Hauls

London book haul! (Gay’s the Word & Judd Books)

I’m finally back from London! The London Book Fair was amazing, and while I will definitely dedicate a whole post to what the event was like, I thought I would first share with you the books that I got in the big city! I only got one of these at the actual fair, because the LBF is mainly an industry event with workshops and panels for people who want to go into publishing or want to advance their publishing careers. But of course I couldn’t resist visiting some bookshops on my first ever trip to London – and this lovely haul is the result.

Print

IMG_20170316_172852So, before I get into talking about the books I got, here’s a bit of info on the two bookshops I visited. Gay’s the Word is a fairly well-known LGBT+ bookshop, and it was the place I wanted to see the most in London. They have lots of shiny new books across different genres, including stunning non-fiction hardbacks on gender studies, which I really wanted to pick up, but they also stock three whole second-hand shelves with really cheap books, and that is where I found my picks (because #broke). I wasn’t planning on going to Judd Books, I had never even heard of it, but it’s pretty much right next to Gay’s the Word, and it’s a second-hand bookshop, so I thought why the hell not. They mostly sell academic books on social studies, and they all look quite dense and boring, so I was put off at first, but then I spotted a huge section full of fiction books, and there were some really amazing finds!

 

Asking for It by Louise O’Neill

9781784293208

I’m so amazed that I actually found this, especially in a place like Judd Books. I mean, honestly, I was expecting books like Gone Girl and some tacky romance, the kind of books that magically end up in every single second-hand bookshop ever, but I was not expecting something that I’ve wanted to read for ages. If you don’t know what Asking for It is about, it’s YA fiction about a girl who gets raped at a party, and it deals with victim-blaming and all the consequences of that night. I read Only Every Yours back in 2015 and I loved it. I’m hoping to be just as impressed with how dark Louise O’Neill can get when I read this. The only thing that bothers me is that I wish I had found the copy with the nice blue cover – I feel like it looks less boring and more similar to my copy of Only Ever Yours, as silly as that might sound. (£4.50)

 

Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

Screen-Shot-2014-01-28-at-11.19.24-AM

This is another amazing find from Judd Books, and honestly I am so damn excited about it. I have lost count of the times I put this in my Book Depository basket and then removed it again because it was too expensive. And now I have it! It doesn’t even look second-hand, it looks and feels brand new. This is another YA novel, and this time it follows Max, who has been raised as the “perfect son”, and then discovers he is actually intersex. IT SOUNDS SO GOOD. (£3.95)

 

Fire from Heaven and The Persian Boy (Alexander the Great #1 and #2) by Mary Renault

I had the sudden urge to read more books like The Song of Achilles recently, so I started browsing other LGBT+ novels set in Ancient Greece. That’s how I came across Mary Renault – apparently she writes fantastic gay romance novels set during that time, which is exactly what I wanted. I have to confess now that I was a little bit dumb, because for some reason I knew about The Persian Boy before finding out about the author, I had just somehow heard of the book, but I never knew it was the second one in the series. So I was very lucky that I found Fire from Heaven as well, because I totally would have bought the second one on its own, and that would have been a whole new level of fail. In any case, I’m happy I found the first two books for such a cheap price, and I’m excited to read them! (Also the covers on my editions totally don’t match but they were cheap so ayyyy.) (£3.96 and £4.95)

 

Stay with Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀

This is the one book I got from the London Book Fair, and I am beyond excited about it. Ayọ̀bámi was interviewed right in front of me, and she signed books afterwards, so while it was an expensive hardback copy, I couldn’t resist buying it. Mine was actually the last one they had left, so I was quite lucky. A girl walked up to the LBF bookshop about a second after I did and asked for a copy of the book, so yeah, that was close! The main reason I wanted to have this is that I love Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s work, and I got very similar vibes from this. It’s set in Nigeria and deals with family life, and the way the author described it in the interview made it sound like a very raw depiction of flawed people, which is what made me think it might be similar to Chimamanda’s novels. Very, very excited! (£14.99)

 

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

LWTO-UK-2016-high-res

This is one of the books I found in Gay’s the Word, and I’m really glad I did, cause it’s been a while since there was some hype around it and I had completely forgotten about its existence. It’s set in 1959 Virginia, and it follows one of the first black girls in a previously all-white high school. On top of that, the main character also falls for a girl she works on a school project with, the daughter of a vocal opponent of school integration, and from what I can tell that girl likes her back. It sounds super good! (£3)

 

Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

18207188

I think everyone has heard about this book. It’s a YA novel that follows Emi, a young film maker who gets a mysterious letter from a movie world legend. The thing that most people love about this is that while Emi is gay, it’s not a big deal; this is not a coming-out story, her sexuality is just kind of a part of her and she doesn’t struggle with it. When I first saw this book around I was put off by the cover, because it looks like cheesy contemporary YA romance, but when I heard that it was LGBT+ themed and not a coming-out story for a change, I couldn’t help myself. I’m curious to see what I think! (£3)

 

The Last of the Wine by Mary Renault

51TXFWSS7XL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

What could be a better way to end this haul than with some more gay historical fiction … yes, I picked up another book by Mary Renault. Retrospectively, I feel a bit stupid, because if I don’t like Fire from Heaven I am not only stuck with the sequel but with another book by the same author. So I really hope I will love this! It’s again set in Ancient Greece, and this time we follow two young Athenians, Alexias and Lysis, who go through all sorts of fun adventures and probably do some gay shit in between. Hell yeah. I only wish the cover wasn’t so ugly, but one can’t have everything! (£3.50)

 

Print

So those are all the books I picked up in London! If you guys have read any of these I would love to know what you think – and if you haven’t, do you plan on picking them up at some point? Also, if you’ve ever visited Gay’s the Word or Judd Books (or both!), did you like it there? I feel like chatting in the comments today, so just tell me whatever, really.

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62lh871rvwcdj

 

22 thoughts on “London book haul! (Gay’s the Word & Judd Books)

  1. You went to the London Book Fair!! Luckyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! I kept seeing stuff about it and about different talks on Twitter and was so envious! I hope I can’t go in the future 🙂 It sounds amazing. And you good so many books that seem super cool. I really want to discover more LGBTQ+ (this acronym is getting incredibly long haha) literature in the future so I’ll keep this post in mind for future reference 🙂 And by discover “more” I mean discover full stop.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha aw, I’m sure you will get the opportunity to go in the future! 😃 Ohh I’m glad my post is your reference haha. I’m planning on posting something along the lines of “LGBT+ books I want to read” at some point, so maybe you’ll discover more through that! x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you know about it now! 😃 Yeah, I would like to go into publishing, and I thought the workshops there were quite useful and interesting! I will talk about it quite in-depth when I write the post about the event itself, but in short: yes, it was great! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oo I can’t wait to read that post! I went to a talk at my university about publishing last week and found it interesting, I would love to get into it as well but I’m a home bird so I don’t fancy moving to london. Definitely going to keep an eye out for your post ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great haul! I really hope you enjoy EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU – it’s such a cute, light read with a very interesting protagonist and a slow-burn romance that draws you in. I’ve really been looking forward to reading ASKING FOR IT – I hope you enjoy all these books. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh that’s so cool that you got a signed copy of Stay With Me!! I really hope you like it, I completely loved it!
    I actually picked up The Last of the Wine a while back because it gave me The Song of Achilles vibes, and I’ve been debating whether to pick up Fire from Heaven for the exact same reason haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I recently read Everything Leads To You and sadly I wasn’t super impressed. However there were a lot of really cool factors about this book. It’s story line was very interesting. The characters to me just fell short of their potential. I really hope you like it more than I did.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That is exactly why I bought it. I love that the main character, Emy’s, relationship seems so real. I really did enjoy the fact that Nina Lacour displayed a lesbian relationship with making it seem clichè which many authors make the mistake of doing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

