Lists and favourites

#TheReadingQuest TBR!

I’m going to just start off by saying that I have never participated in a read-a-thon before. I always felt like they were kind of pointless, because they just consisted of reading books. I mean, I do that anyway, so what’s the point? #TheReadingQuest, however, which is hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight, seems like SO MUCH FUN. I seriously couldn’t resist signing up, and I’m usually pretty meh about this kind of stuff.

The read-a-thon is running from August 13 to September 10, so make sure you go sign up if you’re interested. I’m gonna explain a bit what the read-a-thon consists of and then get into my TBR, so if you already know what’s going on feel free to skip the next part and scroll down to the books I’ll be reading.

The adorable art for this read-a-thon was created by CW @ Read, Think, Ponder!

feather separator

What is #TheReadingQuest?

The read-a-thon is constructed like a video game quest, which is basically my favourite thing in the world. I haven’t been able to play Skyrim in months, so a part of me probably just signed up due to withdrawal symptoms. In any case, you pick a class (mage, rogue, knight, or bard), and then follow the character’s path across the following quest board.

reading-quest-board1

As you can see, each class has a set path with specific challenges. The blue squares in the middle are side quests that anyone can complete during the read-a-thon to get some extra points. If you wanna know how the point system works, please do read the original sign-up post, because all I can do is repeat what Aentee explains much better herself.

The coolest part about this is that you can download a file to create your own character card! I think that’s a very cute detail that was put into the read-a-thon, and I really appreciate it.

The Reading Quest Character Card

Look how cute that is! As you can discern from the card, I will be a mage in this read-a-thon. I wanted to be a rogue, because I feel like the path is a bit more interesting, but I don’t have any books on my TBR that have a partially obscured face on the cover. Or rather, I have those books back in England, and for this read-a-thon I will be home in Spain. So I had a very limited amount of books to choose from, and the only path that I can do is the one of the mage. But that’s okay, because it will help me get through some big books I have owned for a while!

My TBR

  • A book with a one word title: Arcadia by Iain Pears. This is supposed to similar to His Dark Materials, which sounds quite interesting. I’ve only read the first book in Philip Pullman’s series, but I like how clever it is, and Arcadia seems to have the same mix between multiple worlds, science, and cool characters. I’m excited to find out how strange this is!
  • A book that contains magic: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. I’m gonna be honest – I don’t really want to read this. But I want to participate in the read-a-thon, and I don’t have any other books that contain magic apart from Mage’s Blood, and I need that one for a different challenge. So I’m gonna have to face my fear of cringy urban fantasy and get this over with! Who knows, maybe it’s better than expected.
  • A book based on mythology: American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I’ve never read anything by Neil Gaiman before, and this is supposed to be really good, so I’m looking forward to reading it! The premise doesn’t really give much away, so I’ll just let the book surprise me.
  • A book set in a different world: Mage’s Blood by David Hair. I haven’t read any epic/high fantasy in ages, and I really miss it, so I’m super pumped about this. It’s about a world where a bridge under the sea rises to the surface every 12 years, and there’s supposed to be epic fighting. HELL YEAH.
  • The first book of a series: The Girl in 6E by A. R. Torre. Very different from all the massive books above, but probably much needed in between. I’m usually not a big reader of thrillers, and I have never picked up and erotic thriller before, but the premise sounds so cool I couldn’t resist. It’s about a cam-girl who can’t leave the house because every time she does, she wants to kill someone. How cool is that! It sounds really original and intriguing, so I’m excited to get around to it.

I’ve also put together a little TBR for some of the side quests, because why the hell not. I’m probably going to end up reading more of these books than for the main challenges, because I’m a bit more excited about them.

  • Time warp (a book set in either the past or the future): The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue. Ever since reading Room, I’ve wanted to check out more of her work, and when I found out this was lesbian historical fiction, I got even more excited. I’m glad to finally have a reason to get around to it!
  • Mini game (read a graphic novel, novella, or poem collection): And the Years Rolled By at an Alarming Rate by Nicola Daly. This is the second novella in a series by Gatehouse Press. I read and really loved the first one, Kumkum Malhotra by Preti Taneja, so I’m sure I will enjoy this one as well. It’s a really short read too so perfect to break up the tomes I’ve set myself!
  • Grind (a book with 500+ pages): The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. ANOTHER massive book?? I know right. That’s wild. But I’ve been waiting to get back home to Spain so I can read this for ages, so I can’t just not put it on my TBR. Also, I got through Donna Tartt’s The Secret History in just a few days, and that one was massive as well, so maybe this isn’t such a bad idea. This book is all about art and secrets and it’s (hopefully) just as atmospheric and dark and beautiful as The Secret History.
  • Animal companion (book referencing an animal in the title): Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman. This is about a boy who has just moved to London from Ghana and wants to investigate the murder of one of his classmates, but he doesn’t realise that this is dangerous for him and his family. The premise reminds me a lot of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, and I’m really curious to see what the author has done with the idea. It’s not own-voices unfortunately, but I still hope it will be a good read, as it was a shortlisted nominee for the Man Booker Prize in 2011.

 

feather separator 2

And that is my ridiculous TBR! I have taken on way too much (like I do), but at least I have a few books to choose from. I’m really excited to get started with the read-a-thon, and I’m curious to see what will happen!

If you’re taking part in #TheReadingQuest as well, do let me know what you will be reading. I’m curious to see what everyone is planning to pick up! And if you haven’t signed up yet, please do – it really seems like it will be a lot of fun!

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

30 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest TBR!

  1. Oh good luck with this Readathon Izzi. I’ve seen plenty of people taking part in this one, or preparing to take part given it hasn’t start yet, and the graphics are so adorable I kind of want to take part myself, but I’ve never tried a Readathon before so I kind of want to look more into them before committing you know? 🙂
    I haven’t read any of the books on your list, in fact the only one I have on my to-read list is American Gods because I’ve loved all of Neil Gaiman’s other books I’ve picked up and can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to this one yet, but I hope you love them all.
    Again good luck with this Readathon! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ve got a very ambitious TBR haha.
      Ohhh I know what you mean! Read-a-thons are still a mystery to me as this is obviously my first one as well. You should look into it and sign up tho, it’s such a fun idea with all the challenges and the quest theme!
      And I’m glad to hear you like Neil Gaiman, I’m really curious about American Gods. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, oh I’m sure you’ll make it through this TBR list either way. Ambitious is the way to go right?
        I’ll definitely think about it. I guess there’s still a fair bit of time before the sign-up deadline right?
        Same here, you’ll have to let me know what you think when you have read it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy you’re joining in 😀 I really want to read The Girl in 6E and Beautiful Creatures has been on my shelf forever so I’ll be interested to see what you think of those ones!! Especially Beautiful Creatures because I’ve heard a lot of not great things, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a cool TBR! Mage’s Blood sounds so good, I’ve been wanting to buy it for ages. I absolutely love American Gods but I can never put my finger on why I love it so much hahaha. The concept of it is amazing, I really hope you end up enjoying it 🙂

    I read Beautiful Creatures years and years ago but I don’t actually remember a single thing about it?? I’m really interested to see what you think of it.

    Good luck in the readathon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope I will enjoy Mage’s Blood! I haven’t read any epic fantasy in so long, I finally want to find a new series to obsess over! 😀
      Haha well if you love a book but aren’t quite sure why that’s a pretty good sign that it’s amazing all over!

      A few people have been telling me that they’re curious to know what I think of Beautiful Creatures so I feel like I now have a good reason to actually read it 😂 I’m trying to go into it with an open mind haha.

      Thank you!!! ❤

      Like

                1. Aww yay, welcome to the book blogging world! If you need some great book blogs to follow, I have an older post where I share a few of my favourites. Not all of them are still blogging unfortunately, but most are! I’m also planning on posting an updated version of that soon. 😊 And your review policy can definitely wait a little, what’s more important is an “about” and a “contact” page, as well as great content of course!

                  Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no hahaha that must have been confusing indeed! 😀 I’m glad my post cleared it up for you!
      I’ve only read The Girl in 6E so far from this TBR, and it was a bit meh. I’m reading Mage’s Blood next and will hopefully get around to American Gods after that! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

