Lists and favourites

Monthly favourites | March 2017

It’s almost midnight over here, which is a ridiculous time to be blogging, but I really wanted to get this done today. I bought Dragon Age: Inquisition for the PS3 yesterday, and I am officially obsessed, so that has been taking up all of my time. Hence, no blogging has happened! But today I am bringing to you my favourite things I discovered in March, so let’s get straight into it.

 

Books

Because I only got out of my reading slump very recently and I’m a full-time university student, I only read 4 books this month. Fortunately, two of them were fantastic and made it into my favourites!

  • Asking for It by Louise O’Neill is about Emma, who gets sexually assaulted at a party and then has to deal with victim-blaming and blaming herself. It’s a very honest book that gets quite dark at times, and I think Louise handled the topic incredibly well. I will have a full review of this up soon!
  • Kumkum Malhotra by Preti Taneja is a very short novella set in India. It follows Kumkum, a woman whose life changes drastically after an accident in her home. Preti’s writing is stunning, intense, and grotesque, and I would 100% recommend it if you’re looking for diverse literary fiction. Full review here.

 

Movies

605963

The only movie I watched this month is Kingsman, but boy was it good! If you’re not British you might not have heard of it (I definitely hadn’t), but it’s literally the most amazing action/spy movie I’ve ever seen. I usually don’t like those kinds of movies, because they tend to be all about action scenes, special effects, and explosions (so many explosions), but this one is really well-done all around. It has great characters, hilarious dialogue (seriously, it’s so damn funny), and a moving story. I’m just so ????? How can an action movie do this to me, it’s not fair!

 

Shows

I’m in the middle of a few shows on Netflix right now, but I don’t want to talk about them until I’ve actually reached the end, so instead I will mention two really good shows I finished this month!

  • Under the Dome is a sci-fi thriller based on a novel by Stephen King, and it’s everything I never knew I wanted. It has over-dramatic dialogue, unnecessary conflict, trashy aliens, cringe-y everything, and lots and lots of hot people. I kind of consider it my new guilty pleasure show, and I absolutely love guilty pleasures. The main characters are oddly likable in their trashiness, and I really wish it hadn’t been cancelled after the third season, because I want to see more of Mike Vogel’s conventionally beautiful face.
  • Downton Abbey is a show I probably don’t need to introduce, but in case you don’t know what it’s all about, it basically follows a family of upper-class people in England from 1912 to 1925, as well as the lives of their servants. It sounds dull, but it’s absolutely amazing! The characters are really well-written, and even the ones that don’t seem likable at first will eventually have a place in your heart.

 

Music

I haven’t really been into music this month, but there are a few songs that I’ve discovered that I like a lot.

  • It Ain’t Me by Kygo and Selena Gomez. Ahhh, I love this so much! I used to listen to mostly post-hardcore and punk-y music, Escape the Fate and stuff like that, but I’ve just become mainstream pop trash now. Sorrynotsorry.
  • Love by Lana Del Rey. I really like how pure the lyrics are. She sings about getting ‘all dressed up’ to go nowhere special, and I love that. I don’t know, something about this song makes me feel kind of nostalgic.
  • Something Just Like This by The Chainsmokers and Coldplay. The Chainsmokers are pretty much my favourite band right now, and a part of me is a little ashamed because they’re so basic and I like being special. But if we ignore my need to be extra, this is a really nice song.

Here is my whole March playlist if you want to see some other songs that I liked this month.

 

Games

Dragon_Age_Inquisition_wallpaper

As I mentioned in the intro to this post, I have been obsessed with Dragon Age: Inquisition for the past two days. I finished the main dragon quest in Skyrim recently and realised that most of the things I had left to do weren’t all that fun, so I started researching other fantasy RPGs. I decided to try DAI based on the amazing reviews it got, and I am so glad I bought it, because it definitely lives up to the hype. I will probably review it separately when I’ve played it more, but my thoughts so far are basically that while it’s a fantasy RPG, it’s not at all like Skyrim – it’s awesome, but in a different way. The gameplay is more like Assassin’s Creed, the world is not entirely open but has different locations you can travel to from a world map and explore separately (also like Assassin’s Creed), and the character you create in the beginning isn’t completely passive but actually speaks and appears in cut-scenes, unlike in Skyrim. I prefer the open-world style, but what I love about DAI is how fleshed out the other characters feel. I love this game so much that’s it’s actively distracted me from reading for two days. Oh well!

 

Blog posts

I’ve decided to start linking to my favourite blog posts that the people I follow have published each month, because I think it’s a really lovely way of getting more people to read great content. So here we go!

 

Writing

I’ve mentioned a few times before that I write for my university’s student newspaperConcrete, as well as for their Archives blog. So here are my favourite things I’ve written for them this month!

  • I reviewed the movie Little Sister, which I absolutely loved. It’s an independent movie about a goth-turned-nun who goes back home to her mentally ill mother after her brother returns from the war with a severe injury. You can check out my review here.
  • I talked about the restricted mode on YouTube and how it censors LGBT+ content, so if you’re interested in that, you can read my article here.
  • For the Archives blog I discussed a newspaper article from the 50s by Lord Pethick-Lawrence, the husband of a suffragette, and how he set an early example for male feminists. You can read it here.

 

Videos

I haven’t watched a lot of YouTube recently, because I’ve been too lazy to do even that, but one video I really loved and that inspired my article about the restricted mode on YouTube is the one on the same topic by Rowan Ellis.

 

Events

  • Publishing workshop. My university puts on lots of great career events for literature and humanities students, and I liked this one in particular because it was specifically about publishing.
  • BSL workshop. If you’re not aware, BSL stands for British Sign Language, and it’s something I’ve always wanted to learn. This little workshop was like a taster session, and it made me want to learn it even more. I’m considering doing a non-credit module to finally learn more than just the alphabet – if I end up doing that I will definitely post about it!
  • CV feedback session. Being a lazy 19-year-old, I have never had a job, and I decided a few weeks ago that I want to change that and finally get my shit together. So I chose I job I wanted to apply for, and visited my university’s career centre to get some CV feedback. The session was about 20 minutes long and super helpful, and I ended up going back for a second one. I didn’t get the job unfortunately, but my CV has never looked this good, and I feel so much better about going job-hunting!
  • UEA book fair. This was a tiny little book fair inside my university, and I ended up buying some lovely books and zines. I posted a haul from that event, so if you’re interested in what I bought you can check that out here.
  • London Book Fair. This is a really important event for the publishing industry, and I had so much to say that I wrote a whole post about it. You can read it here if you want (but if you’re too lazy I basically just really loved it).
  • UEA’s Got Talent. Yeah, you read that right. My university put on a talent show. With judges and everything. It was all to raise money for the Red Cross, and it was honestly a really great event. My uni has got some amazingly talented people!
  • Zine & print fair in Norwich. I’ve made it pretty obvious, but in case you still don’t know, I love indie publishers and I love short books. So what could be better than a zine and print fair! I picked up some really cool reads, which I will share in a haul soon, but in the meantime rest assured that they are all really awesome! And if you’re a bit confused about what exactly a zine and print fair is, it’s like a book fair, but instead of selling novels and massive books, it’s usually for indie publishers who create short stories, poetry collections, comics, and stuff like that. I loooove zine fairs.

 

Places

  • Gay’s the Word is my new favourite bookshop. It’s in London and it sells exclusively books that are LGBT+ themed, which is basically the bookshop I always wanted. I’m a little bit jealous that someone else opened it before me, because I would have loved to be the first person to have an LGBT+ bookshop in England. The good (or bad?) news is that there isn’t another bookshop like it anywhere else in England, so I might still do that. Hehe. In the meantime, go visit them, it’s an amazing place! And if you’re like me and love cheap books, they have an entire wall of second-hand gay reads! Whoop whoop.
  • Judd Books is another bookshop in London, located on the same street as Gay’s the Word. It sells second-hand books, mostly non-fiction about social sciences, but they have a lot of exciting finds in their fiction section as well, so if you’re in the area it’s worth checking out!
  • Christophe’s Crepes is a cute ass little van that sells crêpes on the streets of Norwich, and not only is the van itself super adorable, but the food is amazing as well. 10/10 would eat there again.

 

Photos

I realised recently that I take a lot of photos all the damn time, so I might as well share some of my favourites. These are all pictures of Norwich, the most beautiful city in England!

 

Make-up

Because I’ve started wearing make-up again this year, I’ve discovered a lot of really amazing products, and I thought some of you guys might be interested in knowing about them!

  • Eyeshadow palette Ultra Mattes V2 by Sleek. If you like make-up, you probably know that Sleek is an amazing brand. I even knew they were amazing before I started wearing make-up. They’re known for intense colours and great texture, and so far their products definitely live up to the hype for me. This palette in particular is made up of 12 matte eyeshadows in darker tones; there’s black, grey, brown, dark blue, dark green, etc. I love matte make-up (not a fan of glitter and shine at all), and my emo soul wants dark colours, so this is perfect.
  • Micro brow pencil by NYX. NYX isn’t the best brand ever (I definitely prefer Sleek), but they did a super good job with their brow pencil. I have naturally really thick and dark brows, and I love making them look as dramatic as possible (go hard or go home amirite) while still looking more or less human, and this is perfect for that. I use the darkest shade, which is black.
  • Liquid lipstick Birthday Suit by Sleek. Again, Sleek don’t disappoint. Their liquid lipsticks are just as amazing as their eyeshadows – or at least Birthday Suit is, I haven’t tried the other colours yet. This particular shade has a beautiful colour (pink but more nude than in-your-face Barbie pink) and it dries down super quickly without feeling tacky at all, which is something I look for in liquid lipsticks.
  • Liquid lipstick Sandstorm by NYX. This is not quite as good as the liquid lipstick by Sleek because it takes ages to dry. It does eventually dry down matte, but having to wait a few minutes while the other one takes literally seconds is kind of frustrating (#firstworldproblems). However, the colour is really stunning and a perfect nude, which is mainly why I like to wear it anyway.
  • Lasting Perfection Concealer by Collection. I have really odd skin, it’s not really combination (which has dry and oily areas), but basically dry and oily at the same time, in the same place. My mom knows a lot about skin types and has a name for it, but I always forget it. My point is, concealers and foundations are a bit funny for me, because they tend to get shiny and dry at the same time, and it’s really weird and annoying. However, this concealer has worked really well for me, and I haven’t seen a single negative review for it so far, so apparently a lot of people love it as well. It has really good coverage too, and that’s coming from someone who has 50 shades of purple under her eyes.

 

feather3

And we’re done! It’s literally 3 am now, which means that this took me over 3 hours to write. That’s what I get for sharing the background of how I got every damn product and why it matters to my life story. Ehhhhhh. I’m gonna go read a bit of The Hammer of Thor now.

Good night and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

24 thoughts on “Monthly favourites | March 2017

  1. Looks like you had a great month!! I tried reading Asking for It and I got to the part when she finds out what happened and I couldn’t keep reading – it just got too much for me and I spent the next week in a daze. I do want to finish it one day, but I’m pretty scared too.
    That’s so sweet that you link to posts from other bloggers that you like! What a great idea 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did, thank you! 😃
      Oh no! It’s definitely an intense read so if it’s too much for you that’s perfectly fine! I’m not very sensitive to most darker stuff so it was fine for me, but take your time! ❤
      I’m glad you like the idea! I thought it might make a lot of people happy! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I REALLY need to read Asking For it!!!!

    It sounds like you had a really eventful month! All the events you attended sound super interesting. London seems like it has so many cool places to explore. I’m so jealous, haha!

    And thanks so much for sharing my posts ♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I want to read Asking For It! I actually kind of forgot about that book, haha. But when it came out I was super excited for it. Problems of a book blogger 😛
    I love Dragon Age! I’ve only ever played the first one, Dragon Age Origins, but I was obsessed. It’s been a long time since I played it but you make me want to play it again, haha.
    Thanks for linking to my post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had it on my wishlist for aaaages and then finally found a second-hand copy! 😀
      When I read some fantasy RPG reviews lots of people were saying they like Origins better than DA2 and DAI! If I end up really loving Inquisition until the end I might check out the other two. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Literally the only reason I played Origins was because EA was offering it for free when the latest DA game was releasing, haha. One of my friends is obsessed with the series so I figured I’d try it. I might buy the other two one of these days 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooooooooh that was a great post! 😀 I remember starting the watch Under the Dome when the series was first aired in France. I really enjoyed it at first and then had mixed opinions. I don’t think I bothered watching the second series, I found it bad but it might just be my opinion (not necessarily my favourite genre).
    I heard about the LGBT restriction on Youtube from a few Youtubers I follow and couldn’t believe it. I have troubling believing it was a mistake as they claim.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀
      Hahaha I can definitely see why you would find Under the Dome bad, it’s quite trashy. I love it tho. 😂
      Yeah, I know. They released a statement now, which is promising. I guess we’ll see what happens. 😅

      Like

  5. I can’t believe you are a full time student, write for your school’s newspaper, AND have time to read & blog! Kudos to you! When I was in college I really didn’t have the time or energy to read for fun… that and all the reading I was doing for school was very “dense” reading (law books & case studies 😅) so basically I was too mentally exhausted to read for fun.

    I haven’t seen the show Under the Dome, but I did enjoy the book. The ending was a little out of left field, but whatever 😆

    Thank you so much for featuring my post. You made my day! I feel so honored to be featured with some other AMAZING posts. I’ve read a few, but there are a couple I haven’t, so thanks for the recs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you haha!
      Oh I can imagine. Did you study law then?
      How did Under the Dome end? The show didn’t have a proper ending because it was cancelled, so I’m curious!
      No problem! All the posts I featured are really great, so I hope you enjoy reading them. 😊

      Like

  6. Haha I almost always do my blogging at night 😀 We should probably work on that…
    Like the sound of both books you read, especially Kumkum Malhotra, haven’t heard of it before! Oh you should definitely open up a shop like Gay’s the Word! 🙂
    Oh Under the Dome, I think I watched the pilot once…(I watch too much Netflix), maybe I’ll give it another try. I’m through with Chewing Gum, so looking for something to watch anyway.
    Good luck with your studies, our workload sounds tough!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to do it in the morning but now I wake up at like 2 pm every day and by the time I get the motivation to do anything it’s midnight 😂
      You should read Kumkum Malhotra, it’s indie published and deserves so much more love! ❤
      Ah I just saw that Chewing Gum was put on Netflix recently. What’s it about?
      Thank you! 😊

      Like

  7. Oh wow, what a wrap-up! I don’t even know where to start! I also have Sleek’s Matte Me liquid lipstick in Birthday Suit and it’s definitely one of my faves!!! I’m obsessed with it 😀
    I’ve seen Kingsman before and didn’t think I would like it but it was incredible! Like you said, super funny dialogue and just overall a great story!
    Also, I love music and seeing what other people listen to! Runaway Baby is a JAM! And I wasn’t really a fan of It Ain’t Me when it first came out but now it’s all over the radio and I love it!
    Anyway, I loved the Wrap-Up and can’t wait to see more of your posts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thank you for commenting! And liking other posts and following me 😂 You’re too kind ❤
      I knooow I love Birthday Suit! It’s awesome. And I agree (obviously), Kingsman is surprisingly good! 😀
      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed reading it! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m so glad you enjoyed Asking For It! It’s definitely one of my favourite books too, and one that I tell everyone to read!

    I know we talked about it on Twitter, but I am so with you on the DA:I binge!! I haven’t had chance to play it lately and I’m desperate to! As soon as I finish my current playthrough I just know I’m gonna go all the way back to the beginning and play all three games all over again, I’m completely in love with them. You’re totally right about the characters, they’re just so well-written, and I’m so attached to all of them!

    I’ve wanted to visit Gay’s the Word for such a long time now, I’d love to just do a tour of London bookshops one day!

    Thank you for linking to my post! And sorry it’s taken me so long to comment, I’ve been so bad at blogging lately!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it was so good!! Very excited to review it soon.
      Ahhh that’s dedication! I’m about 35 hours into the game now I think. Still loving it a lot!
      A London bookshop crawl would be so cool!! You should definitely do that! 😍
      Haha no worries, I’m terrible at reading posts too 😂 It always takes me ages!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

