Lists and favourites

Summer TBR! | 2017

If you’ve been reading my blog since last summer, you might remember that I go back to Germany, where I grew up, every year around this time. And of course, I always take some books with me! Last year I didn’t have my own laptop, so blogging was a bit difficult and I basically went on hiatus for a few months, but now I’m bringing my laptop along, so hopefully I will find some time to blog and read everyone’s posts!

Now, let’s get into my TBR!

Print

I have decided to bring a little bit of everything, so that I will have something to read no matter what mood I’m in. There is some fiction, some non-fiction, and of course some poetry!

The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan (The Trials of Apollo #2)

I didn’t love the first book in this series as much as I wanted to, so I’ve been a bit hesitant to read this. However, I had the same feelings going into the second Magnus Chase book, and I ended up loving that one to bits. And of course Rick Riordan is great at writing quick, fast-paced reads, so I will 100% get around to this.

 

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

This is one I’m super excited about. I love non-fiction, and I love books that deal with race, so I know I’m going to enjoy this a lot. It’s written in the form of a letter for the author’s son, which sounds quite unique. I’m super pumped to get around to this!

 

The Sorrows of Mexico by various Mexican journalists

I picked this book up when I went to an event in Norwich all about journalism, corruption, the war on drugs, and the situation in Mexico in general. The two women who talked at the event, Lydia Cacho and Anabel HernΓ‘ndez, were absolutely amazing, and they have both written a few different books. I couldn’t afford all of them, so I bought the one that included writing by both of them, as well as other Mexican journalists. It’s a collection of essays with information, opinions, and personal experience, and it sounds absolutely fantastic.

 

Fierce Light by various poets

I picked this collection up a while ago and still haven’t got around to it. I think it’s because it’s a series of poems about World War I and that is not really my area of interest. But I really love the cover, and I loved Kumkum Malhotra, another book published by Gatehouse Press, so I have high hopes for it nonetheless.

 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

I don’t even need to say what this is about, right? Everyone knows and I’m the only book blogger who hasn’t read it yet, so I’m hoping to get around to it soon! It seems to be an important book, especially with all the police brutality and racism happening in the world, so I’m excited to read it.

 

And The Years Rolled By At An Alarming Rate by Nicola Daly

This is the second novella in a series by Gatehouse Press. I read and reviewed the first one, Kumkum Malhotra, which was absolutely stunning, so I’m really excited about this.

 

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty

If you know my reading taste, you know how much I love unique non-fiction. And a memoir by a mortician, talking about death rituals and cremation methods? Hell yeah. I’m actually two chapter into this already, and I absolutely love it. It’s funny, it’s morbid, and it’s right up my alley. Caitlin also has a YouTube channel called Ask a Mortician, where she answers really strange questions about death with a great sense of humour.

 

Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

I had wanted to read this so bad for ages, but the day I actually bought it and realised I could finally read it, I somehow felt a bit meh about actually picking it up. I think it’s because it’s a YA contemporary, and I just don’t tend to read those anymore. Also, LGBT+ contemporaries have the annoying habit of being kind of boring – at least in my experience. Which obviously sucks, because I want to find good LGBT+ fiction so bad. I have heard really good things about Golden Boy, but I’m just not feeling it at the moment. I’m hoping to change my mind and get around to it over the summer.

 

Ghosts Still Walking by Do Nguyen Mai

This is another poetry collection that I picked up because of the cover. I mean, it’s freaking stunning. I have no idea what this is actually about, and I kind of don’t want to know. I read another poetry collection, Howling at the Moon, by the same publisher a while back (still need to review that), and while I enjoyed it a lot in parts, some of the poems were a bit too Tumblr for my taste. I’m hoping this one will have similar themes but different language.

 

Print

And that’s all the books I’m taking to Germany this summer! I will be back in Norwich for a few days at the end of July because I’m volunteering at Pride (excite!), so if I get through these, I might pick up some more for the second part of the holiday. But we’ll see!

I hope you guys are having a wonderful summer so far (or winter if you’re down south!), and that you manage to read lots and lots of books!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

Featured image: Freepik
25 thoughts on “Summer TBR! | 2017

  1. I really hope you enjoy all the books on your summer TBR list. The Hate U Give is an absolutely brilliant read, one of my favourites from this year, so I’ll be very interested to see what you think of that one. Also I hope you enjoy The Dark Prophecy as well, I’m still trying to get up to date on Rick Riordan’s releases but I’m quite excited to get around to Apollo’s series one day. Happy reading. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw yay another German haha ❀ I’ll be around Hannover and Hamburg for a bit, then up north close to Denmark and then later closer to Frankfurt. I have friends and family living in different parts!
      Thank you!! At least I’m not the only one who hasn’t read it yet. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read two of the books on your TBR– Between the World and Me and The Hate U Give– and they are both absolutely fantastic. The Sorrows of Mexico sounds so interesting; I’ll definitely be looking into that one! (Also, I’m so glad to have found another blogger who loves nonfiction!! It’s one of my favorite genres, and I don’t follow enough people who also enjoy it.) I hope you love all of these! Have a great time in Germany, and happy reading! ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is such a great TBR!! I really, really want to read Between the World and Me and The Hate U Give.

    I’m also really excited to see what you think of Smoke Gets in Your Eyes! I’ve been meaning to buy it for so long, it sounds so interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome TBR!
    *sigh* I still have yet to start The Hate U Give and I’m definitely jealous of everyone taking part in the hype due to the pile of ARCs that I still have waiting for me.
    The Sorrows of Mexico sounds totally intriguing, I must get my hands on that one!
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future, enjoy your reading in Germany! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t actually got around to any of the books on my TBR because I’ve been so busy visiting friends! Still making my way through Smoke Gets In Your Eyes.
      I can’t recommend The Sorrows of Mexico yet, but it does sound good. And thank you! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

