Miscellaneous

Book unhaul!

I’d been thinking about getting rid of some books for a while. There are a lot of novels that I read a few years back and enjoyed, but know I wouldn’t really like anymore now, or simply have no interest in re-reading. So today I decided to finally get it over with, and I unhauled a total of 12 books.

Let’s get into it, shall we?

Print

21216263_349282942169393_163079879_o

As you can see, most of the books I’m unhauling are YA contemporaries. I haven’t been feeling the contemporary genre for quite a while now, and I don’t really feel like re-reading these books either, so I’m getting rid of them. I know a lot of these are common favourites, so do forgive me.

 

John Green

I’m unhauling all of the John Green books I own except for The Fault in our Stars, because I actually really liked that one back in 2015. I really hated Looking for Alaska (sorry not sorry), and I found An Abundance of Katherines extremely boring. Paper Towns was okay, but not worth keeping, and Will Grayson, Will Grayson was just kinda meh.

 

The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson andΒ The You Know Who Girls by Annameekee Hesik

These two books fall into the ‘I wanted to read good LGBT+ fiction but this was kinda shit‘ category. I was ordering lots of YA books from The Book Depository at the time, and was really excited about these, as they featured lesbian relationships, but just ended up disappointed. The Bermudez Triangle was quite nice, but extremely boring, and The You Know Who Girls did a bit of slut-shaming and I remember being annoyed at something.

 

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

These are books that I enjoyed a lot when I read them, but have no interest in reading again, and don’t think I would like as much now. Love Letters to the Dead was a really nice read, but too similar to The Perks of being a Wallflower (my favourite book at the time), and Fangirl is a bit too, well, fandom-y for me now. I still think it’s a wonderful novel, and if someone who likes a lot of fandom stuff and maybe doesn’t love talking to people asked me for book recommendations, I would tell them about Fangirl. It’s just not for me anymore.

 

How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran and We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

Now, these two I didn’t like from the start. I have no idea why I kept them to be honest, as I usually give books I dislike away immediately. How to Build a Girl has a good premise, it’s quite feminist, and I think I’m the only person in the world who didn’t like it. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves is a very strange book, about family and science and monkeys, and it features a lot of really unlikable, annoying characters. They are popular books, but not for me.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll and Confessions of an English Opium Eater by Thomas de Quincey

Finally, the two classics on the pile. This is quite an unpopular opinions, but I absolutely hated Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, as well as the second part, and I have literally no idea why I kept the book. Maybe because the cover is really nice. In any case, I’m glad to get rid of it. Confessions of an English Opium Eater is one I have mixed feelings about; I studied it for one of my modules and wrote my final essay on it, which was really fun and interesting. But I have now realised that what I enjoyed was not the book itself, but the historical background and studying it in-depth. So it’s time to leave.

 

Print

And that is my unhaul! Have you guys recently unhauled any books? Do you usually keep everything on your shelf or do you get rid of books you dislike? I’m giving some of these to my mom, and some I’ll donate – if you unhaul books, what do you do with them?

‘Till next time and happy reading!

tumblr_m94v62LH871rvwcdj

50 thoughts on “Book unhaul!

  1. I’ve never done an unhaul before. I kind of have this phobia of reading books I’m not absolutely sure about, so I choose carefully. In case I end up disliking them, I keep them on my shelf, but in a corner or behind books I liked more πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh they do annoy me and take up space, but I keep thinking they hold memories of when I was reading them, and that one day I might know someone that wants them, or might reread them and like them again πŸ˜‚ When it comes to books I tend to be terribly impractical πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of unhauling!! for many reasons πŸ™‚ If I’m not going to wear, read, use something, feels weird to keep it gathering dust and getting old. After reading Eve Shaub’s book “The year of no clutter: a memoir” I realized how illogical it is to keep things you don’t even remember you have (or cant find when you actually need it) and that emotional issues are usually the underlying cause of extreme hoarding.
    My favorite way of getting rid of books and stuff is through online sites or groups for swapping or giving away pre-owned goods. There is also something called “cleaning day” and people around the country mark their spot on a google map and sell or give away their stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? It’s definitely not my idea, I’ve seen it around Booktube quite a few times haha!
      Having mostly ebooks makes a lot of sense when it comes to saving space. Unfortunately I don’t like ebooks and am too materialistic to give up my physical copies 😝

      Like

                  1. Haha, yes πŸ˜€ we also got the Euro, so now we pay for things as much as people in France/UK, but get three times less money in wages πŸ˜€ it’s kind of hilarious, to a point. Oh well πŸ™‚ at least I blog, so I can’t foresee a shortage of ARCs πŸ˜€ haha

                    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to unhaul a bunch of my books, similar to you, most of my john green books. Now that I’m older and more mature, I just think the books aren’t worth picking up, I don’t bother looking at them for re reading anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I go through my shelves all the time and donate books I haven’t read for awhile and don’t see myself reading again. I don’t have space for them and I don’t like having to move them, so off to the library they go!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I actually didn’t like the Alice books either, so you are not alone. Classics are the one type of book I don’t really get rid of, though. I just kind of hoard them in case I want to reference them or something. :p

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A friend gifted me Looking for Alaska sometime ago without knowing that I actually didn’t like John Green. It’s still sitting on my shelf, untouched. Lol. What should I do? Try giving it a read or just “unhaul” it too??

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Haha, I’ve never read a book “unhaul” post before! I think it’s cool that you’re noticing the books you probably would never read again and don’t see the point in keeping. While it hurts my heart to see Fangirl go, since it’s a new favorite of mine, I can definitely understand your reasons for getting rid of it. As for the John Green books, I’m with you on that. I’m having a really hard time trying to decide if I actually like him as an author. I liked Paper Towns but I wasn’t too hot on TFIOS or An Abundance of Katherines (thought that was boring, too). I bought Looking for Alaska recently (For 50 c. I’m not taking any chances with this one). I’m hoping I might like it. If not, then I think that one might one day be part of one of my own unhauls haha XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha sorry about Fangirl! πŸ˜‚
      John Green’s books are a bit hit or miss πŸ˜› And I did the same thing you’re doing, I felt meh about all of his books but kept buying them in case I do like one of them πŸ˜€ I hope you end up enjoying Looking for Alaska – I found the characters super annoying (I think cause they’re just really really different from me), but I know a lot of people love that book. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I’m really hoping I’ll like it, too. And if not, well then I’m just gonna have to give up on reading John Green’s books haha. But I’ll still support his work! I know how much other people are affected by it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  8. No, I love John Green! XD But I hated An Abundance of Katherines and only keep it to complete my collection. I put some books away that I either didn’t like, grew out of, or didn’t think I’d read again, and it felt good! I’m hoping to give them away to a used bookstore someday in the future! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

