Miscellaneous

It’s my blogiversary!

It’s March 29, which means that my blog officially turns one! I can’t believe I’ve been doing this bookish blogging thing for a year. I usually give up on projects after, like, two weeks. So this is really impressive to me, and the fact that so many people have walked this road with me makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

Today I want to look back on what this blog started as and has become over time, and what I have achieved both blog-wise and in real life in the past year!

Print

The first thing I posted on March 29 last year was something called Welcome to my blog!, which was just my way of saying: hi, I’m here! It’s a bit cringe-y looking back now, but I was really happy with it at the time, so I’m still glad it exists. In that post I said that I was going to use gifs for everything, which I did for some time, but then I kind of stopped. I still use gifs a lot when I talk to friends and want to basically piss them off, but it just didn’tΒ feel natural on my blog after a while. I might go back to it at some point because I kind of miss it, but I mostly did it at the start because everyone else was doing it, and I don’t want to force it anymore. My second entry (which I posted on the same day because I didn’t have any followers so the risk of annoying people with too much content was non-existent) was an overview of my favourite books of 2015, which was the most stupid thing ever to post at the end of March. But what can I say? I wanted people to get a general idea of what I like to read. I’m quite happy to say that I still very much love all of those books!

Reading through old posts has made me realise how much my blogging style has changed. I used to write in a very funny, upbeat way, using lots of caps and stuff. Now I feel like my posts have become much more serious, and caps make my cringe a little. I feel a bit sad about this change, because I really like the way I wrote a year ago, it was much more engaging and just moreΒ fun. I also think my posts had a better flow. I mean, I just read through the second post I mentioned above, and it reads so damn smoothly. I’m actually jealous of the old me, can you believe that? The weirdest part is that I still write and talk like that everywhere else, because I’m usually the silliest person ever, I just can’t seem to do it here.

But enough negativity! Let’s talk about all the good stuff that has happened on and around my blog. I have a total of 446 followers at the moment, which is literally insane. You guys are always leaving lovely comments on my posts, and it honestly makes my day every time. I love replying to them and starting conversations, so that kind of interaction is definitely my favourite part of being a blogger.

Something I’m very proud of is the aesthetic of my blog. It started out looking kind of crappy, then got a little bit better, and now I’m finally really happy with it. I love using Photoshop and creating graphics, featured images, etc. It’s a lot of fun, and I think it gives my blog a really unique touch. I wanted an aesthetic that matches the name, the content, and my personality at the same time, which was difficult, because I like a lot of different things and usually don’t take myself very seriously. But I think my current theme and style work really well!

I have published a total of 121 posts over the past year, which is mind-blowing to me, especially considering I went on a 3-month hiatus in August. That’s a lot of posts over a very short amount of time, and I’m hella proud of myself. For the sake of stats (and because I love numbers), here’s a break-down of the categories those posts falls into: 20 tags, 19 reviews, 19 miscellaneous posts, 12 lists and favourites, 10 posts in my 5 Reasons Why series, 8 awards, 7 Queer Movie Friday posts, 7 posts about uni life and events, 6 book hauls, 4 discussion posts, 4 reading wrap-ups, 3 currently reading posts, and 2 story time posts.

Now, I would like to explain those numbers a little bit, because my feelings towards a lot of categories have changed over time. I have the highest number of posts in the tag department because I used to participate in a lot of tags, but I don’t really do that anymore. I’ve just fallen out of love with tags. I don’t particularly like reading them, and I really hate writing them. Sometimes I get tagged in something that looks really fun and interesting, so I might do one every now and then, but with time the other categories will definitely catch up. Something I know for sure is that I will not participate in awards again, because I find them absolutely pointless. I don’t mind when other bloggers do them, if it makes you happy go ahead pal, but for me personally they are a waste of time. Every time I would post an award I had been tagged in I kept thinking that I was only doing it because I thought that ignoring someone’s tag would be rude. I learned after a while that my blog should be what I want it to be, and I should post what makes me happy. My favourite posts to write are reviews and reading wrap-ups, as well as posts for my Queer Movie Friday series. I also love writing about uni life and the events I go to, as well as lists and favourites. So those are the things I want to focus on. They’re not posts that get a lot of attention, tags tend to get way more love than reviews for instance, but I don’t want to write posts for views anymore. I did enough of that last year.

Okay, now that the more ~intense~ part is out of the way, I just want to talk about some real-life changes that have happened since I started my blog. First and foremost, I moved to England! In case you’re new here or just don’t know much about me, my parents are Italian, I was born in Germany, and I lived in Spain for 6 years. Moving to England had been my dream for ages, and when it finally happened I could hardly believe it. I’m now a student at the University of East Anglia, and I do English Literature (how surprising, I know). I absolutely love it! Norwich is the most wonderful city I’ve ever lived in, and my course is amazing. I have met incredible people and made some really good friends.

With my move to England also came some really exciting opportunities for me. I started writing for our student newspaper, Concrete, in January, and I have published a few articles for them so far and have some more coming up soon. Very exciting stuff! I also started volunteering in my university’s Archives – this consists of looking through some of the documents and writing for the Archives blog about things I find interesting. It’s been really fun and educational so far, so there’s that! On a less bookish level, I took up exercising again, and it’s been really rewarding. I’m part of the gymnastics club at my university, which is really fun and has lots of lovely people, and I also run around campus about once a week. I feel so much healthier and more energetic, so I definitely want to keep that new habit up!

Living in England has improved my life by a million, and I honestly never want to leave. Not only do I get to study something I love in my favourite language, I also get to go to so many exciting events. I went to the London Book Fair this month, which was amazing (post about that coming soon!), and my university puts up great events all year round. I also got to request my first physical arc and was approved for it, which I don’t think would have ever happened had I stayed in Spain. So I think my life has definitely changed for the better since I started this blog!

 

Print

Now I want to hear from you guys! Is there anything you would like to see more of on my blog? Anything in particular you would like me to talk about? I’m always open to suggestions and requests, so feel free to leave them in the comments below!

And because this is my blogiversary, I’m going to shamelessly plug my social media. You guys should totally follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin’, and add me on Goodreads as well!

Here’s to another amazing year of bookish blogging!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

Featured image: Freepik
40 thoughts on “It’s my blogiversary!

  1. Congratulations and happy blogiversary!!!! I’ve enjoyed following your blog so much! I totally know what you mean about looking back at old posts and seeing how your style has changed – I’m approaching my 4-year mark, and there are definitely posts and “eras” that I like better than current posts, and worse than current posts. I think that isn’t necessarily a bad thing – it’s natural as you go and develop, and it’s good that you are conscious and reflective of it! I also have gotten a bit tired of tag because I keep answering the same books for similar questions, lol! I only do ones that I really like (and thankfully I haven’t been tagged too much lately, so that’s good too, haha). Blogging how you want is always most important πŸ™‚ I also love reading your posts (and all bloggers’ posts, really) about what’s going on in their lives. It makes me feel like I know them better and is usually super interesting because their lives are so different from mine! I’d love to check out your Archive blog! Anywho, congrats once again, Izzi! Here’s to many more years!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhhh thank you so much for the long comment! ❀
      That makes sense! If I had been blogging for 4 years I would probably repeat myself a lot in tags. πŸ˜› And that’s good, you should definitely keep doing the tags you enjoy!
      Awww thank you! I’m always a bit torn whether I like reading about personal stuff or not. I think it depends a lot on the blogger! πŸ˜€ I’m gonna share my March favourites soon and probably include a link to the Archives blog, then you can read it! 😊 I really appreciate that you’re interested. ❀❀❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy blogiversary, I hope this means we’ll be seeing more of you on WordPress over the next year as well now you’ve reached this milestone! πŸ˜€
    You published a lot of posts as well considering the three-month hiatus, and I think either way if you enjoy what you post then keep posting it, even if it isn’t what gets you the most views and stats. Blogging is supposed to be something to enjoy isn’t it?
    I’m also really glad to hear you’re enjoying England so far. I discovered the London Book Fair too late to go myself and I’m a little disappointed, but there’s still YALC later, and either way I can’t wait for your post on it either. πŸ™‚
    Do you have anything exciting planned for your next year of blogging. Either way I’ll be looking out for your future posts, and again congratulations! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh thank you!! Everyone is so kind and it’s making me emotional. πŸ˜©πŸ˜‚
      Yes, I completely agree! I just love getting comments and interacting with people, so when I post something that doesn’t get any attention it makes me a bit sad. But I have learned to focus on my interests rather than what gets me the most views, and I’m improving that aspect of blogging every day! Or at least I’m trying haha.
      Ohhhh is YALC in England? I’ve heard of it and I know it’s YA-themed, but I’m not entirely sure what it is!
      Aw thank you! I have a huge series of posts planned but they’re uni-themed and not really bookish, so it’s probably not very interesting for most of my followers. Oh well. πŸ˜”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. πŸ™‚ Well it’s a big milestone, I got emotional when I reached mine as well.
        I always say interaction is the main reason I started my blog but the main reason I’m continuing posting after all this time is because I enjoy what I post, so I guess that is the most important thing.
        Yep, it’s in London and it’s the last weekend in July. It’s YA themed but part of London Comic Con as well. If you can get a ticket I’d highly highly recommend going. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh, happy blogiversary!! I keep getting so excited to see some of the bloggers I’ve been following since I started blogging (or shortly after, like with your blog) celebrating a year. I know exactly what you mean re: not thinking you’d be blogging for this long! I also tend to get bored with things after a couple of weeks and I was worried that would happen with blogging. But I’m glad that we both have managed to stick around this long, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on your anniversary!! We started our blogs so close together πŸ˜› Love reading your posts, and am looking forward to many more!

    I totally know what you mean about falling out of love with tags. I do the odd one now and then for a chance of pace, but I don’t read them very much anymore and I only do some when I’m tagged. And I never tag anyone else in the ones I do.

    I’m a tad jealous of your move to England πŸ˜› My partner and I talk a lot about moving to England or Ireland one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy Blog Anniversary Lovely!
    So glad that you are so happy since moving to England and starting your degree. I can definitely sense your enjoyment from your posts. I myself stopped doing tags and awards too, I found like there was so many I just couldn’t keep up. Although when one really grabs my attention I think i will do it again πŸ™‚
    Here’s to another year of success for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Blogiversary! Here’s to many more years of amazing bookish blogging! πŸ™‚
    Looks like you had a great year, especially the moving to England sounds amazing and I may be a little jealous of your studying there because it sounds absolutely wonderful πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ahhh, Happy Blogiversary Izzi πŸ’•πŸ’• I think we’ve been following each other forever and it’s been so great seeing your blog grow. I remember when you were talking about wanting to go to England and now you’re ACTUALLY THERE which is suuuuuuper exciting. I’m so excited to see even more content from you πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lauren ❀❀❀
      I know right! You and a few other people are a little bit like my blogging family. We’ve been mutuals for so long and I love it! 😊
      And yessss I sometimes still can’t believe I’m in England!!! Like what the hell how did that happen πŸ˜‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

