Hauls

Norwich bookshop crawl + Book haul!

As you guys might have noticed, I have a new header! My blog looked kind of horrifying for a while after I experimented with some design stuff, but I was too busy with essays and other university things to take care of it. So today I finally decided to sit down and dedicate some time to figuring out what I want my blog to look like. I’m pretty happy with the header now – it’s not perfect, but it’s clear and relatively pretty. I hope you guys like it!

But moving on to the actual blog post: I went on a bookshop crawl around the beautiful city of Norwich on Friday, and after visiting six different bookshops I ended up with 10 new books. So this is going to be an overview of the bookshops and what kind of books they sell, as well as a book haul! Let’s get right into it.

IMG_20170519_172832

Print

Waterstones

I think most people have heard of Waterstones. It’s a bookshop chain in the UK, and it’s an amazing place. While most of the bookshops we visited were small and independent, my friend and I needed some specific books that were relatively new, so we browsed the shelves for a while.

I picked up The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (yes, I know, it’s taken me ages to get my hands on it!), and The Dark Prophecy, the second book in Rick Riordan’s Trials of Apollo series. The Hate U Give was only £7.99, and The Dark Prophecy was £10.99, which is incredible considering it’s a new hardback. I’m super excited about both!

 

Oxfam Books & Music

If you’ve never heard of Oxfam, it’s basically a British charity with shops all over the country. This one in particular, as the name suggests, sells books and music. I picked up three books from them as they were fairly cheap (all £2.99): The Humans by Matt Haig, which had been on my wishlist for years; The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman, the second book in the His Dark Materials series; and The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, which I’ve wanted to read ever since I found out that it’s basically the mother of feminist dystopian fiction.

 

The Book Hive

This is my favourite bookshop in Norwich! It’s a tiny, independent place with lots of hand-picked books. It feels really cosy and the booksellers are the friendliest people ever. I only bought one book (they’re all new so it’s a bit expensive), but it’s one I’m super pumped to read: Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. It’s a collection of essays about race in America, written in the form of a letter addressed to the author’s son. It was £10.99.

 

City Bookshop

This place is really interesting. It mostly sells non-fiction and classics, lots of old books about art and history, and some really stunning hardbacks and antiques. However, they have a funky little section dedicated to children’s books, and they are all really cheap, so I picked up two that I just couldn’t resist: The Mythology Handbook and Drake’s Comprehensive Compendium of Dragonology, both edited by Dugald A. Steer. These might seem like odd choices for a 19-year-old university student, but I turn right back into a small child when I see stunning hardbacks about monsters and mythology. You have no idea how excited I am to read these! Both books were £4.99.

 

The Market

Okay, this technically doesn’t count, as it’s not really a bookshop. But there is a lovely old man who sells books, so I figured I might as well include it. He mostly sells non-fiction (the kind that isn’t really for me) and thrillers, so I didn’t find much, but I managed to pick up one very exciting novel for £3: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. This is a sci-fi novel, which is not usually something I go for, but I have heard so many people rave about it, and it’s supposed to be quite diverse, which is always a plus. I’m curious to see what I think!

 

Tombland Bookshop

I am not the biggest fan of antiquarian book stores, as most of the stuff I like to read is quite contemporary. But my friend really loves the place, so we decided to drop in at the end of the day, and I actually managed to find something I wanted. While they mostly sell very old books, they have a section of second-hand books of all types, which is where I found it: Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematorium by Caitlin Doughty. I am absolutely obsessed with strange, unique non-fiction, and a memoir by a mortician, talking about death rituals and her experience working in a crematorium is definitely up there in weirdness. I’ve heard amazing things about it, so I’m very excited to read it. It was £3.50.

 

Print

And those are all the bookshops we visited! Walking around Norwich and browsing shelves was a lot of fun, so I’m hoping to repeat it at some point, and maybe have a look at some bookshops I haven’t been to yet!

Have you guys read any of the books I got? Do you have them on your TBR? And of course, if you’ve been to any of these bookshops, let me know what you think of them!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

14 thoughts on “Norwich bookshop crawl + Book haul!

  1. This is an amazing haul Izzi. I will admit that the only bookshop on your list here I’ve heard of is Waterstones but that’s likely because I don’t live in or near Norwich. 🙂
    I really hope you enjoy The Hate U Give, it’s a brilliant book, and The Dark Prophecy. I’m currently making my way through The Heroes of Olympus series and oh my god it is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d never heard of it (or any of those books) so I looked up for a summary of The Humans and it sounds really good, I need to find it and read it now! Damn, my to-read list will never stop growing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

