my God, this is SO good. It’s a YouTube adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, set in our contemporary world, and basically we follow the characters in vlog-format. DOESN’T THAT SOUND AWESOME? It is, it’s amazing, and the work everyone involved put into that show is mind-blowing. It’s also kind of what started the genre of literary web-series, so yay!
  • Sense and Sensibility (2008). This was very short and not quite as entertaining as the Pride and Prejudice adaptation, but it was still very fun to watch. I also own the novel, so I might read that at some point this year (if my reading slump decides to ever end!).
  • 3%. This is something I watched on my own during my Christmas break, and I loved it so, so much. It’s the first Brazilian Netflix production, and it’s a dystopian story in the style of The Hunger Games. It’s set in a future world where most people are poor and a few privileged ones live on an island known as The Offshore; each year there is something called The Process, where the rich select some people from the poor side to join them. They are all tested, and only 3% make it through. It’s an incredibly intense and fascinating show, and the most interesting thing about it is that the characters are very flawed, and most of them lack the kindness we see in characters such as Katniss; they don’t want to defeat the evil government and make the world a better place, they just want a better life among the rich, everything else comes after that. I would 100% (see what I did there?) recommend it!

 

What are some movies and shows you guys discovered recently? Do you like any of the above mentioned? I’d love to know.

‘Till next time and happy watching!

tumblr_m94v62lh871rvwcdj

30 thoughts on “Mini reviews: movies and shows

  1. I love your mini-reviews Izzi, and some of these are amazing films/TV shows which are favourites of mine as well. The Princess Bride was a film I discovered while at university as well and I ended up re-watching it so many times; even now it’s still a favourite of mine. I have Stranger Things on my to-watch list, it sounds amazing, and oh I need to watch A Very Potter Musical as well. I can’t believe I haven’t seen it already! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YYYAAAASSSSS. SO many of my favorite things are on this list, lol. Clueless, Princess Bride, 10 Things, Knight’s Tale. ALSO I’m so glad you discovered Starkid and LBD and Shipwrecked! I watch more YouTube than TV, and these are my all-time favorites. You and your flatmate and I would get along so well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Isn’t Princess Bride the absolute best?! I freaking love that movie haha. Clueless is an awesome classic and a great interpretation of Emma. I’m SO happy you watched North and South. That movie is breathtaking! I didn’t think I’d like it so much. I kind of watched it on a whim, but it’s turned out to be one of my favorite period pieces, second only to the 1995 Pride and Prejudice 😀 I haven’t finished the Lizzie Bennet Diaries but I’m halfway through. I still need to be introduced to Darcy! Awesome list haha. I’ll have to rewatch a few of these 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been meaning to watch Clueless and the Princess Bride for so long. I’m glad you enjoyed them, it definitely made me want to watch them even more.

    I have watched Stranger Things and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and I LOVED both of them. Can’t wait for the next season of Stranger Things. Also, you made me want to watch 3%, I had never heard about it but it sounds amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I discovered North and South while I was at uni too! I had to read the book for a module on the Victorian novel, but I thought I could get out of reading the book my watching the mini-series. I ended up loving it so much that it actually motivated me to read the book hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Clueless and 10 Things I Hate About You are two of my favorite high school movies! And YES for Stranger Things, I LOVE that show 🙂 And I definitely need to check out A Very Potter Musical and the Lizzie Bennett Diaries!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

